Aircon Not Cool When Stationary

Well, telling my experience when my car was still under warranty from EON.

They did anything possible, changed dunno how many sticks of filters already, cooling coil also took out to clean, and guess what? It was the compressor. And apparently, only affects Patco ones. Get a recon Denso unit for around RM400++ and it'll cure this stationary not cold problem.

It's usually the culprit for "stopping not cold" airconds, especially Patco compressor Protons.

Originally posted by acbc@May 16 2004, 04:22 PM
Mist? Well... condenser (cooling) coil konk already.
oh damn... once in awhile i do get that misty air... but itz still cooling... as long as the car is in motion, or the outside temperature is low, then the aircon's cool.. but when itz hot on the outside, and minimal movie.. ie.. jams... chialat.. i'll be with hotcon.

so.. possible is the fan.. and condensor

damn.. how much issit gonna cost? roughly ah...

Either compressor weak oredi or not enuf gas.

Jules ur Charade having this problem or the Wira......
if Wira...it depends which brand u use lor...but very easy to change lar...just 2-3 screws only....
the charade i don't know lar....but u try to screw out n c......
u can check whether is fan rosak or not....
start ur car...switch on the air-cond...then go to engine bay n c the air-cond fan moving or not......
sometimes it happens also the fan is working.....but it turns not fast enough...which is going to break down later...... so if ur fan is working...just check the air it turns is it fast enough like the radiator fan......
if really fan rosak..... just take out yours and find it in Kedai Potong lar..... cheap cheap only mah......40++

I overhaul the entire aircon system... cost me RM 1k++

List item replaced:

1. Compressor (recon, RM 350 / 2nd hand, RM 250)
2. Belts
3. Condenser (cooling coil)
4. Valve
5. Piping
6. Waste can (or whatever they call it)

Now colder than Genting Highlands when stuck in bad traffic or hot weather.

Whether u take a recon or 2nd hand compressor depends on luck - my recon compressor died after 6 months (there goes RM 350 into the toilet) and now using the 2nd hand one (so far so good - taken direct from a half-cut).

Experienced aircon service centre helps a lot... they save money and time.

Piping also changed? Necessary ke?

Waste can... she be the filter/drier can thing with a sight glass. Too many bubbles means not enuf coolant.

I've also heard this kinda stories with Patco compressors... but can newer Protons still use Denso ones? I've checked and they said it's possible, but with major piping change. Sanden is quite ok, and is plug-n-play, no headache and cheaper.

Originally posted by Esky@May 20 2004, 01:02 PM
Piping also changed? Necessary ke?

Waste can... she be the filter/drier can thing with a sight glass. Too many bubbles means not enuf coolant.

I've also heard this kinda stories with Patco compressors... but can newer Protons still use Denso ones? I've checked and they said it's possible, but with major piping change. Sanden is quite ok, and is plug-n-play, no headache and cheaper.
Well, it is a 13 year old car... might as well change everything... :P

Originally posted by kkyen@May 20 2004, 10:32 AM
Jules ur Charade having this problem or the Wira......
if Wira...it depends which brand u use lor...but very easy to change lar...just 2-3 screws only....
the charade i don't know lar....but u try to screw out n c......
u can check whether is fan rosak or not....
start ur car...switch on the air-cond...then go to engine bay n c the air-cond fan moving or not......
sometimes it happens also the fan is working.....but it turns not fast enough...which is going to break down later...... so if ur fan is working...just check the air it turns is it fast enough like the radiator fan......
if really fan rosak..... just take out yours and find it in Kedai Potong lar..... cheap cheap only mah......40++
itz my charade...

hmm.. good idea... tot of doing that... but itz going to be tricky... my aircon fan is situated rite behind the grille and bumper.. gotta take a lot of afford take your the fan.

nvm... will find this weekend to check on it.

thankz! ;)

Originally posted by Kurt@May 16 2004, 03:03 PM
what about got something like smoke coming out from the air cond??? its like breeze.. but then aircond also not very cold...
Last time I also experienced this thing. Quite funny I think, coz at the time I was just playing with the climate controller and I switched it from cooling mode to heater, then suddenly 'white smoke' come out of it! Then I got nervous then just turn off the aircond and wait until the smoke stop coming out :lol: