Ae80 Absorbers Prob...

LE_Owner

currently im using OEM LE absorbers + compressed LEVIN AE82GT springs infront.
but the result is not that good.
ride is bumpy and i feel it very soft.
im thinkin of AE92 absorbers,but it must use the knuckle also right.
what is the best combination?bcoz AE80 performance parts are very rare item in chop shop.

help needed here.hope all sifus can give me some advice... :( :(

FYI, almost all stock Macpherson struts from Japan (for corollas) are assembled with compressed springs.

i used to think that 1.6 GT AE82s already use the same absorbers as AE92 and above (19" bottom strut bolt & nut). is it not the case?

AE80 OEM shocks are too soft for any kind of uprated or performance aftermarket/lowered springs. even if u could match the assembly correctly, it just wont feel nice on the road.

Here is a brief overview of the comparisons (that i know of-i dont know all that much) between the suspension struts that i have come across before. sorry the diagram a bit confusing and cluttered.

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v243/AE80TypeD/ZTH%20Stuff/CorollaStruts.gif

Im afraid there are no suitable combinations to try if u choose to stay with the small 17" AE80 knuckles. It would be best to change the knuckles from AE9x or AE1xx. they dont cost that much. the benefit gained from being able to find abundant used absorbers for AE1xx models is worth it IMO. the decision is up to u. as u have said, AE8x parts are getting rare, so if there is something better that will fit, why not go for it?

what a good explaination...thanx.. by the way.. just wanna tell bout my car.. in the backdays, my LE using monroe abs(front) and kyb(gas)(rear) and im using panther sportspring.for the first 3 month, everything is great. but after that it start to bring me a problem.its start to be so soft and also damaging my tyre when it hit the mudguard(dont know what to call aa)then i change my front abs with new ones.but the problem also happen.it makes me sick for quite a some time until finally i go to add more oil in my abs.it cost me 200 but suprisingly all the problem also gone.and also i can hit my car aroud 140-160 without any big frightening feeling. :)

AE80TypeD;

thanx bro for those explaination!!very useful and detail.

just asking what engine inside ur hood??

actually im LE Owners club members.if u interested u r welcome to join the group..

i saw ur car those day during the toyota owners gath at mc'd,but feel shy to meet u.

i run a 20V.

i've been with LE Owner club members before on 2 past occasions, had drinks together and all. i know a few of the members altho i doubt they'll remember me. thanks for the invitation, i am not interested in joining at the moment. :)

have a nice day.

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v243/AE80TypeD/My%20Car%20Main/DSC05902.jpg

Originally posted by AE82GT@Apr 25 2005, 18:57
Khairul, nice engine bay u got there https://www.zerotohundred.com/forums/style_emoticons/default/tongue.gif alt='tongue.gif' /> https://www.zerotohundred.com/forums/style_emoticons/default/biggrin.gif alt='biggrin.gif' /> https://www.zerotohundred.com/forums/style_emoticons/default/laugh.gif alt='laugh.gif' />
[snapback]926481[/snapback]​

yalor.. my friend saw the pic and now drooling liau cuz he own an AE80 also...