AE111 Auto Gearbox problem

FGT

Hi peeps,

I know most of us here are using and prefers manual tranny but i hope you guys can help me with this.

I drive a AE111 with 4AFE auto tranny. There is something wrong with my kick-down cable/sensor. It's currently at the lowest/loosest level but the gear is still shifting up late. I've been surviving by playing around with it (tarik2, adjust etc). The gearbox works like new when the cable/sensor is okay -- really smooth!

Oh also you should know that the oil and filter has been changed about 15000kms ago with Toyota ATF.

I'm wondering if this is a common problem and where can I get it repaired? Maybe some of u know some mechanic who are familiar with corolla auto trannies. It would be great if only the sensor can be repaired/serviced coz the gearbox is still very good.

Can I replace the kickdown cable like replacing a speed sensor cable?

Thanks!

i dun think sensor or cable la.. internal ware out already, valve seal break or something. As the GB been running year.. mine clock 26x,xxxkm and wont shift in 1st gear when cold start, rev it then kick in 1st gear, other then that smooth as normal. Been using since it started 1 year ago, but still running rev till red line.. hehe..

Mine is just 120xxxkm bro. Found this gem somewhere in PJ. Engine in tip-top cond :D

I thought it's the cable because it happens only after I change the air filter because I have to move the cable aside to take out the filter. Once I pull/move that cable, it will happen. Sometimes it will be okay after 1-2 days. Sometimes I adjust it until it's fixed but this time has been going on for a week. In the morning, hot or cold..no problem at all. Only when shifting up. But yeah, worn out internals could be a reason also because of its age.

Have u asked any shop on rebuilding costs? I heard it's a lot...heheh. Rather change to manual but family's convenience more important.

Recond cost above 1.6k, chopshop under 600, u say le..? i was waiting for BT transplan or altezza. Age is very impotant la.. my car stuff are falling off becos of aged rubber plastic raput, need 2 buy many new rubber stuff, ori cost a bomb. But if fully rebuilt i think can run for another 10year no problem.

Hey bro...I went down n dirty with my car and managed to identify n solve the problem ;)

It was in fact the kickdown cable. The rubber cover of the cable was torn apart instead of being attached to the gearbox so it was loose n moved back and forth with the cable when i depress/press accelerator. So what I did was push it back in place and tie the upper part to somewhere near the battery so it would not move. Now it's running smooth as usual. No more constant racing-mode for me..heheh.. Appreciate ur feedback Dayline668!

Oh, i got one guy quoting 2.6k for a recond unit with installation. I guess it would be around 2.3k if i trade in.