Advice for iPod Car Mod

Hi...been reading this forum for some time and it's my first time posting. Would like to ask all the electronics sifu out there some advice. I managed to mod my headunit (pioneer DEH-1550B) by using a splitter to split the RCA line and then one goes to my iPod while the other one goes to another splitter to my sub amp and speaker amp. Because I made (due to lack of proper planning in buying stuff) that the HU is the one splitting so i need to on my HU to use my iPod. I set it to Radio and volume to 0 while i adjust the volume on my iPod. (did't set it to CD mode coz strain HU). My HU does not have a aux mode. What I would like to ask is would it be detrimental to my HU or iPod if I keep doing this as the current from the iPod might masuk the HU (as that is the output and not the input) or the current from HU masuk iPod (If I leave it connected while playing my HU). My current setup is Fig. 1 but I would like to change it to Fig 2 so that I can play my iPod without having to switch my HU on. Would it still be bad for my HU...Would appreciate a reply. Thanks. (Plan to post this again on ICE later)

erm, sorry but it seems to me that Figure 1 and 2 are the same? Also ur amps has a remote input from the HU meaning only when the HU is on then only the amps would come on. As a suggestion, if u are afraid that cross channels might spoil ur HU or ipod, consider using a switch so u have to switch the input to HU or ipod...

do hav a preamp? consider connecting your iPOD to the pre-amp... there is a switch there to swap the source.... this is safer... as for the remote... add a little switch so that you can on and off your pre-amp, amp through that switch... not through the HU...

hope you know wut i am talking bout...

Nope I do not have a preamp...

Hey sorry I do not have a preamp lahh....the HU just connects straight away to iPod.... while the suggestion about making a switch sounds nice but I do not know how in the world to connect the switch to a RCA cable, since their construction is a bit different with the core and the other wire, unlike the normal one wire for electrical and electronical connections...Would it be hazardous if I keep it the way it is ??? would also like to comment the lights at my aircond switch seems dimmer (maybe my own perception as i scared to keep opening and closing it.) Any advice how to proceed and also is there a need to change my current setup. Would adding either grounding kit or voltage stabilizer help in any case...:embaressed_smile:

the switch is for the remote to your amp one... not the RCA.. RCA not recommend to do cut it as it might spoilt it and the airplane sound will haunt you...

btw the way from you fig... you do hav two amp right? or jus one?

Yah I have 2 amps....one for the subwoofer and another for the other speakers. I do not understand what remote for the amp you are talking about craziechild.

the amp power input got three terminals: power 12V, remote, and ground. remote works as the on off switch for the amp... first you will hav to connect the remote together with the power line source. then add a switch in the middle of tht remote wire... this wire normally the installer will jus use a thin wire if compare to the power and gounding wire.

http://i46.photobucket.com/albums/f105/craziechild/untitled.jpg

clear view of wut i am talking bout... hope this helps...

Aiyooo... Why so mafan wan? just buy one of this http://www.lelong.com.my/Auc/List/2006-03DStd2772660.htm kautim.
I can even play DVD movie from my laptop in the car & play CS with home tower speaker.