4WD Maintenance

ydf2112

Assalam and Hi...

Sifu & Otai Evo users...

I need some opinion/comment/suggestion/information from you guys. I'm not using an Evo but we're in the family Mitsubishi. My ride is Grandis Sport X 4WD 2004 (2009).

I'm not sure this is a problem/harmful to my MG or not, I heard noisy sound coming from rear wheel and it's getting louder esp. speed around 80-100kmh. I suspected rear wheel bearing but after checked with SC to confirm the sound source and they said it is coming from 4WD gearbox.

Back to Mar2010, my MG got hit by Waja between back door and rear tyre on the leftside and its impacted arm, absorber, 4WD gearbox cover (a part of gearbox that to hold/attached to rear arm). All are replaced but that gearbox cover crack at nut hole, just welded and I still waiting new part arrive from Japan. At that time, I didn't know what fluid they use it but for the front 2WD gearbox already been serviced @ 40k km by SC.

So, what exactly the sound is coming from? And please explain to me how to do maintenance for 4WD transmission.

TQ sifu & otai.

What is the correct/suitable fluid to be use? I planned to change after received cover holder.

Can anybody suggest the best workshop in KV?

Not sure about Grandis. Our evo uses GL5 75W 90 or GL5 80W 120.
It should not be GL4 else ur syncro will kaput

thanks bro lanevo6...

meaning GL5 75W 90 for front and GL5 80W 120 for rear? other than that, what oil need to be replace together?
what so different between GL4 and GL5?
sorry bros smua...I'm not expert enough bab2 engine nih especially handling 4WD/AWD...

I'm one of the owner of rare MG 4WD spesies...so SC itself sometimes can't explain further about the machine...
one more thing...(I don't know how 4WD Evo works)...in the dashboard, I've a button to choose either 2WD-4WD-4WD Lock...
can somebody explain what purpose of Lock button? To free 4WD or to lock the wheel while on terrain?
From my observation, while using 2WD..my rear wheel also running..and of course when select 4WD, all the wheel are running. Is it normal for Mitsubishi? Because I taught the rear wheel totally disable when using 2WD...

thanks all sifus & otais for reading & leaving a good comment...

the lock button on grandis is like torque splitter and activating the 4wd... when u uphill climbing it will deliver more power... AYC system on grandis is different from Evo system...

yours grandis is 2.4 mivec right? 4g67?

---------- Post added at 05:15 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 05:11 PM ----------

one thing make sure SC properly bleed the AYC oil...

thank you bro Dewa_LavaU...

Yes..mine is 2.4 Mivec with INVECS II 4G69... i hardly see evo service at SC..where is the workshop expert on Mitsu engine in KV?

---------- Post added at 05:15 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 05:11 PM ----------

[/COLOR]one thing make sure SC properly bleed the AYC oil...[/QUOTE]

bro...what do you mean by bleed? how? make sure the case is totally empty..?

[/COLOR]one thing make sure SC properly bleed the AYC oil...

bro...what do you mean by bleed? how? make sure the case is totally empty..?[/QUOTE]
Pardon him. There's no AYC system in the Grandis. It just like other odinary 4WD system.

managed to changed all the oil...yes MG 4WD is a simple ordinary 4WD system..no need bleeding or flushing...
I used Q8 Auto15 Synthetic ATF for ATF, Q8 T55 80W90 GL5 for front axle, TRD FF 75W90 GL3 for transfer and TRD FR 85W140 GL5 for rear axle...
but the noisy sound is still there..cause I think the rear axle is kaput already...need to find from halfcut one...anyone knows where can I found it?