4G91 Gang..

haaa...i totally have no idea..
if 1.5mm too thick, then wats the thickness i should go ar bro calvin?
thanks for the rough idea on the prices..

btw, m on auto tranny...wat other mods i should consider to do together with top overhaul eh?
i only have drop in filter, CAI, 4-2-1, 2", s-flow..

sorry bro..
cant help u on wat's the best thickness for ur engine...
coz last time i using normal gasket oni...
heehee....

since top overhaul oni..
means wont b changing piston rings n bearings la...
perhaps can do port n polish???
since they'll b taking out the engine head ma....
but in order to do port n polish they hav to take out all the valves la....

port n polish safe ar? i dunno mechs ard malacca here..
scared liao..heh
mayb ill ask ard abt the thickness...
if take out all the valves, valve seals also need to change la? rite?

Stock paper gaskets are about 0.8mm thick, and after bolting down your head, they're compressed a lil' more, by 0.1-0.2mm or so.

So if you're getting anything thicker than 0.6-0.7mm metal head gasket (metal don't compress easily), you're going to lose compression... which means you're going to lose power. =)

Go for a 0.4-0.5mm head gasket if u wanna improve on your performance... But make sure you have a piggy back ECU to retune your fueling and readjust your ignition timing, else u'll risk blowing it. =p

hrmm,can we use LSD gearbox oil for our gearbox?? change to pennzoil ordinary GB oil,but seems like it is making my gear change abit harsh...friends suggested using oil that is use for LSD type GB...

for autobox.. currently im using castrol ATF... seems good & smooth. :proud:

hi guys!

i think i wanna let go my matspeed high cam ( 272in/272ex ) for 1.5k ( nego ). U don't have to trade in your std camshaft with me. if anyone interested pls let me know. the camshaft are suitable for 4g91/4g92/4g93/4g93T Dohc.

PM me or sms me at this no 019-3843200

I'm recently swapped car with my brother who was driving a satria 1.3. Being a petrol head previously, I find the 4g13 is a tad too "slow" , good FC though. Was planning to switched to Mivec, but the cost of the halfcut nowadays are really too expensive(about 8k in Kuching). Was opting for 4g92 SOHC, but its kinda hard to source for. Thus it came to me to consider the 4g91. Question is, would 4g91 be my best bet? Is there potential for this engine,does it respond well to mods. I'm not looking to have a 160hp 4g91 lol(might as well get the mivec), but something slightly more wild than my current 1.3 engine yet fair enough FC. Advices really apprieciated : )

P:S/your 272 cams are very tempting Joe_mirage hehe

lancer_ajai,
4G91 is pretty fuel efficient. Power wise is about on par with 4G92 SOHC. Mods well, can't go too far, but simple mods are okay.

Being an n/a, its gonna take a lot to squeeze extra power from a low displacement engine. =p 4G93 would have been a better bet if its easy to find from your region. Over here in KL, all u gotta do is wait for a putra/gti/wira1.8 who wanna transplant and buy over his engine. =p

looks like JUN cams is goin into somebody's engine bay....
hantu hantu....

bro lancer ajai....
swaping from 4g13 to 4g91 definately u'll feel much increase in power....
FC wise is real good as bro alvin mentioned....
as for response to mod....i dun think so man....
unless u go for highcams n piggyback la....
for me, 4g92block/FPR/pnp/4g93cams+setting/60mm t.body all doesnt feel much on my butt dyno....
but the piggyback really give significant improvement....
n surprisingly, after all the mods i've done above...the FC still remains....shiok!!!!

looks like JUN cams is goin into somebody's engine bay....
hantu hantu....

hahaha .. no la calvin. if use JUN cam then my car cannot use daily. then how to find leng lui .. lolx

---------- Post added at 06:38 PM ---------- Previous post was at 06:29 PM ----------

I'm recently swapped car with my brother who was driving a satria 1.3. Being a petrol head previously, I find the 4g13 is a tad too "slow" , good FC though. Was planning to switched to Mivec, but the cost of the halfcut nowadays are really too expensive(about 8k in Kuching). Was opting for 4g92 SOHC, but its kinda hard to source for. Thus it came to me to consider the 4g91. Question is, would 4g91 be my best bet? Is there potential for this engine,does it respond well to mods. I'm not looking to have a 160hp 4g91 lol(might as well get the mivec), but something slightly more wild than my current 1.3 engine yet fair enough FC. Advices really apprieciated : )

P:S/your 272 cams are very tempting Joe_mirage hehe

4g91 is a good choice already. other than fuel saving it offer acceptable performance and fun to play with. furthermore the road tax is cheap =p. in this thread there are a lot of 4g91 monster but they are hiding. lolx. but if u wanna go a lil bit hardcore, than mivec or 4g93 is the one for you.

p/s: lai lai .. my high cam is still on sale =p

THanx bros for the advice. Initially wanted a 4g93 but a bit susah wanna get it registered made me changed my mind. Besides 4g93 ain't known for its FC. I'm looking to donk in the high cam and piggyback for mods i guess. Kinda dig the sound of a high revving NA engine : )

yeah.. the sound of high revving NA engine is something that we cant explain by words. very addictive!

I went round-round to look at halfcuts this morning. Shockingly 4g91 auto h/cut cost about 4.5k. Damm thats expensive. About 1.5 years ago, its only about 2.8k. Also tried to look for 4g92 DOHC, no hope : ( Also saw a 4g92p engine, but too many parts missing already.

yeah...
half cut prices r goin up up UP....
if wan cheaper ones...
then dun get entire half cut lo..
get engine lantai...provided can find la...

as for 4g92DOHC, its very rare....
easier way out is to get a 4g91 n change the block...
but if wanna change block...straight go for 4g93 block edi...
lol

hey guys. noob here. with mods from intake, header, exhaust, piggyback.

wats ur hp dyno like? =)

my mods gave me 107hp on wheel.....
lookin at the amount of time n $$$ spent....
not really worth it....