4G91 Gang..

i use 20-50.. use 4 almost 1 year... but this din bring down the sound dat much lar... but it brought down the performance abit... after changing to 10-40 i feel the engine performs better n lighter... more syok t drive.... almost no tappet sound... TT member knows how quiet my engine is...

yeah I agree 10-40 makes the car lighter, but after a while the tet-tet-tet will become unbearable (worst then when using 20~50W). then performance will start to deteriorate.

I read from some article that knock sensor sometimes mistaken the tet-tet-tet for (knocking, pinging or detonation) therefore it will retard the ignition timing, causing the car to loose power. But I doubt if 4G91 has a knock sensor.

Although 20~50W does not fully suppress the noise... but I feel its quiter then when using 10~40. My cousin doing who's Automotive Eng. also advise me not to use syn. oil.

But then again... I might be wrong.

Here's the picture of lash adjuster
http://www.capa.com.au/pics/shm_heads_valve_lash_adjuster.jpg
One of the function is to pump minyak to lubricate the rocker arm, cam lobe and etc.

partyJOE said:
any1 intrested in swapping their stock 4G91 intake manifold wit my 60mm rebored 91 intake... pls let me know.... no need to pay me a single cent... just pay 4 the swapping... rm30-40 likedat... reboring yr stock will cause u more than dat...
reason for this... planning to put back my stock TB...

joe .. your monifold can incrase power to my 4g91? or just nothing if i swap mine with u ? fuel will incrase to ? sorry for asking .. newbie here .. :regular_smile:

Herbie said:
joe .. your monifold can incrase power to my 4g91? or just nothing if i swap mine with u ? fuel will incrase to ? sorry for asking .. newbie here .. :regular_smile:
faster responce... throttle lighter... more pick up... ican achieve all this sure u have alil higher fuel for sure... but very little lar...

partyjoe, y u want to let go u'r mod part? u want to play stok rite now is it? or u had big plan 4 u'r satria? hehehheh:shades_smile:

pirate_69 said:
partyjoe, y u want to let go u'r mod part? u want to play stok rite now is it? or u had big plan 4 u'r satria? hehehheh:shades_smile:

top secret... cannot be revealed to the public at th moment...hehehe

partyJOE said:
top secret... cannot be revealed to the public at th moment...hehehe

i think joe wanna change to a higher engine like evo3 or gsr :mouth_closed:

MiTec-i said:
yeah...i increased the compression....damn...hopefully its not tat cause la...

i got my car checked today. and i found out the reason for the noise in my car. because i was using metal gasket and i skim the engine head, the piston hits the cylinder head when it reach its maximum height. note: not valve, it is the cylinder head. i found out that 4g91 cylinder head, the valve area is not a round shape. it is more like a circle cut into two, then seperate them, and use two stragiht lines to connect them. therefore when u increase ur compression, the piston hits the straight line area cos that area is flat and not dented inside. i change to thicker gasket, made of carbon. now no sound already. cos the piston won be hitting the head any more. power lost a bit due to the decrease in compression. hope this can help u. i think u should takeout the head and check. or find ur mach la i think he can differentiate the noise of the tapet and other sounds. better go fix it before bigger problems occurs

partyJOE said:
actually we only speak 10% of england during TT... dat also we use 4 naming parts,eq. pistons, trottle body,clutch, gear box n so on... becos we dunno this words in malay... if not we sure use 100% B.M 1...hehehe... hope u got the message.. just cum only lar bro... i also prefer to talk in malay 1 lar... btw TOM wont be there....heheheheh
btw u from kajang ha... Daremax also from kajang... u know him ha... maybe can cum together...

die lo like this... i cant speak malay.... anyone speaks cantonese here?..... :emoticon_U:

bro...with thinner gasket onli will it hit the piston?cuz im planning to put in a thinner gasket...but then since ur case sampai hit piston..im abit worried abt mine also..

lampakia said:
how much is it?

PM me if really interested lar... I have complete kits for sale... plug and play. =Þ Inclusive of ECU rechipping. Confirm unbeatable price la...

So if anyone wanna look for turbo kit... do contact me kayz?

lampakia said:
bro...with thinner gasket onli will it hit the piston?cuz im planning to put in a thinner gasket...but then since ur case sampai hit piston..im abit worried abt mine also..

if u just put in metal gasket, i think should be ok wan. i had my engine cylinder head skimmed a layer then fix metal gasket. i think that is why it kena... any way i haven't heard any other cases yet, the other member's problem hasn't been solved yet. once he can confirm the cause. then maybe we can develop another formula for our 4g91 le... any how, i still think that metal gasket itself should be ok.:_:

milo said:
die lo like this... i cant speak malay.... anyone speaks cantonese here?..... :emoticon_U:

Cantonese ah...here got one....:_:

Woooow......suddenly this thread life again! and many many news member join this thread, wellcome wellcome!

PartyJoe, woow, since when you try use Q8 engine oil, which Q8 oil you are using now? berapa harga? tukar dekat mana?

Skim Head or Metal Gasket to increase compression ratio need adjustable cam pulley to advance back you timing cam timing (when you lower ur engine head will actually retard your timing)

Increase Compression ratio also means smaller combution camber thus lesser space for Air+Fuel, thus PNP is advisable to smoothen air flow to bring more fuel.

Normally we will increase compression ratio when we use higher duration/lift cam to compesate compression lost on longer cam overlap, higher compression ratio + high cam lead to smoother engine response (From my previous experience on high cam + PNP + 12:1 compression + advance ignition timing), actually just to share, when we advance ignition timing, we will increase compression ratio also (due to A/F ignited when piston still in compression stroke, thats why people face knocking problem when advance too much)

Just my 2 cents to share

wirafly said:
Skim Head or Metal Gasket to increase compression ratio need adjustable cam pulley to advance back you timing cam timing (when you lower ur engine head will actually retard your timing)

Increase Compression ratio also means smaller combution camber thus lesser space for Air+Fuel, thus PNP is advisable to smoothen air flow to bring more fuel.

Normally we will increase compression ratio when we use higher duration/lift cam to compesate compression lost on longer cam overlap, higher compression ratio + high cam lead to smoother engine response (From my previous experience on high cam + PNP + 12:1 compression + advance ignition timing), actually just to share, when we advance ignition timing, we will increase compression ratio also (due to A/F ignited when piston still in compression stroke, thats why people face knocking problem when advance too much)

Just my 2 cents to share

hahaha... when it goes to theory, wirafly is always the man to go to... actually just change teh metal gasket, the engine compression won increase a lot. and the ecu is still capable of adjusting the timing accordingly. as wirafly said, if the compresion is way higher than standard. it might be necessary to increase the fuel in ur engine. one purpose is like wirafly just said, and the other one is to coll down ur engine with the slightly extra fuel. if u wana increase the comression by a large amount, temp is always a issue. for my car, the engine bay is as hot as perodua myvi. the thing is that myvi has only one cooling fan for both aircon and radiator, and my car uses twin core radiator and seperate fans for aircon and radiator. if the radiator is not capable to take away enough heat from engine time to time, u will experience knocking too. just my little experience to share.

wirafly said:

Woooow......suddenly this thread life again! and many many news member join this thread, wellcome wellcome!

PartyJoe, woow, since when you try use Q8 engine oil, which Q8 oil you are using now? berapa harga? tukar dekat mana?

any other can speak cantonese? if u guys speak bm, then i relly "yau long yau ar" lo.... hehe....

guys have u come accross this product called Break Power System?
i read the extremekar magazine andfound this thingie, it is produced by a taiwan company called speed metal.

the extremekar had this thingie dixed in their project car gen.2. according to what they said, this thingie shows a siginificant improvement in breaking quality of the vehicle, and also quite some improvement in response. and they claimed that it is definitely not those twin air intake sytem like micro compressor, etc. sounds interesting cos i read taiwanese magazine and also found this product launched and tested in taiwan. the only doubt is that although all of them claim that it works, but none have provided a dyno chart that shows how good it is... u guys have any idea on this?

wirafly said:

hehe...using since last saturday.... Q8 advance 10-40w.... special price rm80... got it at DSP....

milo said:
guys have u come accross this product called Break Power System?
i read the extremekar magazine andfound this thingie, it is produced by a taiwan company called speed metal.

the extremekar had this thingie dixed in their project car gen.2. according to what they said, this thingie shows a siginificant improvement in breaking quality of the vehicle, and also quite some improvement in response. and they claimed that it is definitely not those twin air intake sytem like micro compressor, etc. sounds interesting cos i read taiwanese magazine and also found this product launched and tested in taiwan. the only doubt is that although all of them claim that it works, but none have provided a dyno chart that shows how good it is... u guys have any idea on this?

IMHO... i dun trust any of these products 1... all a bunch of crap... there is not a single magazine in malaysia which actually say a product is BAD... have u read abt any bad product.... they promote them cos the get paid for it... now every product carries a dyno chart... from where they dyno...we also donno... wheather its a real dyno chart or a photoshop 1.... no answer 4 dat also... better dun waste our money on all these thgs lar...