See what others are reading now! Try Forums >
Current Activity
Home
Forums
Main Forums
Car Talk
Car Modification
42 CFM Air flow on air filter(enough?)
JavaScript is disabled. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser before proceeding.
You are using an out of date browser. It may not display this or other websites correctly.
You should upgrade or use an
alternative browser
<blockquote data-quote="drexchan" data-source="post: 393017" data-attributes="member: 6936"><p>I didn't say that you were wrong.. i mean trex92 (hmmm drex lawan trex.. haha!!)</p><p></p><p>See...</p><p></p><p></p><p></p><p>it's not the matter of fan RPM, it's the <u>flow rate</u>, measure in liter/minute or cubic feet/minute. 2 fans with the same RPM can have different flow rate, due to the <u>number and the design of the blades</u>.</p><p></p><p></p><p></p><p>Engine intake (air) flow rate is <u>based on the engine RPM and the volumetric efficiency</u> (V.E.), not the flow-rate the fan/e-supercharger can provide. The fan/e-supercharger do provide high flow rate <u>if stand alone</u>. But in the intake hose, they will just increase the V.E. If powerfull enough, compressed the air in the intake system (V.E. > 100%). </p><p></p><p>For example, engine needs 100 CFM, fan spins at 2700 rpm, which when it's stand alone, can provide 220CFM, the engine will only take slighly higher than 100 CFM... maybe 10% higher, and increases the V.E. to 95% (if, let say the stock intake provide 85% of V.E.).</p><p></p><p>About the sensor signalling. See, the fan/e-supercharge is installed before the filter element, and the MAF is located behind the filter element. The MAF measures only what the engine takes. Futhermore, most of the car is now running on MAP sensor (even further behind, in the intake manifold) instead of MAF sensor. Like wise, higher engine intake, higher pressure, higher reading, more fuel).</p><p></p><p>So, your engine take <u>slightly more air </u>because the V.E. has been improved, MAF/MAP sensor measures <u>slightly higher flow rate (or manifold absolute pressure)</u>, as high as what the engine swallowed, injectors inject <u>slightly more fuel </u>because the ECU told them so, you will get an accurate <u>mixture</u>, at <u>bigger volume</u>, combusted in a same cylinder.. You get <u>more power</u>. </p><p></p><p></p><p></p><p>Not correct also if your fan can provide a higher flow-rate than the engine intake at red-line revolution. It'll not block the flow.</p><p></p><p>******************</p><p></p><p>It's not a matter of "can work or not", it's a matter of "right material, right design and durability. If the fan concept doesn't work, a belt-driven supercharger will not work as well. But why it works?</p><p></p><p>p/s: Dun ask me what is V.E., MAP, MAF and the theories behind the story of "how EFI works). Read up.</p></blockquote><p></p>
[QUOTE="drexchan, post: 393017, member: 6936"] I didn't say that you were wrong.. i mean trex92 (hmmm drex lawan trex.. haha!!) See... it's not the matter of fan RPM, it's the [u]flow rate[/u], measure in liter/minute or cubic feet/minute. 2 fans with the same RPM can have different flow rate, due to the [u]number and the design of the blades[/u]. Engine intake (air) flow rate is [u]based on the engine RPM and the volumetric efficiency[/u] (V.E.), not the flow-rate the fan/e-supercharger can provide. The fan/e-supercharger do provide high flow rate [u]if stand alone[/u]. But in the intake hose, they will just increase the V.E. If powerfull enough, compressed the air in the intake system (V.E. > 100%). For example, engine needs 100 CFM, fan spins at 2700 rpm, which when it's stand alone, can provide 220CFM, the engine will only take slighly higher than 100 CFM... maybe 10% higher, and increases the V.E. to 95% (if, let say the stock intake provide 85% of V.E.). About the sensor signalling. See, the fan/e-supercharge is installed before the filter element, and the MAF is located behind the filter element. The MAF measures only what the engine takes. Futhermore, most of the car is now running on MAP sensor (even further behind, in the intake manifold) instead of MAF sensor. Like wise, higher engine intake, higher pressure, higher reading, more fuel). So, your engine take [u]slightly more air [/u]because the V.E. has been improved, MAF/MAP sensor measures [u]slightly higher flow rate (or manifold absolute pressure)[/u], as high as what the engine swallowed, injectors inject [u]slightly more fuel [/u]because the ECU told them so, you will get an accurate [u]mixture[/u], at [u]bigger volume[/u], combusted in a same cylinder.. You get [u]more power[/u]. Not correct also if your fan can provide a higher flow-rate than the engine intake at red-line revolution. It'll not block the flow. ****************** It's not a matter of "can work or not", it's a matter of "right material, right design and durability. If the fan concept doesn't work, a belt-driven supercharger will not work as well. But why it works? p/s: Dun ask me what is V.E., MAP, MAF and the theories behind the story of "how EFI works). Read up. [/QUOTE]
Insert quotes…
Verification
The Marketplace Latest
Honda Civic FD TypeR body kit
Started by
jeff6126
Exterior and Body
Proton Satria GTi body kit / Evo front bonnet hood
Started by
jeff6126
Exterior and Body
BMW F30 gts front bonnet hood with scoop
Started by
jeff6126
Exterior and Body
BMW F10 Mperformance front skirt lip
Started by
jeff6126
Exterior and Body
Re-spray paint color for Proton Wira
Started by
jeff6126
Exterior and Body
Rim Spray / Glossy black
Started by
jeff6126
Exterior and Body
Perodua Ativa Gear Up body kit / spoiler
Started by
jeff6126
Exterior and Body
JSracing GTwing spoiler
Started by
jeff6126
Exterior and Body
original rare Rays Volk Racing CE28 18x8 18x9 5H...
Started by
david tao
Chassis and Wheels
Toyota Alphard 2.5 SC 2019
Started by
aycy
Cars for sale
A peek at Formula One cars in 2020
https://www.zerotohundred.com/wp-content/uploads/2011/01/f1-600x362.jpg
The Formula One car of tomorrow will already be undergoing radical changes, primarily due to efforts by the FIA to reduce fuel consumption, but...
Newbie askin' for opinion...
Hi to all bro' & sis'...I've just sell off my EVO 7 & I'm lookin' forward to buy a GTR 34, which is my dreamt car...What should I look into during my hunt for an unregistered GTR 34 in order for me to enjoy my next...
Dreamcars Asia KLCC '05 | Zerotohundred.Live!
600 images
9 pages
Photography:
Tom
LDragon
Recent Posts
Performance Tire Prices(Pls Contribute The Price & Location to buy)
Started by
JINEIL2EN
Car Modification
Tire Price list Zth
Started by
xbalance2002
Wheel And Tyre
Paging for Hyundai Coupe owner, CCGT @ 28th May 2005
Started by
BlackSamurai
The Hyundai Coupe Club
New GR Yaris Automatic & GR Supra Track Edition Now in Malaysia