1.3-1.8t Conversion

zero_kool

hey all,
anyone KNOWNS anyone that can make a 1.3 satria converted to GSR turbo and includes all the fee of installation, jpj settling and everything? i knw it is impossible for it to happen for 1.3-1.8 now. so that's y i am asking, if anyone has done theirs and still manage to get through the jpj inspection and all those, pls inform me......i really need one now.....thanks

macha.. 1.3 cannot go GSR .. sowwie ;) .. they wont pass oso.
maximum u can go is 1.6 Mirage Turbo ..

u know lar... if can oso.. u can pass by lubang or under table .. but later u jugak yang susah .. imagine one day JPJ tow ure car to their inspection .. sure cannot kawtim deh.. have to say bye bye to GSR

if u want GSR or EVO..u must have atleast 1.5 chassis or better

SO the conclusion is that you wont ever get to legally enjoy a turbo engine unless 4G61T engine?

Also might not be legal too as ave to modify mounting? :o

Originally posted by sakuraguy@Apr 7 2005, 23:14
[snapback]877742[/snapback]​

JPJ are very stupid.....they dunno 1.3 and 1.5 chassis are the same....
since they allow 1.5 to 1.8....why 1.3 cannot convert to 1.8???

1.3 using front disc brakes

1.5 using front and rear disc breaks

thats why cannot pass although chassis the same.

i think so lar. pls correct if wrong...

say like satria 1.3 and 1.8 gti chassis, which one is stronger? or same ka?

1.3 - 1.5 = front discs / rear drums (except 1st batch of Wira SEs)
1.6 - 1.8 = front / rear discs

1.3 n 1.5 both onli front disc....
onli 1.3 use solid disc n 1.5 use vintilated
both back also drum....

1.3 satria n GTi chasis different...
correct me if i m wrong....

1.3 and 1.5 may share the same chassis but technically there are minor differences.

Also, JPJ aren't stupid... those buggers also mess around with cars and they have plenty time to experiment around from confiscated cars (SITA).

If you are free, go to JPJ Wangsa Maju and check out the yard... has everything from Protons, Hondas, BMWs and other makes left to rot over a long period of time.

Originally posted by ambayah@Apr 9 2005, 00:43
But if I upgrade braking system and all can I 1.3 -> 1.8 ?
[snapback]880789[/snapback]​

Still cannot because the rules only allow a 20% increase from original capacity.

Even if you find a way and kau tim via $$$$, JPJ will still go after you during major roadblocks. Why take the risk?

Another solution is to sell off the car and opt for a 1.6 or 1.8 chassis.

My sources in the 2nd hard market told me that 1.8 Wiras are in great demand and easy to sell within days (used to be weeks).

Originally posted by sakuraguy@Apr 7 2005, 23:14
macha.. 1.3 cannot go GSR .. sowwie https://www.zerotohundred.com/forums/style_emoticons/default/wink.gif alt='wink.gif' /> .. they wont pass oso.

u know lar... if can oso.. u can pass by lubang or under table .. but later u jugak yang susah .. imagine one day JPJ tow ure car to their inspection .. sure cannot kawtim deh.. have to say bye bye to GSR

who say cant pass? i just get my car done 1 month back.

Originally posted by GSR4857+Apr 9 2005, 02:30 -->
QUOTE(GSR4857 @ Apr 9 2005, 02:30 )
https://www.zerotohundred.com/forums/style_emoticons/default/wink.gif alt='wink.gif' /> .. they wont pass oso.

[/b]

who say cant pass? i just get my car done 1 month back.
[snapback]880994[/snapback]​
[/b][/quote]

Road block how ah?

this is a really scratch head area. i have heard different versions from jpj themselves. i have done so many conversions, and so far so good no problem. i have never dared to attempt the 1.3 - 1.8 but i am enquired about this b4.

they allow 25%, from the ori. so if u change 1.3 to 1.6, dun take it as it's 1.6 to 1.8 on ur next change.

i was told it is NOT impossible. it requires an additional step in terms of document.

basically a letter from a qualified person/enginner. it could be someone whose attend some mechanical course with qualification or an engineer.

similar to conversions which involves mounting change.

but what they are really looking for are brake upgrades. so the letter would need to state the job performed during the conversion.

it should then pass.

like i say, this is one version. i have also had jpj (bahagian teknik) tell me TAK BOLEH TAK BOLEH. but the helpful ones, actually explains the process.

also to add, u shouldn't be afraid to get caught i believe. if jpj has approved it, you would have a letter from bahagian teknik telling you so. it also states in the letter provided u fulfill the puspakom inspection. and no reason why u should fail if u have done it right.

puspakom is a unit of drb hicom correct me if i am wrong. they are a commercial entity. i dunno to what extent are the connected to jpj.

their job = inspection.

commercially, if they keep failing u, obviously you would need to keep going back and they'll charge u each time. so they are making money. but if u have really been there, they are never short of cars to inspect.

the trick is to do what is right, and obviously don't be cocky. u can always consult the supervisor/manager if there's a dispute, which i have done so to know where the problems lies, as sometimes it's never clear in the report.

so good luck to u all

^ So what youre saying is 1.3 -> 1.8 is legal but done it proper way and brakes & suspension is important?