4G91 Gang..

bro ACQ, as u know... the pistons for 92/93 block is 81mm.... of course mivec has the highest compression pistons... n the normal SOHC ones has higher compression pistons compared to the normal DOHC ones... if u r not doing a high revving engine, getting a 92 SOHC will b fine as 4g91 redline not high... i've been using tis setup for 1-2yrs with drag/track/spirited driving...
suggesting tis is coz mivec block can b difficult to source hence enpensive....

p.s: i like the word "knock knock" too... lolz

hey guys..i feel like i'm the last person in m'sia to convert saga 89' 1.3 magma to 4g91..looks like everybody now is playing wira or satria..anyway,i just want your opinion on my expenses during convertion..(car just out frm bengkel yesterday-09.11.2010@2030 hrs)

lathe flywheel-80.00
flywheel oil seal-35.00
mounting-85.00
driveshaft-270.00*2=540.00
ball head-70.00
p/steering fluid-18.00
engine oil-40.00
gear oil-45.00
clutch fluid-15.00
steering bush-15.00

gasket&top overhaul(when foreman fill the oil,all comes out frm head..so no choice)-265.00
fuel pump-180.00
water stopper-8.00
s/charge-1700

All and all is RM3111.00..

Does it cost until that amount to convert the magma 1.3 to 4g91???Am i being cheated by the foreman???
the cost doesn't include engine and g/box..hurmmm...
wut do you guys think???

there is a old otai here using 91 carburettor...forgot his nick...can ask him...calling sifu...

Just came back from Kuching, did dyno test there..heehhe,..whp 98.63whp...and 117NW of torque... hrmmmm
Was considering a 93 block b4,but have heard from some sifu here that using mivec pistons on a 93 block matching it with a mivec engine has issues...Knocking etc etc..better off using stock 93 pistons,so was wondering if it has d same effect with our 91..
And yeah,92 mivec block are hard to come by, and since it has d same height as our 91,sud be easy to 'knock knock'..hahahaha..1.6 with high comp pistons...hrmmm..worth the try??
Btw,block selling for rm800.....

---------- Post added at 09:38 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 08:38 AM ----------

there is a old otai here using 91 carburettor...forgot his nick...can ask him...calling sifu...

ayell ka?? Seems to be missing ody... Meet him once where i am from...wonder where is he..

i think the main worry for using 92/03 pistons are whether the block can tahan the bore. I think it's quite debatable as to how tahan the engine is with that amount of overbore. 4G9x block aren't exactly known for it's strength... some people have done it succesfully without problems, other's end up with an unreliable engine that needs 'medical attention' every so often.

Re: 4g91 clan

guys...is it normal for 4G91 can go up to 400km only on full tank?....
my car can go up to 170km/hr only starting from 150km/hr it start to walk its way up very slow...What necessary things i should do?

just get my car yesterday with 93blok,really siock~~~~haha~~~

no replacement, for displacement :biggrin:

Just came back from Kuching, did dyno test there..heehhe,..whp 98.63whp...and 117NW of torque... hrmmmm
Was considering a 93 block b4,but have heard from some sifu here that using mivec pistons on a 93 block matching it with a mivec engine has issues...Knocking etc etc..better off using stock 93 pistons,so was wondering if it has d same effect with our 91..
And yeah,92 mivec block are hard to come by, and since it has d same height as our 91,sud be easy to 'knock knock'..hahahaha..1.6 with high comp pistons...hrmmm..worth the try??
Btw,block selling for rm800.....

---------- Post added at 09:38 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 08:38 AM ----------

ayell ka?? Seems to be missing ody... Meet him once where i am from...wonder where is he..

u sure bout ur hp after dyno? wat machine??

my 4g15 standard also getting 76 whp and 101 torque d maa...

Al, That was what i am worried about. If i do rebore the block, it might not last. So since there's a 92 mivec block for sale but no documents, was considering the upgrade..Since Mivec engine is slightly different then 92 non mivec...and since the height of the block is the same as our 91,..hence the 'knock knock' application..hahahaha... seen some 93 block for sale also,slightly cheaper and with papers as well, but for me to ship it over,it might cost the same.And i would not know the condition of the block..
frstrader, will get back to you on the dyno machine..Not sure what brand.But meant for 2wd only...

bro ACQ...
RM800 for mivec block?? complete wif pistons n crank huh?? if yes, then its reasonable...
using mivec pistons may experience knocking... dat's y ppl choose 92SOHC pistons....

miez...
i notice dat ur s/charge is on the high side....but if not mistaken, 4g91 into saga chassis need to mod mounting n also wiring works... perhaps tis is the part dat's costly... other stuff dat u listed wif pricing seems rather fair to me....

perrie...
how many lits is ur full tank??? mine last time on average 11km/lit....
but was using 92SOHC block n emanage....
mileage is very subjective la.... very much depends on ur usage (travel distance, jam o not) n also ur driving style....

Yeap,block, crank & pistons.. but no papers though..trying 2 nego a bit more though.Will see how it goes.hehee..
Knocking,hrmmm that is 1 thing that i dnt really knw if it happens. But if just standard parts in the engine, will it still be a problem? and how do we get rid of it..And also will it be better if i upgrade the injectors to 240cc and my intake??

---------- Post added at 03:42 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 03:42 PM ----------

Yeap,block, crank & pistons.. but no papers though..trying 2 nego a bit more though.Will see how it goes.hehee..
Knocking,hrmmm that is 1 thing that i dnt really knw if it happens. But if just standard parts in the engine, will it still be a problem? and how do we get rid of it..And also will it be better if i upgrade the injectors to 240cc and my intake??

last time i sold my mivec block for rm500 without piston,but got paper...ori mivec piston can cost up to rm450...Block without paper,whats the point to use it?how to endorse? better u search for 4g92 sohc block,more cheaper i think and got high compression too...owh,by the way,i have 4g92 sohc piston for sale...hehe~:driver:

dat time when i upgrade... i was told dat if use mivec pistons, will use thicker gasket... so its still back to square... then just nice my mech got a complete 92SOHC block... so just grab it lo... coz dat time my engine masuk air... whole block gone case... so was kindda rush... n also... 91 oso wont rev v high... so having oil squitters o not doesnt really matter....

getting the 240cc injector from mivec or 4g93DOHC should b a reliability mod... but u'll b running rich... better get a management n tune it... face tis prob when i dyno last time... cut fuel kao kao.... can feel very significant improvement in power n fc... lolz

agree wif bro fstrader abt 93SOHC block... if u r after power... but the block height is very obvious compared to using 92 block...

If you guys use a 93 block that becomes a 1.8 right?

Which is more powerfull though guys, a pure 93 head & block or a 91 head campur with 93 block?

Sorry ya I dont know much about mistu engines...

---------- Post added at 12:46 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 12:31 AM ----------

If you guys use a 93 block that becomes a 1.8 right?

Which is more powerfull though guys, a pure 93 head & block or a 91 head campur with 93 block?

Sorry ya I dont know much about mistu engines... :biggrin:

It's kinda hard to source for a 92/93 block here. Even if i buy 1 from WM and ship it over here to EM,shipment sud be around rm100-200?? Wonder if there is anybody who wana help me pack the block properly..hehehe..
Hrmmm,the temptation of going bigger..
mizi,the reason why i wana get this 92 block is that it is easier to 'knock knock'..if using 93 it is a bit obvious,the height..
cal,so meaning that if the compression is too high there will be knocking effect? Not good for our engines? hrmmm

But would that be defeating the purpose of having a higher compression? Thought that the higher any NA engine can go is better in terms of performance..hrmmm..
Coz if the usage of a metal gasket will bring down the compression,if it is almost the same as using a 93 block,might as well go for a 93 block..But the process of going through JPJ n Puspakom test again..

i m always into reliability and not performance (altou a bit) :biggrin:

if it knocks there are some ways to overcome :

- engine oil.
- knock sensor (if u are using 93 wiring).
- re-adjust the tappet.
- safc (just pusing or tekan2) to minimise knocking.
- the most simple way is just putting slightly thicker gasket, i said slightly laa not asking u to put 5mm one laa hehehehe :thefinger:

i m using 93 blok,with wiring 91 and ECU 93 but without knock sensor,
the day i take the car,really shiock but FC very bad ,380km per tank and feel a little knocking..
then i chk,the timing too high so i adjust back a little,
now power less a little bit but FC became good,355km per 3/4 tank.
should i install knock sensor???
where can i install it,where at JB and how $$??:biggrin: