can i do twin pipe exhaust for my NA viva?

Transformers

Hello sifo and friend.....

i have question to ask.....i like to instal twin pipe exhaust for my standart NA perodua viva?

it is i will lose some of my power of car, when i do twin pipe?

The viva is 4 cylinder right? So you mean twin pipes as in 2 separate exhaust as in 2 cylinder to 1 exhaust pipe or you mean 1 exhaust pipe and splitting into 2 towards the end? Basically in both cases i don't think it will improve any performance, probably you might lose some power depending on the diameter of the exhaust chosen and also due to additional weight gained... why not just stick to 1 pipe? usually for twin pipes are cars with V-engine set up or those with 6 cylinders or more...

can do twin pipes.. but one of them is 'deco' ones..while the other is real function ekzos pipe..

can do.. just make sure the combined area of those 2 pipes are not so different than the single one

given to calculate area of the pipe is area = PI x (diameter / 2) x (diameter / 2)

for example a 2inch pipe

area = 3.142 x (2 / 2) x (2 / 2)
area = 3.142 x 1 x 1
area = 3.142inch

so if you wanna use twinpipe, area of each pipe is 3.142 / 2 = 1.571inch la...

That is from the POV a calculation of area, and volume. Based on the twin pipe setup, the car gained weight while the wallet loses weight.

However, one also need to consider about friction loss. Smaller pipes increases air flow friction, thus would reduce air/exhaust velocity. That's concerns breathability of the overall exhaust system.

Small engine capacity engine cars seldom have twin pipes setup, unless the car had been modded with monster engine or turbo-charged.

Yup,agree with ken yeang bro....
Not very encourage that small cc car to use twin piping exhaust,not much different improve in performance...
U can try 1.5inches piping, straight flow muffler and take out the mid-box replace with bullet...
Sure got improvement....
Just my 2.5 cents nia...:rolleyes:
Cheers!

ok guys i have read all of your advise...actually i only want to do twin tips at the end of my exhaust...so if i do a twin tip muffler it is a have probability i looses some of my car power? it is i will lose my pickup?...

yes i want a garang look from behind of my car...but if i do 1 real exhaust and another 1 is fake...it ok but the fake tips will look very clean from then another 1 the real exhaust....

---------- Post added at 08:09 PM ---------- Previous post was at 08:04 PM ----------

and my another question is...how i want to improve performance my standart 1.0 na engine? what should i add or change? i dont want to change to turbo engine because my car is very new.....the origin engine still function because it was a new car........so i want improve my car performance what should i do to my viva 1.0?

ok guys i have read all of your advise...actually i only want to do twin tips at the end of my exhaust...so if i do a twin tip muffler it is a have probability i looses some of my car power? it is i will lose my pickup?...

yes i want a garang look from behind of my car...but if i do 1 real exhaust and another 1 is fake...it ok but the fake tips will look very clean from then another 1 the real exhaust....

---------- Post added at 08:09 PM ---------- Previous post was at 08:04 PM ----------

and my another question is...how i want to improve performance my standart 1.0 na engine? what should i add or change? i dont want to change to turbo engine because my car is very new.....the origin engine still function because it was a new car........so i want improve my car performance what should i do to my viva 1.0?

as per danzeterna sez... change to twin pipe from L5... i think no loss nor gain since it at the very end of the exhaust system...

think there is really very minimal you could do to improve the performance of a 1L block if force-induction is not an option. Guess you could try to lighten the weight of your car, probably by removing items not required, changing to sport seats that are lighter, changing to lightweight japanese rims, maybe change to lighter aftermarket flywheel, sports clutch and pump ron 97! :biggrin:

if you are intending to touch a little on the engine, probably you can try port and polish, changing to forge pistons and then increasing compression ratio(if not turbocharging), stroking up the engine and finally retuning it with a piggyback or preferably standalone ecu but still it will be very minimal power gain from 1L block, best way to gain power = turbocharged but reliability maybe occur... anyway if you intend to do the intake and exhaust, my advice would be do everything together ie: including extractor, mid pipe and you'll need tuning to have optimal effect.

Hello sifo and friend.....

i have question to ask.....i like to instal twin pipe exhaust for my standart NA perodua viva?

it is i will lose some of my power of car, when i do twin pipe?

In an isolated case, twin pipes can only do so much. Power can be found with other mod/upgrades. Perhaps the best bet for added HP is increasing engine CC.

By that, "no replacement for displacement" applies here. This mean that the bigger your engine (or bigger the cc), the more power it can eventually produce, and sustain to that power.

Generally, all car engines can be tuned/modified to produce extreme numbers of HP but that is not the point here. Other important aspects that are equally important include reliability and safety of the mechanicals parts in the engine.

Therefore, it can be said that it is easier, safer and cheaper to start off with a bigger CC engine. A bigger engine easily makes the power safer without taking away from performance while can handle more with less modifications. This is almost the truth that the only way to make power, just the easiest, safest and cheapest is thru bigger CC engine.

Power is never enough for drivers. Instead ask yourself, how much RM you are willing to spend and how much effort/mod you willing make, in order to realize your motoring dream?

erm... you can try the basic bpu first FYI, BPU = Basic Performance Upgrade

1. Either mod airbox to accept cold air intake (CAI) or open pod filter wif heatshield
  2. tuned length exhaust manifold and a tuned axhaust system to match
  3. tuned wif piggyback such as SAFC/eManage/Dynojet PowerCommander/Unichip etc...

at most you can gain 15%... for some ppl thats translate to performance that can be felt....

companies such as speedworks and http://www.powerzone.com.my/products.html offers such package for Viva

[/COLOR]
think there is really very minimal you could do to improve the performance of a 1L block if force-induction is not an option. Guess you could try to lighten the weight of your car, probably by removing items not required, changing to sport seats that are lighter, changing to lightweight japanese rims, maybe change to lighter aftermarket flywheel, sports clutch and pump ron 97! :biggrin:

if you are intending to touch a little on the engine, probably you can try port and polish, changing to forge pistons and then increasing compression ratio(if not turbocharging), stroking up the engine and finally retuning it with a piggyback or preferably standalone ecu but still it will be very minimal power gain from 1L block, best way to gain power = turbocharged but reliability maybe occur... anyway if you intend to do the intake and exhaust, my advice would be do everything together ie: including extractor, mid pipe and you'll need tuning to have optimal effect.

YellowFlash, the owner doesnt want to make his viva jadi sepang drag battle viva lah :rofl:.

Forged pistons where you wanna get for the viva hmm?

And berapa mahal? :biggrin:

[/COLOR]

YellowFlash, the owner doesnt want to make his viva jadi sepang drag battle viva lah :rofl:.

Forged pistons where you wanna get for the viva hmm?

And berapa mahal? :biggrin:

haha...just giving some advice if he wanna go hardcore ma :biggrin:

btw wat is berapa mahal??? hehe dont understand malay la bro.. :confused:

haha...just giving some advice if he wanna go hardcore ma :biggrin:

btw wat is berapa mahal??? hehe dont understand malay la bro.. :confused:

he meant "how expensive?" :biggrin:

but still within topic.. mods for NA hehe

YellowFlash: if went for standalone, better go even more hardcore like individual throttle bodies ala 4AGE 20v?..... DVVT and VVT are not that different rite hehe?

LittleWhiteWagon: can what get forged piston, just order from JE Pistons, Arias, Wiseco etc with tons of cash :rofl:

he meant "how expensive?" :biggrin:

but still within topic.. mods for NA hehe

YellowFlash: if went for standalone, better go even more hardcore like individual throttle bodies ala 4AGE 20v?..... DVVT and VVT are not that different rite hehe?

LittleWhiteWagon: can what get forged piston, just order from JE Pistons, Arias, Wiseco etc with tons of cash :rofl:

haha...hmm yea, if NA extreme, i guess need to have individual throttle bodies...QUAD throttle~!! but then it cannot drive daily la, i think very thirsty always want to drive petrol... :biggrin:

Hahahaha

I'd LOVE to see how much "power" a 660cc/850cc/1000cc car can give out with forged pistons and quad throttle bodies :thefinger:

YellowFlash, why you say it drinks petrol alot if convert to 4 throttle? Can explain? :hmmmm:

Hahahaha

I'd LOVE to see how much "power" a 660cc/850cc/1000cc car can give out with forged pistons and quad throttle bodies :thefinger:

YellowFlash, why you say it drinks petrol alot if convert to 4 throttle? Can explain? :hmmmm:

cause if its individual throttle bodies, it mean each throttle has its own air intake...more air for more fuel to burn = more power...it'd be interesting to see how much power can be extracted out of such a small cc car though its probably a very miserable amount and gets more miserable as the cc gets smaller... since theres a old say:"there is no replacement for displacement"...haha