6 speed vs 5 speed

jinkl

I have read alot thru this few days about the 6speed gearbox and 5 speed gearbox
wht i have learned so far, the 6speed is done by Aisin, the 5 speed is by mitsu on their own
correct me if im wrong

as ratio wise, the 6 speed doesnt have much diffrence in the cruise rpm, at 140kmh they are jst off about 100-200rpm , bt its a pretty close ratio gearbox for the 6gears

so what I would like to know is whether the JDM and USDM specs are the same, cos in evolutionm, nearly everyone has problems with their 4th gear on the 6geargb to break , some of them broke with stock engines , in our case we dnt have sheptrans or TRE to rebuild our gb, bt there was a debate saying the FQ400 uses the same gb ,we have only our potongs and it would cost a bomb

so guys, any info on the USDM vs JDM and also any of u 6gear guys over here took down the cars to trackdays and etc and their gb still holding strong?

---------- Post added at 02:38 AM ---------- Previous post was at 02:37 AM ----------

thanks for the anwsers and really thanks to evolutionz for the good replies in pvt :D

jinkl planning to change gb? i have a 6 speed and my engine is stock. so far no problems on highway runs. don't have the skills to go to track yet. sometimes i misshift 5th gear but i think that is because my hand cacat and not because of the gearbox... :biggrin:

maybe you can check with b18c-r for 5 geargb and azizi for 6 geargb for sepang track runs. both have monsters and go to the track. :driver::burnout:

p/s - either that or you can pm cannondale. his car is a super monster.

nah haha
im deciding between a e7 and e8 :D
i heard nightmares on the USDM version , so jst confirming :D
if its really problematic, i will opt for the 5gear e7 then :)

10q for the reply, will try consulting b18c-r and azizi :D

nah haha
im deciding between a e7 and e8 :D
i heard nightmares on the USDM version , so jst confirming :D
if its really problematic, i will opt for the 5gear e7 then :)

10q for the reply, will try consulting b18c-r and azizi :D

oh i see... we welcome you to join MLOC :biggrin:

if you're choosing between e7 and e8, there is another option. you can drop by cruise power garage and check with evokit. he drives an evo and he also fixes a lot of evos. he can also give you a lot of info regarding evo 7 vs evo 8. happy hunting :driver:

btw, Mistaken Identity, Lancer 7891, EvolutionZ, Leslie (not in town though) all drive e7. you can also pm them for more info on e7. :biggrin:

oh i see... we welcome you to join MLOC :biggrin:

if you're choosing between e7 and e8, there is another option. you can drop by cruise power garage and check with evokit. he drives an evo and he also fixes a lot of evos. he can also give you a lot of info regarding evo 7 vs evo 8. happy hunting :driver:

btw, Mistaken Identity, Lancer 7891, EvolutionZ, Leslie (not in town though) all drive e7. you can also pm them for more info on e7. :biggrin:

10q 10q
hehehe shit, i gonna haunt them one by one, atlast all gonna kick my ass kekekekekke

welcome jinkl...i've reply your pm...so far 6 speed gbox no problem....but got many cases of gear syncro broken for evo7 (5 speed gbox) happened to our members...

hehehe mizu...just normal.. street tuned evo9 la...

I can say 6 speed is tougher...unless it's 5 speed RS version...better for time attack...but not so good for highway cruising...

azizi : powderful street tune ma :burnout:

jinkl : have you checked out any e7 or e8 yet?

azizi : powderful street tune ma :burnout:

jinkl : have you checked out any e7 or e8 yet?

yeaps, checked out 3 so far, today maybe 1 direct owner

evolutionz has my findings hehe

1st one e7 , it was a total err err spec , door trimmings all normal carbon fiber stickers, exhaust ayam , bov ayam , manual boost controller , err from my viewing got accident b4 , even front bumper grill is blue, so i guess its sure a respray hehehehe

2nd one, i regretted even wasting my time going , went all the way to selayang from klang , grrr it was some jackie chan version e8

3rd one , was sweet bt not my colour liking, hehe its in silver , i prefer it in white or yellow or red , hehe repainting it will be an issue if i wish to sell int he future i guess

4th one white evo8 , gonna go see soon

fuyoh... so fast saw 4 cars ady... good good... hope you can get your car soon and join us for our melaka convoy :)

yeaps, checked out 3 so far, today maybe 1 direct owner

evolutionz has my findings hehe

1st one e7 , it was a total err err spec , door trimmings all normal carbon fiber stickers, exhaust ayam , bov ayam , manual boost controller , err from my viewing got accident b4 , even front bumper grill is blue, so i guess its sure a respray hehehehe

2nd one, i regretted even wasting my time going , went all the way to selayang from klang , grrr it was some jackie chan version e8

3rd one , was sweet bt not my colour liking, hehe its in silver , i prefer it in white or yellow or red , hehe repainting it will be an issue if i wish to sell int he future i guess

4th one white evo8 , gonna go see soon

Interested in an white E7..??? PM me for details....:driver::driver:

hehehe i think in the end it goes to how much we trash the car , crazy downshifts , miss gears :) and also hw good the fluids are :)

my e7 gb serves me well but my twin-plate bout time....so pocket burnt liao......

Wow...seems Master Jinkl will be joining Mitsubishi Evolution Family...:proud: