DC5 Advice

yes, if you use the wrong transmission oil. Typically GL5 specification oil has high sulfur content - it can corrode yellow metal(bronze) causing synchromesh to fail. best to stick to OEM / GL4 specs oil.

By OEM you mean the Honda MTF-II transmission fluid?

Do you mind sharing how it got to the conclusion that GL5 spec oils corrode bronze?
I'm using GL5(Kaaz 80w-90) and getting worried :P

By OEM you mean the Honda MTF-II transmission fluid?

Do you mind sharing how it got to the conclusion that GL5 spec oils corrode bronze?
I'm using GL5(Kaaz 80w-90) and getting worried :P

aaron -

there has been many discussion about GL5 specs oil and their compatibility on automotive forums. from what i observe - try not using GL5 specs oil unless it's explicitly defined by the car manufacturer that your tranny requires GL5 specs oil type.

an example :
http://www.eng-tips.com/viewthread.cfm?qid=120197&page=1

even some oil manufacturer has disclaimer on their GL5 specs oil :
http://www.pennzoil.com/site/faq.html#q2

perhaps, you can research more whether Kaaz oil is yellow metal friendly before taking any precautionary measures.

Recommend you to use OEM oil - less headache. Honda MTF III Ultra :-

http://i19.ebayimg.com/08/i/000/ff/e5/26eb_1.JPG
HondaMTF-IIIFront.jpg

HondaMTF-IIISide.jpg

im using torco sgo+additives. torco claim it meet or exceed GL-6. but, so far ok and good.... reduce the sound abit and smooth... should i be worried...

shoot I'm using motul too :P

seriously guys? Change to standard Honda la camnih ...

how about redline shockproof?? is the oil in category gl4 or gl5???:confused:

Bump: how about redline shockproof?? is the oil in category gl4 or gl5???:confused:

motul FF Lsd already enough.. and safe.. Spoon car all using them. Kaaz suitable for rough type ..eg s15.rear lsd..

Bump: motul FF Lsd already enough.. and safe.. Spoon car all using them. Kaaz suitable for rough type ..eg s15.rear lsd..

some feedback on MTF-3 http://www.hondaelise.com/forum/showthread.php?p=313
where can get it in Malaysia? i did ask honda SC and honda part shop. they dun have too...

aaron -

there has been many discussion about GL5 specs oil and their compatibility on automotive forums. from what i observe - try not using GL5 specs oil unless it's explicitly defined by the car manufacturer that your tranny requires GL5 specs oil type.

an example :
http://www.eng-tips.com/viewthread.cfm?qid=120197&page=1

even some oil manufacturer has disclaimer on their GL5 specs oil :
http://www.pennzoil.com/site/faq.html#q2

perhaps, you can research more whether Kaaz oil is yellow metal friendly before taking any precautionary measures.

Recommend you to use OEM oil - less headache. Honda MTF III Ultra :-

http://i19.ebayimg.com/08/i/000/ff/e5/26eb_1.JPG
HondaMTF-IIIFront.jpg

HondaMTF-IIISide.jpg

Thanks for the info.
I switched back to what I was using before, the Honda MTF-II.
Where did u buy the MTF-III?
I heard there's a Honda parts dealer in seapark, but dont know exactly where.
Anyone knows?

Thanks for the info.
I switched back to what I was using before, the Honda MTF-II.
Where did u buy the MTF-III?
I heard there's a Honda parts dealer in seapark, but dont know exactly where.
Anyone knows?

so fast change d ar???no more KAAZ?

so whats actually the best transmission+LSD oil for the DC5?

just wanna share mine used torco sae75w-90 + torco limited slip additive type f.. transmission much smoother than before.. used it for both b & k series.. also try 2 use torco sr-1 or sr-5 (if u have extra budget) engine oil.. straight away u will be falling in love with engine response..

About the Torco SR-1------Agreed.......

i get my MTF III from a honda authorize dealer in singapore.
http://www.autoparts.com.sg/thianseng/

was in singapore last weekend. the place was closed on saturday noon. shouldve come earlier..

Bump: was in singapore last weekend. the place was closed on saturday noon. shouldve come earlier..

mayB we can hv a MTF3 group-buy....
any1 interested?

Bump: mayB we can hv a MTF3 group-buy....
any1 interested?