DC5 Advice

• Fixed New Thread missing Editor: Hi Everyone, the issue with posting a new thread or a reply that shows a missing editor has been fixed. More updates to the forums will be added on in the coming days, we apologize for the inconveniece this has caused
yes, if you use the wrong transmission oil. Typically GL5 specification oil has high sulfur content - it can corrode yellow metal(bronze) causing synchromesh to fail. best to stick to OEM / GL4 specs oil.

By OEM you mean the Honda MTF-II transmission fluid?

Do you mind sharing how it got to the conclusion that GL5 spec oils corrode bronze?
I'm using GL5(Kaaz 80w-90) and getting worried :P

By OEM you mean the Honda MTF-II transmission fluid?

Do you mind sharing how it got to the conclusion that GL5 spec oils corrode bronze?
I'm using GL5(Kaaz 80w-90) and getting worried :P

aaron -

there has been many discussion about GL5 specs oil and their compatibility on automotive forums. from what i observe - try not using GL5 specs oil unless it's explicitly defined by the car manufacturer that your tranny requires GL5 specs oil type.

an example :
http://www.eng-tips.com/viewthread.cfm?qid=120197&page=1

even some oil manufacturer has disclaimer on their GL5 specs oil :
http://www.pennzoil.com/site/faq.html#q2

perhaps, you can research more whether Kaaz oil is yellow metal friendly before taking any precautionary measures.

Recommend you to use OEM oil - less headache. Honda MTF III Ultra :-

http://i19.ebayimg.com/08/i/000/ff/e5/26eb_1.JPG
HondaMTF-IIIFront.jpg

HondaMTF-IIISide.jpg

im using torco sgo+additives. torco claim it meet or exceed GL-6. but, so far ok and good.... reduce the sound abit and smooth... should i be worried...

shoot I'm using motul too :P

seriously guys? Change to standard Honda la camnih ...

how about redline shockproof?? is the oil in category gl4 or gl5???:confused:

Bump: how about redline shockproof?? is the oil in category gl4 or gl5???:confused:

motul FF Lsd already enough.. and safe.. Spoon car all using them. Kaaz suitable for rough type ..eg s15.rear lsd..

Bump: motul FF Lsd already enough.. and safe.. Spoon car all using them. Kaaz suitable for rough type ..eg s15.rear lsd..

some feedback on MTF-3 http://www.hondaelise.com/forum/showthread.php?p=313
where can get it in Malaysia? i did ask honda SC and honda part shop. they dun have too...

aaron -

there has been many discussion about GL5 specs oil and their compatibility on automotive forums. from what i observe - try not using GL5 specs oil unless it's explicitly defined by the car manufacturer that your tranny requires GL5 specs oil type.

an example :
http://www.eng-tips.com/viewthread.cfm?qid=120197&page=1

even some oil manufacturer has disclaimer on their GL5 specs oil :
http://www.pennzoil.com/site/faq.html#q2

perhaps, you can research more whether Kaaz oil is yellow metal friendly before taking any precautionary measures.

Recommend you to use OEM oil - less headache. Honda MTF III Ultra :-

http://i19.ebayimg.com/08/i/000/ff/e5/26eb_1.JPG
HondaMTF-IIIFront.jpg

HondaMTF-IIISide.jpg

Thanks for the info.
I switched back to what I was using before, the Honda MTF-II.
Where did u buy the MTF-III?
I heard there's a Honda parts dealer in seapark, but dont know exactly where.
Anyone knows?

Thanks for the info.
I switched back to what I was using before, the Honda MTF-II.
Where did u buy the MTF-III?
I heard there's a Honda parts dealer in seapark, but dont know exactly where.
Anyone knows?

so fast change d ar???no more KAAZ?

so whats actually the best transmission+LSD oil for the DC5?

just wanna share mine used torco sae75w-90 + torco limited slip additive type f.. transmission much smoother than before.. used it for both b & k series.. also try 2 use torco sr-1 or sr-5 (if u have extra budget) engine oil.. straight away u will be falling in love with engine response..

About the Torco SR-1------Agreed.......

i get my MTF III from a honda authorize dealer in singapore.
http://www.autoparts.com.sg/thianseng/

was in singapore last weekend. the place was closed on saturday noon. shouldve come earlier..

Bump: was in singapore last weekend. the place was closed on saturday noon. shouldve come earlier..

mayB we can hv a MTF3 group-buy....
any1 interested?

Bump: mayB we can hv a MTF3 group-buy....
any1 interested?