Quad Throttle Tuning

shiroitenshi

Well, here's my first time tuning a quad.

Got it working. mostly at least. Got a lot of issues since it was a first time, primarily problem on how to use those various screws on the ITB.:rofl:

Full throttle runs are okay, still had some issues with part throttle, as the response I had with TPS indexing is not present with MAP indexing.
But part throttle response is the main reason for going with ITBs, so have to clean up the maps quite a bit for those.:slug:

ignition tune is going to be difficult, and take an obscene amount of time since it's done on the road. Possibly might have it sent to a dyno for that. but for now, no knocking, drives quite well, so that's it for now. Going to do more to it as soon as I have time.

th_Itbreviving.jpg

If any lurkers/tuners out there interested in giving suggestions, I'm all ears :biggrin:

What management are you using Shiro? I've never done tuning ITB's before and would not see myself tuning other than single tube manifolds. That your motor?

Well, undeniably, single tube manifolds are some of the easiet and least confusing setup to tune, due to the lack of options.

There's plenum volume, which does little, and then there's runner length, which is not in the direct control of the tuner, but the manufacturer, which probably designed it to run with his xx cams, his xx pistons, with xx compression, with xx stuff.

Certainly, it's more comfortable to try a tried and true setup, isn't it? But with most setups already tried, isn't using ITB something slightly newer?

ITB's have varying height velocity stacks, trumpet length, injector positions, etc. Even I don't understand half of it,, to be honest.. ha ha.

ITBs are said to be more difficult, and also difficult to tune right, esp for use in daily driving. I'm trying to do something like that, and it's there, for the most part. I did a 2000rpm idle once, but once I saw how much fuel it used for warming up phase, suddenly having a race oriented tune isn't such a good idea.. lol.

Management, I'm using my Hondata S300J,
MAP indexing for idle, Secondary maps engaged on part throttle with TPS indexing, higher RPM returns back to MAP indexing.

I can't seem to get it to idle on TPS indexing/alpha-n. Having full TPS indexing is way more responsive (I tried), but I think the new Hondata 1.3.8 has issues with that, I believe it's a problem with the MAP sensor compensation, but I haven't gotten around the time to test it further. It's something I'm trying to learn after all.

With MAP, it idles just like my B16A lol, and it drives really well too. I just want to do it the full TPS indexing method just for knowledge and experience.

As to the setup
It's a B20B, 11.8 compression, Jun 3 cams
OER ITBs, setting those idle bleeds were confusing, for the first 2 minutes.. lol. easy once you get the idea down. Thankfully I could even borrow a Weber DCOE's vac meter to balance it out.

Still running on conservative timings, at least until it's strapped to a dyno.

Anyway, there's still some few mods to put in, but futher testing will determine what's needed and what's not. Currently temps hovering around 85-87, which is normal, even with a racing thermostat and the DC2 wide radiator (as you can see from the video). Could be the slightly retarded timings I used. Peak timing is only around 27ish, still on BRK-7s. It'll need 8s to go higher.

Currently I do think the ITBs are a bit too small for the B20B though.. I'm basing that thought based AFR curve versus duty, so that's a preliminary thought. It could be the exhaust. It's stupid to change both and not find out what exactly is causing the restriction though.

but then again, it's a first, so going to relax and take my time. This ITB drives like a standard car though, so its kind of strange to hear stories from other people about lag when using ITBs, and etc, when this car has none. In fact it's a bit hard to drive when starting from a stop, because the car just jumps at the slightest throttle. Have to ease the clutch and move, which makes it feel a little like an automatic.

Idle is at a surprising 1,100rpm only :slug:, No IACV or FICD for idle control. It idles at 16-14.7 depending on the time of day.. lol. At nights, it sometimes idle at 16, but when the ITB runners warms up, it will idle at stoich.. But with such low idle, opening up the throttle requires a heavier foot, no thank to the vaccuum. Thankfully messing with carbs that didn't have idle control systems helped me understand how to obtain desired idle characteristics through fuel and ignition and also idle air bleed. So it idles pretty much like my B16a.

Top end power is still lacking though, but when it's still using a restricted exhaust, not much to say about that. Planning to stuff in 2.5 inches later on so hopefully will get more power up top. Currently the torque peaks (according to Innovate AuxBox G sensor) at around 6500, and not gradually dropping off, but more like failling like a brick, and there's a huge difference in fuelling at the 8K range to get it to run close to 13 AFR. Looks like restriction though, but with closest exhaust size being 3.5 inches from a subie in stock, guess have to wait to get something a little more decent. The mapping is up to 9K, but it's rev limited to something decent like 7800, because't it's not making power past that 6.5K mark. Unless that restriction is taken care off, the B20 will not see 9K rpm, Anyway peak rpm I will base on peak torque. If 6500 is the best it will manage, then it will be rev limited to 7.8K. No sense revving it up till it misses the peak torque at each shift.

As for the question by prasath_5338,
Gains? With the current setup, I can't say I gained anything. The ITBs offer only one difference from the single plenum setup before. FASTER throttle opening, which equates to faster response, IF tuned properly.

The initial basemap was so horrible, I gained black smoke from the exhaust from sub 11 air fuel ratios. Ha ha.

Peak power is roughly similar, but hard to test when being so close to raya, many people are 'cruising' so can't really test it to the max. So far no one driving it dares to hit 8K on the forth yet. Steering is super wild with that much torque.

Based on g sensor, should be making about 180-190hp at 8K rpm, like I said not much difference at peak rpm. but it's interesting to note that it generates that amount of power at 6K too. There's just no increase in power after that 6.5K mark because the fuel curves drops like a brick after that.

the only diffenrence is the midrange. Torque at 3-6K is absolutely scary. Have to hold steering with both hands when accelerating. Even with full lock, the car can suddenly drift to one side when shifting.

But with poor top end power, there’s still some mods to do before I can conclusively say it's completed.

I don't expect it to generate a lot of hp past 7K though, there's probably way to much parts that are more suited for a B18C than a B20 on it, and buying super expensive headers from hytech and Jenveys/TWM is not an option.

Heck! B20B blocks plus VTEC line is cheaper than an equivalent B18C block.. So that's a no arguement why this setup ended the way it did. :P

I'll record a video sometime, and overlay the hondata engine parameters on it like I posted in my hondata thread a while back, but there seems to be a distinct lack of interest on ZTH on mods that go beyond buying a part and bolting it on.. :P

Your thread made into my favourites. Subscribing for progress.

Whats the ITB TB size?

Did u log MAP to find your WOT curve?

Wow cool...now Im hearin a tuner postin abt quads tuning. I had D16Z6 sohc before with quad throttle n power fc to run it. Thumbs up. Below is my frens setup.

streetprojectzengine.jpg

sifu shiro is my idol now..huhu, one day i would like to do this project too..b20 with quads & hondata

q: where can i find cheap reliable 4 throttle?

TWM Induction>>>>>>>>>Toda>>>>OECR>>>Jenvey

sifu shiro is my idol now..huhu, one day i would like to do this project too..b20 with quads & hondata

q: where can i find cheap reliable 4 throttle?

one day tu bila beb? asyik nak buat tak buat2 je. the time has come and it is now bro. ahaks!!!!

oh well..it aint cheap to play quads...but with all the gadgets you have in the market its not gonna be an issue to tune it..or at least u can get J101 and shiro to advise u hehehe!

btw have a look at these pix guys.. it was taken when i was in jb not long ago. all of the cars with quads are daily driven and even been on a long trip from south to central. most of them are running on microtechs. and check out the wiretucks as well :bawling:. u can inquire directly with the workshop on the quad setup that fits your budget..

http://mivek4doddle.blogspot.com/2008/09/meors-visit-to-hybrid-garage.html

http://www.hybridgarage.net/ - soon to be updated ahaha.

haha..kalau rezeki mengizinkan lama dah buat bro..ahaks, i think you'll be doin it soon..dah jalan2 hybrid garage tu..haha

I am curous to know what is your fuel consumption? Driving in stop/start traffic with air-con without the I.A.C.V. must be a pain - how to install on a ITB set-up.Anyone share their experience using a FICD. Lets discuss the the length and diameter of the trumpets you are using? How long is the install? How "reversible" is a install - is there alot of cutting? what is cut? Bend anything? What is the is oil-catch can set-up with a ITB?

http://img17.imageshack.us/img17/3089/p82276imagelarge.jpg

Bolt on all the necessary fittings for the Thermowax and IACV valves, as well as all the coolant lines

http://img16.imageshack.us/img16/7291/p82274imagelarge.jpg

The Idle Air Control Valve is also connected to a Blitz-supplied adapter plate

http://img8.imageshack.us/img8/4379/p82279imagelarge.jpg

Bolt on the IACV amd Thermowax valve using the OE intake manifold bracket as the mounting point