B-series OEM Oil Cooler. Is there 1?

Even when you use a 4032 alloy piston, you will still need to warm up. Its quieter than 2618 but is still noisier than OEM. Piston to wall clearance are in between OEM and 2618 alloy.
Well, it's better than the 2618 Al, so that's a relief.

The true 4032 alloy piston manufacturer which design them in strutted and very ligthweight type are commonly making pistons for F1, BTCC, WRC, MotoGP, aeronautical etc. To name a few are Cosworth, Omega, Accralite. To a search on these and you will find them all costing above USD$1000 for a set without rings. hehe..

I know..But aren't these around the same price range as well? Ka-Ching!
todapistons.jpg

Does this mean that the set in this pic is the 2618 Al? since you said that most Japan manufacturers use 2618 Al? In that case.. 2618 is definitely still unacceptable for me for a daily driven ride. Some people find it acceptable, because they don't drive their cars often.. but for me.. errr.. not so much.

And since the 4032 comes with a premium price tag (depending on how much I can get the units for).. well.. looks like I might have to adjust my plans for a forged set or go R and limit my horsepower target a little.

USD1K++ is, That's a huge chunk of change out of a modding budget :P, considering I can get a lot of other stuff for that price point. But considering JDM units aren't that much more cheaper.. depends on what my budget can fit in. I think Cosworth would be nice, if they're within 5K or so. My friend also particularly likes that brand, but the last time he got quoted some insane price that put him of permanently.. :P

But looking at the cosworth site.. the piston for the caterham is now retailing at USD899, the 4032 type.. but the short skirts are a bit worrying though, but custom specs means can get around that.. and they're custom made to order, which usually means long wait times and 100% deposit.. have to send specifications and stock piston and pin too. Ouch!

But they might be cheaper though, but I'll wait until I have cash in my hands before I even ask for a quote.. I expect lower than 1K though (hopefully they have done this before and has the die to do it, that should get me a reasonable quote or else I'd be looking at an insane quote again), and I'm not sure if my friend will agree to my choice, if I do make it.. but looking at it, I'm expecting I should get the block and engine specs down pat before deciding on something like that, because from their form.. they require those specifications as well.

Since it's for personal use, it's not about making every single horsepower out of the engine.. more like a daily drivable powerful ride that runs reliably (and CONVENIENTLY) at it's limits.

So much for limiting budget for engine mods.. (X_x)

And you're not the only one that says that about JE pistons.

USD 1K plus only for piston? better i buy all skunk2 accesories... hehehehe...
m i rite chris? :)

Normal lah hattech.. 1K plus is still reasonable actually..

if USD2K-4K? 'Terpelanting'/'Terbalik' already loh..

Well, it's better than the 2618 Al, so that's a relief.

I know..But aren't these around the same price range as well? Ka-Ching!
todapistons.jpg

Does this mean that the set in this pic is the 2618 Al? since you said that most Japan manufacturers use 2618 Al? In that case.. 2618 is definitely still unacceptable for me for a daily driven ride. Some people find it acceptable, because they don't drive their cars often.. but for me.. errr.. not so much.

And since the 4032 comes with a premium price tag (depending on how much I can get the units for).. well.. looks like I might have to adjust my plans for a forged set or go R and limit my horsepower target a little.

USD1K++ is, That's a huge chunk of change out of a modding budget :P, considering I can get a lot of other stuff for that price point. But considering JDM units aren't that much more cheaper.. depends on what my budget can fit in. I think Cosworth would be nice, if they're within 5K or so. My friend also particularly likes that brand, but the last time he got quoted some insane price that put him of permanently.. :P

But looking at the cosworth site.. the piston for the caterham is now retailing at USD899, the 4032 type.. but the short skirts are a bit worrying though, but custom specs means can get around that.. and they're custom made to order, which usually means long wait times and 100% deposit.. have to send specifications and stock piston and pin too. Ouch!

But they might be cheaper though, but I'll wait until I have cash in my hands before I even ask for a quote.. I expect lower than 1K though (hopefully they have done this before and has the die to do it, that should get me a reasonable quote or else I'd be looking at an insane quote again), and I'm not sure if my friend will agree to my choice, if I do make it.. but looking at it, I'm expecting I should get the block and engine specs down pat before deciding on something like that, because from their form.. they require those specifications as well.

Since it's for personal use, it's not about making every single horsepower out of the engine.. more like a daily drivable powerful ride that runs reliably (and CONVENIENTLY) at it's limits.

So much for limiting budget for engine mods.. (X_x)

And you're not the only one that says that about JE pistons.

There is no info on the web for material used. If you can show me the spec sheet that came with those toda, i might be able to tell you. The finishing on the TODA forged pistons are very good. But they are of the older forging style, the full skirt. I'm not saying old design means no good. The price you pay, i rather go for USA pistons in the strutted design which is ligther than TODA and yet have enough money to buy almost a set of new forged rods. :)

Cosworth based in UK, does cater alot for local UK motorsport there. Caterham is a popular track car there, and i believe those are stock shevles in UK hence the lower price. I believe they have a couple more stock shelves pistons for EJ20/25, VQ35 and K20(due to BTCC). :) None for B engine. Only way to buy cosworth piston for B engine is order from JUN. JUN gets their piston custom made by cosworth. :) Only one guy i know running them in MSS. He paid RM5k+ for it without rings!!! Or thats what he tells me.

Actually there thousands of people in USA running 2618 alloy piston for daily driving without problem. Installation of piston is critical and tuning is important.

Not many local people are very experience with these forged piston. So thats why i'm also getting as much info as possible to try and get it right for my 2L build.

• O2 Atom pic2.jpg
    O2 Atom pic2.jpg
    24.7 KB · Views: 191
  • O2 Atom pic3.jpg
    O2 Atom pic3.jpg
    30.9 KB · Views: 173
  • O2 Atom pic5.jpg
    O2 Atom pic5.jpg
    36.3 KB · Views: 164
Last edited by a moderator:
USD 1K plus only for piston? better i buy all skunk2 accesories... hehehehe...
m i rite chris? :)

ya, everyone should. more bling bling and internals less. haha... This will help me boost my sales a little more. :angel_smile:

There is no info on the web for material used. If you can show me the spec sheet that came with those toda, i might be able to tell you. The finishing on the TODA forged pistons are very good. But they are of the older forging style, the full skirt. I'm not saying old design means no good. The price you pay, i rather go for USA pistons in the strutted design which is ligther than TODA and yet have enough money to buy almost a set of new forged rods. :)

Cosworth based in UK, does cater alot for local UK motorsport there. Caterham is a popular track car there, and i believe those are stock shevles in UK hence the lower price. I believe they have a couple more stock shelves pistons for EJ20/25, VQ35 and K20(due to BTCC). :) None for B engine. Only way to buy cosworth piston for B engine is order from JUN. JUN gets their piston custom made by cosworth. :) Only one guy i know running them in MSS. He paid RM5k+ for it without rings!!! Or thats what he tells me.

Actually there thousands of people in USA running 2618 alloy piston for daily driving without problem. Installation of piston is critical and tuning is important.

Not many local people are very experience with these forged piston. So thats why i'm also getting as much info as possible to try and get it right for my 2L build.

Same here.. truly, in terms of modding malaysia still way behind.

Yeah, JUN get's them from Cosworth.. the price currently is less than 5K (retail, I think..) sans rings, still very close to 5K though, but how about the material, can you confirm it's 4032? Looks like JUN's might be a choice :)

The toda pistons are very nice indeed.. The owner, I think will have to go for upgraded mounts, as from what I see, the current mounts are too soft.

What is your criteria for choosing pistons other than compression? Skirt design? Coated/un-coated? Ceramic top?

The Americans run tighter tolerances, but they do admit that performance suffers as temps climb.

Let me know more about this.. And I'm coming tommorrow, barring any problems.. (X_x)

whoa!! usd1k 4 a set of pistons..... damn cun but usd1k??!! full race car ok la....

Oi.. go see people with ING's/J's/etc bodykit that cost way more than that lah.

Forged pistons are never cheap due to the manufacturing costs.

If Malaysian made.. possible lah.. hahaha.. Malaysia Bulih!... :P

Remember, spending all this still costs way below a brand new honda car yo!

And you still complain USD1K is expensive?

I'm just saying that I'm going for a cheaper option if available... not that USD 1K is expensivelah.

Same here.. truly, in terms of modding malaysia still way behind.

Yeah, JUN get's them from Cosworth.. the price currently is less than 5K (retail, I think..) sans rings, still very close to 5K though, but how about the material, can you confirm it's 4032? Looks like JUN's might be a choice :)

The toda pistons are very nice indeed.. The owner, I think will have to go for upgraded mounts, as from what I see, the current mounts are too soft.

What is your criteria for choosing pistons other than compression? Skirt design? Coated/un-coated? Ceramic top?

The Americans run tighter tolerances, but they do admit that performance suffers as temps climb.

Let me know more about this.. And I'm coming tommorrow, barring any problems.. (X_x)

I can't confirm if JUN are 4032 as typical jap don't supply enough techinal data to know. They are like want to keep all info by themselves only. But i would really think so cause it is made by Cosworth.

If NA engine, weight to me is very important as well as skirt design. There is no boost or nos, So if you can reduce reciprocating weight even with the same compression you will gain power! Then the skirt design can determine how much frictional loss it produces on the cylinder walls. Less frictional loss, the higher the transient/throttle respond. But if you greedy and go damn small skirt be prepare to overhaul engine every two race like F1. hehe...

Hope to see you tomorrow then.

shiro, wat u say is true n i totally agree .... but dun la compare la body kits.... tt 1 more 4 posing n meant 2 b seen....

but then again we hav diff level of modding... 2 u usd1k is affordable.... 2 me its damn expensive! the best part is u hav 2 do the complete works in order 2 make full use of the pistons.... by the time u add up the entire cost... its gonna b more than USD1k........

i do understand where u r headin at..... satisfaction = priceless

small fish like me look at more affordable forged pistons like CP which is made of 2618 alloy.... cost? rm2300+ n it still does the job.... bang 4 buck mah.... dun flame me bro.... hehehe

shiro, wat u say is true n i totally agree .... but dun la compare la body kits.... tt 1 more 4 posing n meant 2 b seen....

but then again we hav diff level of modding... 2 u usd1k is affordable.... 2 me its damn expensive! the best part is u hav 2 do the complete works in order 2 make full use of the pistons.... by the time u add up the entire cost... its gonna b more than USD1k........

i do understand where u r headin at..... satisfaction = priceless

small fish like me look at more affordable forged pistons like CP which is made of 2618 alloy.... cost? rm2300+ n it still does the job.... bang 4 buck mah.... dun flame me bro.... hehehe

Yes.. but remember...
the entire engine + car will still cost way less than a new civic..

So.. the lesson for today is...
Buy more 2nd hand civic instead of new car and mod the shitz out of it.. ROFL!

Yes, the CP 2618 is cheaper.. but remember that my concern is the warm up times... when you actually have one in your daily driven car, you have to warm it up.. and it don't take a short while oh! and you have to be in the car to play with the throttle to keep it from stalling.. sure.. higher idle helps (if you retune/adjust idle screw), but daily driven car means you waste a lot of fuel in stop and go traffic. Cheap in the short term, not so in the long run. Which do you think is more viable? My monthly fuel expenses now is about 450-500++, and that's no small sum of change, bro.

And also I'm promoting the modding culture that is sustainable.. if you make 300hp, but your engine only lasts for a year when daily driven.. why bother?

I remember this saying in Malay: "menang membeli, kalah memakai"

But paying such an extreme sum means I sacrifice funds for other parts (if I get around to it :P I'll let you know when I buy it.. :P) but that's just the way it is.

As with all mods.. I like to take it slow.. I see a lot of people going for imitation/clones so they can finish their build in a few months.. for me, I'd rather use the stock stuff until I can afford what I want... why do you think I'm still stuck on stock B16A after so long? think, decide, save up, think again, decide, then buy.. That's why I bought stuff like the EK9 discs brakes, exhausts, rims, and other parts even before I bought my car, and that's why my storeroom is now full of stuff that I'm keeping but not using, but selling as well if anyone is interested..

After all, I already forgot any idea of selling the car after buying it.. the price is so low, it's not even worth the effort.. might as well keep it, mod the shit out of it, then relegate it to a weekend car/track car when you get around to buying another.

shiro, actually bro..... i think back..... me n u r not much different..... i m in a more crazy scenario.... i believe u can buy a car like mine 4 less than ur 3 months salary..... hehehe

yup i m not jokin.... i hav souped it up till my father in law dont even recognize his own car of 20 years...... tt extent.... juz like u i m passionate bout wat i do.... in fact, this 3 words i get quite often... Custom, Fabricate, Re-engineer!! phrases like "brudder! where got 4 this car la!!" it can get really frustrating....

no choice 4 a car this old...... i believe a car must b modded 4 balance.... ample power, good handling, super stopping power..... most of all, its reliable.....

hehe...

I always say this to you right.. haha..

How is your car coming man??? Post la some pict of your car... It will be quite cool to see them here. White and black accord with B16A and a CUSTOM hydralic gearbox on the WAYyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy...

:)

shiro, actually bro..... i think back..... me n u r not much different..... i m in a more crazy scenario.... i believe u can buy a car like mine 4 less than ur 3 months salary..... hehehe

yup i m not jokin.... i hav souped it up till my father in law dont even recognize his own car of 20 years...... tt extent.... juz like u i m passionate bout wat i do.... in fact, this 3 words i get quite often... Custom, Fabricate, Re-engineer!! phrases like "brudder! where got 4 this car la!!" it can get really frustrating....

no choice 4 a car this old...... i believe a car must b modded 4 balance.... ample power, good handling, super stopping power..... most of all, its reliable.....

Yes.. if the parts are available by a reputable malaysian piston maker.. why not?
But no one here fabricates pistons.. :P

But you do notice that by not spending so much on the chassis, you can get a lot of things for your car, no?

I'm still finding it hard to justify the prices of new vios'es, camries, civics, accords..
For the price you pay and the stuff you get.. it's unfairly and irritatingly expensive. :P

If you want the new car smell.. that one... I think only new car can provide lah..

car = 120K.
the smell of new car = priceless?.... hahahahaha...

chris, pics?? cannot ler... mine is supposed 2 b a sleeper mah..... summore its my wifes car..... want me 2 sleep outside meh?? u better spare me a bed at ur home then..... hahaha.... jz kiddin bro..... might hav juz found the hydro pedal... then i will hunt 4 a g/box..... the rest shuld b easier.... others is new parts is better.....

shiro, theres 2 type of drivers..... destination A 2 B type drivers n the passionate 1s..... which 1 do u think we fall under?? hahaha..... jz pullin ur leg bro....

i do my bit of homework b4 i do anything...... 2 me i believe u hav 2 spend on all round n i concentrate on all areas..... chris knows n seen wat i hav done.... i m not power crazy or a poser n i m freakin proud of my ride... i mean my wifes ride.... hehehe

when u soup up the cars power, the chassis has 2 b strengthened, improve on the brakes, reset the suspension n whole lot of other details.... its practically endless...

theres a lot of areas where us Malaysians do not hav the proper equipment n proper knowledge 2 carry out certain mods or fabrication work in tt sense.... making forged pistons is not really within our capabilities yet n 1 of the reasons is there isnt any real demand 4 it (in production wise of course)..... true rite?? example, even the works of port n polishing the head..... how many guys out there actually do it rite let alone havin the proper tools? juz take a drummel tool n start porting but at wat angle?? how much? etc etc..... ur guess is as good as mine.....

i m not lookin down on our guys but we hav 2 face the fact, we r not really there yet..... only a handful out there stand by their workmanship n reputation but it all comes at a price..... sigh......

new cars do cost more nowadays but then again the manufacturers claim tt u r payin 4 the technology n safety aspects.... 1 proton airbag steering cost as much as stage 3 cams 4 most brands!! a lifer saver?? very contradicting.... my brother will tell u y.....

new cars come wif this that n a lot of other stuff n most of the time its juz plain gimmicky..... ppl juz wanna pay 1 lump sum 4 n its hassle free.....