Gearbox question

akuma

Scenario:-
1)Practising 4 a 1/4 mile race.....1st gear,launch......hit 2nd spin....mis-shift 3rd gear..CRUNCH..aiyarrkk.......tried again,everythg was ok...

2)OTW 2 a scene,was running high speed whn a fren in a 1.8GSR Turbo Iswara gave chase.WOT all d way...1st....2nd....mis-shift 3rd...CRUNCH...!!!!!aiyaarrkk AGAIN....kept on running n arrived d scene in 1 piece

my problem now IS,i can't engage reverse all of a sudden....1-2-3-4-5 all ok except for reverse....even after shutting down d engine n tried 2 engage reverse oso kenot.....

i'm running a YS1 gearbox(cable type) on a small v B16A.....

mechanic took d car...lifted it up...took out d linkage n tried 2 engage reverse by grabbing d lever on d gearbox...KENOT!!!!

guys n gals,any1 got idea wats wrong w my gearbox?my mechanic's wife is due 4 delivery hence he got no time 2 help me open up d gearbox 2 diagnose..so i tot i try my luck 2 ask ard here..
thx

may be u can try to check the inner shaft connected to the gear linkage, but definitely to overhaul the gearbox!!!!!

lesson learnt---> jangan hantam kaw kaw

ouch!!!! no need reverse gear la.... each time wanna park, shut off the engine n push the car.... juz like a full track car.... hehehe

sounds like a gear linkage koyak oredi....

avantasia,
my gearbox is already overhauled last time...5th n reverse gear synchro KO..main bearing oso terbakar.....
actually,d lesson i learnt is dis...dun wanna hantam kaw kaw dun buy a DOHC VTEC!haaha...so,got YS1 gearbox 4 sale o not??

SA6,
if d world is FLAT ok ler tuh....i also always push my car out of my porch whn i wanna go "out" late @ nyte....if start d car only d whole house will bergema w my exos sound ler..hehehehhee

sounds like a 304 border at work..... hahaha.... nak tanya ko..... wat clutch r u usin? my dilema is shuld i change my cable driven tranny 2 a hydro type??

confuse la wei!! feel mmg sedap.... wat do u think?? remain? i m usin the ultra short J1 g/box....

another thing is i juz changed my gearbox oil 2 the 80/90 castrol.... so far no crunchin pulak!! motul 2 thin ler i guess....

hmm.. I thought I posted a reply here. Strange that it's missing.

I thought the the reverse gear is straight cut and syncho-less, so can always 'force' a shift (at VERY slow speedla).. a lot of noise and grinding, but always can shift in reverse.

I think maybe something got stuck in the reverse mechanism.. likely the lever (is it called selector forks for the reverse also?) that moves the idler gear.

It would seem that would prevent you from getting the shifter into the R position.

if syncro kong, usually you can shift in into position, but since the syncro has no more teeth (dog teeth/gigi anjing, they call it, I think?), your gear will make sound, but the car won't move.. :P

Eh.. akuma.. forgot to mention I also usually misshift on third lol.. Nowdays I don't let off the clutch so fast, so doesn't happen as much.

That's why I know sure kantoi on 1/4 mile.. but want to join anyway for happy happy fun times. :P

So I can say.. "Been there, done that" :P

Scenario:-
1)Practising 4 a 1/4 mile race.....1st gear,launch......hit 2nd spin....mis-shift 3rd gear..CRUNCH..aiyarrkk.......tried again,everythg was ok...

2)OTW 2 a scene,was running high speed whn a fren in a 1.8GSR Turbo Iswara gave chase.WOT all d way...1st....2nd....mis-shift 3rd...CRUNCH...!!!!!aiyaarrkk AGAIN....kept on running n arrived d scene in 1 piece

my problem now IS,i can't engage reverse all of a sudden....1-2-3-4-5 all ok except for reverse....even after shutting down d engine n tried 2 engage reverse oso kenot.....

i'm running a YS1 gearbox(cable type) on a small v B16A.....

mechanic took d car...lifted it up...took out d linkage n tried 2 engage reverse by grabbing d lever on d gearbox...KENOT!!!!

guys n gals,any1 got idea wats wrong w my gearbox?my mechanic's wife is due 4 delivery hence he got no time 2 help me open up d gearbox 2 diagnose..so i tot i try my luck 2 ask ard here..
thx

that is becoz u laughed when i lost the auction :_:

hahaha j/k..

btw if not mistaken few days ago i saw someone is selling b16a gearbox with lsd.. u try to search for it..

-peace-

shiro,
thx..i ALWAYS like it whn u reply.....n my exacts thought..if its my synchro i SHUD still b able 2 engage reverse albeit w all d crunching my heart ache,hahaaha..but heck no...its DEAD STIFF...won even masuk 1 lil bit....so,i'm expecting sum bent forks or worst come 2 worst..my 3rd ratio got chipped off whn i mis-shift n now its stuck sumwhr,preventing reverse frm engaging..make sense?

moshpit21,
i know who's d seller...i was so enthusiastic straight away picked up my phone n called him up....but d rest of it was DISSAPOINTING!!!he kept hard selling all his other EF stuffs BUT d gbox....n finally,he cant even decide how much he wanna sell his gbox...sigh......major problem w our local buyers & sellers...i always c buyers ask ask ask n no action....but now whn buyer wanna take action seller pulak buat lawak....wasting my time only..ceh!

hattech-v,
still dun think its d synchro lar..ican engage 1-2-3-4-5 cun cun no crunch wat-so-ever lor bang...so how now brown cow?or u wanna samdol me too?ahhaaha...n dude,top 8?thx but i think i can go further!hehheheheheh
c u der.................

SA6Y,
i'm using big V EXEDY semi-race clutch,3 puck....i guess dis r bang-4-buck clutches..can withstand repeated hard launch w my semi slicks..RM850 @ my place.....previously on d small v EXEDY full race,RM900....cudn't even last me more thn 6 months..its too THIN!!

wa lau! semi race on a cable tranny?? not keras meh bro?? u must hav a really huge left foot?!?!? hahaha

akuma,
your car too strong le. must use dog box. group fffffffffffffffffffffff :p

wah bro....u use until reverse kong ah....YS1 one gbox u know...hard to find....sayang it a bit lar....hehehe

integramania,
kwan lei lan si ar?HAAHHAHAHAHHHAHA..kena u!!!!!!

J101,
i wish...can u get me?n of course,MUST b sponsored ler!!!arrff..arrff....

SA6Y,
errr....u think its heavy meh??no man..its only slightly heavier thn my stock clutch...only whn i was using full race clutch in my Y1 gbox last time i felt dats heavy!

shiro,
thx..i ALWAYS like it whn u reply.....n my exacts thought..if its my synchro i SHUD still b able 2 engage reverse albeit w all d crunching my heart ache,hahaaha..but heck no...its DEAD STIFF...won even masuk 1 lil bit....so,i'm expecting sum bent forks or worst come 2 worst..my 3rd ratio got chipped off whn i mis-shift n now its stuck sumwhr,preventing reverse frm engaging..make sense?

Yeah.. because like I said.. the reverse has no syncro and is a straight cut gear.
Haven't seen an open one for a long time, but I remember something like that. It's possible what you said.. so check that out.. I don't think the selector forks bend so easily (But you ganas, so I won't make that say that it's a sure thing! :P), but for me, it's more likely something got stuck somewhere.

Just for fun.. I googled up something from howstuffworks.com just now... just for a diagram, but found something else instead..

They have a video of a honda transmission and how it works!.. should be fun to watch for those that still don't understand syncros, reverse gear, layshaft, input shaft and all that mumbo-jumbo :P

Remember.. the video.. the rest of the text are talking about generic gearboxes, but they work roughly the same.. but that's not important.. the thing is, you can now see how a real honda transmission looks like, because they have a VIDEO!! :P

If some of the zth'ers were wondering about FD and differential.. zth'ers can see where they're installed in the open gearbox.. he only describes how the gears shift, but you get a rough idea how the H pattern shifter moves your selector forks, and other stuff in your gearbox.

And for akuma, I think you can see where I mean when I mean the lever moving the idler gear has something stuck in it... it's thick, so I don't think it bends so easily.

Enjoy!.. :P
Howstuffworks "How Manual Transmissions Work"

SA6Y,
yup....frm Ah Seng obvious coz i dun like Panjang of Makmur....!!!!