News

Introducing The 2010 Red Bull Rookies Line-Up

The Red Bull Rookies is back for 2010, and this unique programme aims to find, fund and nurture, up and coming female drivers to form an all female racing team. For 2010, Red Bull Malaysia and partner Asia Advanced Driving Academy (AADA) has announced the team’s driver line-up and this time it includes a new driver from Brunei.

The line-up includes Puteri Ayu Jasmin, a third year driver of this all female racing team. This time she will play a bigger role as the team leader and mentor to the Rookies programme. New to the team are two highly talented ladies spotted during the driver search last year, Carmen Lim and Lee Hui Jing, both were among the top six participants of the 2009 Red Bull Female Driver Search.

A fourth member will be a representative from Brunei who is yet to be picked as the “Red Bull Female Driver Search Brunei” is still underway. Once the driver has been identified, she will be brought to Kuala Lumpur for trainings scheduled for March 2010.

Chief Trainer at Asia Advanced Driving Academy and team manager Kenvin Low in speaking about his drivers said of Puteri Ayu, “Puteri is fast and capable of winning races, as she was already able to prove that last year at Sepang 1000km race and the Merdeka Millennium Endurance Race in 2008. Her experience will be a tremendous contribution to the new team members.”

Commenting on the new selections, Kenvin said, “We were impressed by their talent and determination in becoming a professional racer. Although they were not selected last year, they did not give up and took up lessons to improve their driving skill. They deserve a chance and we are convinced that they have what it takes to be a racer.”

From now up till June, the rookies will commence their intensive training sessions with skilled trainers from AADA in preparation for the Sepang 1000km which will take place from the 3rd to the 5th of June. The Rookies will be racing in a Honda Integra DC2 named “Diego”. The 2010 team is co-sponsored by Kenwood, SOL, Motorsport Playground and ST Wangan.

2010 Red Bull Rookies (1)2010 Red Bull Rookies (8)2010 Red Bull Rookies (27)2010 Red Bull Rookies (20)2010 Red Bull Rookies (15)2010 Red Bull Rookies (5)2010 Red Bull Rookies (7)2010 Red Bull Rookies (22)2010 Red Bull Rookies (9)2010 Red Bull Rookies (2)2010 Red Bull Rookies (3)2010 Red Bull Rookies (26)

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
B
  • B
    bizardo
  • Jan 27, 2010
the second one's cute.. gotta love those dimples. ;)

what happened to leona?
S
  • S
    Savahn
  • Jan 27, 2010
Salute!!! Supporting the babes in motorsport!
P
  • P
    pocketrocket
  • Jan 28, 2010
Leona not rookie anymore man
S
  • S
    Speed
  • Jan 28, 2010
one thing that always be a question in my head is that y denying guys in this programme??just because to give female a chance in this sport??if they are really committed in finding A DRIVER it should be open to all, as if those girl are really talented they shud be beating the crap of the guys entering..but sad that's not the case they are only interested in finding pretty faces for publicity stunt.sad ;(

Plz ooo plz...redbull malaysia for once do something that will truly benefit malaysia motorsport..
F
  • F
    FVel
  • Jan 28, 2010
Speed says:
January 28, 2010 at 11:25 amone thing that always be a question in my head is that y denying guys in this programme?? ..but sad that’s not the case they are only interested in finding pretty faces for publicity stunt.sad ;(
------------------------------------------

Probably one reason why they want to promote female rookies for this team is because of the your last quote...the typical sexist shallow-minded comments that seem to float around about them being nothing more than pretty faces.

Leona, Puteri and Philippa qualified at the front row of their car-class during their MME. If you can do better, put the money where your mouth is. Talk is cheap.
K
  • K
    krul
  • Jan 28, 2010
come on lady show them you can do it!
S
  • S
    Speed
  • Jan 29, 2010
aha, sexist nice one fvel, sexist mean that one gender or sex is inferior to, less competent, or less valuable than the other, so by denying male in this project mean the programme are sexist as its denying male participants?? wuteva it is im not a sexist as ur claiming, if they want to be fair and equal and really commited in searching a driver it should be open to all, not just female, mybe save a few space for female so then nobody are accuse as sexist right??

and plz dont talk about mme as it an endurance race, its just prove that the car is reliable(big sponsor team = money=reliable parts), other driver might be a better driver but myb luck is not on their side. so proof urself in a more competitive stage,other than endurance race and maybe try rallying.

and im not just talking cheap u dont even know who i am.. im putting my money in and i hv race with the redbull rookies in an event.

and iam not denying if they are talented or what that's not my point and i dont even care, if they are good so than be it..im just saying it should be open to all gender and that redbull malaysia to do what the redbull in europe/america did.
B
  • B
    brahim hongo
  • Jan 29, 2010
malaysian male drivers have failed miserably...no need to conduct such a programme here for them as we don't have and will not have any successful male race car drivers because of their egos and the fact that the system only allows the privileged malaysian male to enter the sport and be give the opportunities (case in point - the current F1 M'sian team and management)...if the guys would have been successful in the first place, we would already have a good bunch of F1 drivers in hand representing the country since Sepang was born over 10 years ago...but where are they? they don't even exist! FYI - Alex Yoong - the most experience M'sian ex-F1 driver is not even given a chance at this new Malaysian F1 venture...kesian!
L
  • L
    Lesa..
  • Jan 29, 2010
yeeeaahh to the ladies :-) show them hw its done girls..!!!cnt wait 4 sepang 1000 an MME..
F
  • F
    fedo
  • Jan 29, 2010
Speed, there r so many male team edi lah... its a male dominated sport! i think its good to have chicks taking part rather than holding umbrellas.

i think apart frm redbull, nobody is sponsoring the chicks and that is good man!
F
  • F
    FVel
  • Jan 29, 2010
Speed,

You have an overdeveloped sense of entitlement. You think that company owes it to the sport to spend their money as you see fit.

Red Bull owes nobody nothing. It's their money and they do what they like. If they want to promote an all-female lineup to encourage that gender to enter motorsport, or for marketing purposes, then it's their perogative. Cannot ar ? You jealous ar ?

As long as they meet the approvals, they have the right to be on the grid, just like any other team...be it one with good/bad car or good/bad drivers. Just like any other team.

If you think they are doing it wrong and you seem to feel bitter about it, then put up your own money to fund your own rookies and elevate motorsport in your own way that you deem appropriate. Put it up or s.t.f.u. There's an old Chinese saying :- "No one owes you a living. If you are poor, then you only have yourself to blame".

And since you have said the following :-
"and im not just talking cheap u dont even know who i am.. im putting my money in and i hv race with the redbull rookies in an event."

....ok...don't be shy lar. Tell us your real name and who you really are and what you do. Why tell the world how good you are against the RB-Rookies but hide your identity behind an internet account like a chicken-shit ? I'm sure everyone wants to know the big man who have the sense of self-worth to call some of his fellow competitors crap. So introduce yourself to the forum lar. Don't be shy, shy lar. Chicks dig a fast guy like you mar.

P.S.:- If you are Michael Schumacher, can I have your autograph ?
B
  • B
    BabyGodzillaGTi-R
  • Jan 29, 2010
Love to hear who's the person behind the veil of a nick name......
LOL....
The motorsport community is much much smaller than one might think.
R
  • R
    race fan
  • Jan 29, 2010
Wow there's drama in here.

brahim hongo said:
"..we would already have a good bunch of F1 drivers in hand representing the country since Sepang was born over 10 years ago…but where are they? they don’t even exist! FYI – Alex Yoong – the most experience M’sian ex-F1 driver is not even given a chance at this new Malaysian F1 venture…kesian!"

Good point but I don't get the Alex Yoong bit. Isn't he in the Lotus F1 venture? Albeit as their Asian head of driver development..

If you're referring to him as a candidate for the driver's seat, then a dose of reality is needed.
F
  • F
    FVel
  • Jan 29, 2010
BabyGodzillaGTi-R says:
January 29, 2010 at 2:49 pm
Love to hear who’s the person behind the veil of a nick name……
LOL….
The motorsport community is much much smaller than one might think.

-------------------------

I suspect the guy will be too chicken-shit to let out his real i.d.

It's so easy to hide behind internet annonymity and suggest to everyone how good he is, how others are crap, how the MME and endurance events are not true competitive events (yup, he actually said that), knowing he won't have to face up to the repercussions and backlash.

It is, as you say, a small community.

So like you, I'm very interested to know who Mr. Big Shot really is and I'm sure the Forum would be curious about how this guy thinks he's so farking golden.
F
  • F
    FVel
  • Jan 29, 2010
Anyway, 50 bucks says it's Kendrick Wong .... lol !
M
  • M
    Machi
  • Jan 29, 2010
fuyoh.... Speed, i wonder how good are u in motorsport. Come on... make sure you are super good before commenting others! i think all the rookies are proud as redbull is sponsoring them in this kinda expensive games. u make me feel that u r JEALOUS coz the company didnt sponsor u though U THINK U R MUCH BETTER THAN THE ROOKIES! are u? tell us who u r la... don be shy. Be a man, ok! dare to comment, but dare not unveil ur identity...
R
  • R
    Rc_fd2
  • Jan 31, 2010
50 quids I bet he will stay silent and won't reveal his name :)

And what I can say is Redbull's marketing strategy really works !!
S
  • S
    speed
  • Feb 1, 2010
hey2 guys im back, this is what i have to say:

1st i didnt said that they are not a good drivers im only saying that they should be more open in searching for a driver dats all

2nd i didnt said that mme is not a true competition did i said that??the only thing i said that mme will benefit the team with more budget.

3rd i didnt say dat im a well known driver who have beaten everyone, the only thing i said is i have been in an event/ competing with the red bull rookies, just because i have said ive put my money and i have compete with the rbr than everyone started to say ooo who are u, u think u are good enough laa, ur jelous la haha.y u guys like those chicks?trying to impress them by backing them up??haha bull shit

so guys get ur fact right, just because they are the choosen red bull rookies train by aadk plz dont be so bias towards them..

and for u guys that said malaysia driver have failed , u guys are wrong becuase u guys are just looking at those who looses but not those who win u have forgotten about about rally driver karamjit singh and saladin mazlan,jimmy low and other driver like, fairuz fauzy ,fadzil alang, sutan mustaffa, ian khong, tengku djan and such(naming a few that i know) there are a lot more driver who are good and talented that have bring trophies and are recoginze towards the asian region just because our media hv not promote them like they promote football,squash,bowling so ppl dont know, and even when they have win where are our sponsors?

And guys plzzzz stop about f1 x habis2 f1 racing f1 everything f1 they are other form of racing u know, f1 is the one of the highest level of motorsport, u can count the counrty in which the driver come from, and all came from a country which they have a history in car and they hv been racing since when?20s,40s? race driving have been their culture they have been train from kids, and u guys expect for a malaysian to jump straight to f1??u guys must be kidding theres other form of race not just single seater u know, from production car race to rally. but y are we so fu#king busy about f1?? than when they fail we start complaining its just as if we ask our national football team to win a world cup..but unlike football in which they have got 10m in developing next talent, but for motorsport naada there's nothing organizer are using their own pocket money to run an event, just for the sake of love for the sport.where are the sponsor?(its a little bit out of topic)

And yeay if redbulls m'sia want to be popular or what i dont care really. what ur chinese saying said i dont give a damn.. what im saying is, are they really commited to find a driver??so by the way things are going i dont think so.

and yeay its good to have a female driver to teach the man i agree, i didnt disagree at all.

and i didnt said red bull rookies are a bad program just feel that if they really wanted to search for a driver they wont make it exclusively to women.

for all said that im jelous than its up 2 u ur opinion, but if u really understand im hoping for them to sponsor to anyone who is qualified regardless male or female and sponsoring events where they might be some talented driver are in. but than its their money how they use it is up to them, but i hope if they are really commited they will do something that will benefit motorsport as a whole.

and yup u guys are right i wont tell u who i am, cause even if i did u wont know me :O just know that im someone who love motorsport and one day hope malaysian will be on the world racing stage.

but as i have already explain, i know u guys will still say, owh ur coward , jelaous whatsoever, so come on get it going already :D
F
  • F
    FVel
  • Feb 1, 2010
speed says:
February 1, 2010 at 2:51 amhey2 guys im back, this is what i have to say:

1st i didnt said that they are not a good drivers im only saying that they should be more open in searching for a driver dats all
----------------------------

dewwww. You sudah kena belasah for your careless comments, baru lah you try to tone down. Don't backtrack lah. Where's your credibility ? You want a reminder ? Here is your original comment unedited :-

"as if those girl are really talented they shud be beating the crap of the guys entering..but sad that’s not the case they are only interested in finding pretty faces for publicity stunt"

finding pretty faces for publicity stunt ? LOL. Don't be so bitter lah

speed says:
2nd i didnt said that mme is not a true competition did i said that??
--------------------

Yes you did. Here's your original comment :- "and plz dont talk about mme as it an endurance race, its just prove that the car is reliable(big sponsor team = money=reliable parts), .....so proof urself in a more competitive stage,other than endurance race and maybe try rallying."

I suppose then you are suggesting people like Tengku Djan, Hans Stuck and even Keiichi Tsuchiya, who have, at one time or another, participated in the MME are wasting their time in endurance racing ? Why bother to be in the MME, right ? Because you feel it ranks lower in terms of skill than rallying ? I suppose you think LeMans or MME is child's play lar.

Gee, that's a pretty bold suggestion. Not very smart, but got balls. To bad you are too afraid to say that face to face to the MME drivers. LOL, this guy is a real piece of work. Delusions of grandeur.

------------------------
speed says :-
"u guys are wrong becuase u guys are just looking at those who looses but not those who win u have forgotten about about rally driver karamjit singh and saladin mazlan,jimmy low and other driver like, fairuz fauzy ,fadzil alang, sutan mustaffa, ian khong, tengku djan."
-----------------------

Rallying and rally drivers are one of the most respected in motorsports and deservedly so. But do you think it's fair to suggest that the value of endurance racing and the MME somehow ranks lower in terms of pure competition ? BTW, Djan also competes in the MME. You go tell him your opinion on the MME lar.
-----------------------

speed says:-
"so guys get ur fact right, just because they are the choosen red bull rookies train by aadk plz dont be so bias towards them.. "
-------------------
Walauwei....now you want to tell us of 'bias' ? OKay lah, we get the message that you prefer rallying. Everything else outside is bias lah I suppose ? If you prefer rallying, go play in your own sandbox lar....don't throw your toys at other people just because they happen to race in another motorsport series.
---------------

Speed says :-
".....i said that mme will benefit the team with more budget."
---------------

The same can be also be said with rallying lar, genius. Whether it is the WRC, and other lesser rallying events different teams bring with them different resources lar.

So what's the problem ?

Unless a series is completely restricted by the rules and homologated to run the same equipment of identical specs like a true one-make series, you will still get varying degrees or budget, preparation and resources. So you're not really making any valid differentiation by singling out the MME. Make some sense lar.

"y u guys like those chicks?trying to impress them by backing them up??haha bull shit"
--------------------------
Thank you for showing everyone here what a total f*cktard you are. Keep it up.
----------------

"and yup u guys are right i wont tell u who i am, cause even if i did u wont know me "
-------------------

Yup, just as I thought. You're a chickenshit.......and a insignificant chicken-shit too.

You trap yourself into a corner by making high-handed off-color comments and then suggesting you are someone who is well-regarded in motorsport.

But when ask to reveal your identity, you cannot do so.

Option 1 :- Reveal your identity and end up facing constant scrutiny from your peers in motorsport. You stumble in any events, people will laugh their ass off at you.

Option 2 :- Not reveal i.d. Make big shot comments over the internet and skulk away like a rat. Very big of you.

Either option, no-win situation. This guy not very smart. Do you think Red Bull will sponsor a lackwit like you to represent their brand ?
S
  • S
    speed
  • Feb 1, 2010
aha, u are really persistent eh??
ur just manipulating what i said and elaborating it in ur own way when i said, as if those girl are really talented they shud be beating the crap of the guys entering..but sad that’s not the case they are only interested in finding pretty faces for publicity stunt” means if they open they open the rbr to public regardless of male or female they will sure beat the crap out of the guys so then they are talented..but the rbr are only open to women that the case..

[my 1st comment is that i said one thing that always be a question in my head is that y denying guys in this programme??just because to give female a chance in this sport??if they are really committed in finding A DRIVER it should be open to all, as if those girl are really talented they shud be beating the crap of the guys entering..but sad that’s not the case they are only interested in finding pretty faces for publicity stunt.sad ;( ]

that was my 1st comment than u guys said ooo im jealous oo that and this uh crap..the question is if they are really commited y did they exclude guys?? if they really want to benefit the motorsport as a whole they shud include guys right???

when i said mme benefit the big budget team u said, i said mme is not a true form of racing err...damn ur good at putar bulit stuff eh? i said u cant compare a big budget team wif a privateer am im not right? as a big budget team will have better tyre, better crew, better equipment and etc..even when they are strict to regulation..so to prove if they are really talented/competitve try an event that is much more on a level ground for example mss(did they entered?im not sure i dont think they have right?[correct me if im wrong]y not enter mms instead of mme?? is it to competitive?

Going into rallying yea ur right i am into it, but im also into circuit driving as i i love all sort of motorsport..and in rallying its not really the big budget team that will always win, as u can see it from mrc.

and yea myb i am a chicken shit stuff and all shit stuff u are saying i dont give a damn, at least ive said something not just accepting something, i didnt once said those gurls are just a waste of time, or they are looser im better or shit not once i said that(if by reading u think that i am saying im better than thats ur prob), if they are more than pretty face or not pretty proof it that's all in a an event where ppl cant deny that they are talented/and competitve, and i dont care if red bull are doing this for publcity and such thats their rights, i said plz do something that will benefit our motorsport if they dont than those involve just have to live with that..

and in what way that i said im a better driver than the rbr gurls?? and where did i said that im jealous and wanted the red bull to sponsor me??i didnt even said and ur just assuming, i asked them to sponsor someone who is really talented and can lift our motorsport regardless of sex or race, and an event that will benefit the sport as a whole.

and fvel y cant u just answer my simple question the 1st question without putar bulit- y denying guys in this programme? if they are really committed in finding talent, like the m.a.m programme finding future talent for f1 starting with go-cart?they dont state the rules only male kids can join did they ?that's an effort worth to be proud of.and plz give an answer different than this = thats their money their rights and im just jealous.
F
  • F
    FVel
  • Feb 1, 2010
Speed says:-
"ur just manipulating what i said and elaborating it in ur own way when i said, as if those girl are really talented they shud be beating the crap of the guys entering..but sad that’s not the case they are only interested in finding pretty faces for publicity stunt” means if they open they open the rbr to public regardless of male or female they will sure beat the crap out of the guys so then they are talented..but the rbr are only open to women that the case.."
-----------------------

LOL. You're a funny guy. That brought tears to my eyes LOL

I didn't manipluate anything you say lar. I just quoted your comments word for word, un-edited. Go back and read the quote. If you are stumbling all over your own speech and cannot say what you mean and don't mean what you say, it's not my fault right ?
--------------------------------

..so to prove if they are really talented/competitve try an event that is much more on a level ground for example mss
----------------

Nice speech. One question for you.

In the first place, why do they need to prove anything ?

Most ppl are just happy to even have the girls participating but it seems you're the only one here suggesting they need to prove something for the drive that is given to them....("beat the crap out of the guys")

Just answer me that one question, Speed.

Why...do....they...need...to...prove...anything....to....you ?

Is it your team ? Your money ? Your car ? Your race event ? Your racetrack? You sponsor them, ke ?

Whatever lah brother. You can say I persistent or putar bulit lar. Up to you lar.

If you mean something else, but cannot express yourself clearly that most ppl reading your comments here get a negative impression of you, then that's just down to your inability to communicate clearly. Right or not ?

And I already answered your simpleton question lar. You just didn't read. Janganlah tuduh 'putar bulit' if you choose to not read.

RB owes nothing to anyone to promote motorsport in the way you see fit. They want to open the positions to certain ppl or and spend the money on certain policies, whether for branding,or to promote females to enter motorpsort, or some other reason, tak terpulang kepada u to bitch about it lar.

Why do you think RB owe it to the male motorsport community to sponsor likewise ? Why all the sour grapes ?

If the girls got the drive, then be happy for your female counterparts lar.

And who knows sedikit, sedikit, jadi bukit....this could be a stepping stone for some of them to move to bigger, better things in motorsport. They deserve a chance as much as you think other ppl deserve theirs.

Hello friend, .....act like a gentleman lar.

Don't go around pouring cold water on everyone's else dream.
-------------------

..but sad that’s not the case they are only interested in finding pretty faces for publicity stunt.sad ;(
------------------------

Janganlah tuduh Red Bull sampai sendiri jadi macam 'Bull in a China Shop'
S
  • S
    speed
  • Feb 2, 2010
yea ur right the rbr dont need to prove anything than thats orait, they are not even using the tax payer money or my money right?? why should i be bother anyway about this right??ermm..i was wrong for arguing and u have shine a little light to me thx.

but than still what i see is that if red bull were really committed in developing motorsport in this country(although they didnt owe anything to the sport or community) their policy would be different. but than have it ur way i have mine ;>
B
  • B
    BabyGodzillaGTi-R
  • Feb 4, 2010
XsatuR vs RBR lol....
B