GT-RNewsNissan

Nissan Instructs Dealers To Reprogram GTR Launch Control

gtr_detail2

Even in its concept stage the Nissan GTR was the topic of many conversations and debates. One of the most talked about issue is the launch control which when used, fries Nissan’s sophisticated gearbox. Well, the GTR is in the news again and this time, Nissan is officially addressing the GTR’s gearbox failure by rolling out a new software program to mitigate the problem.

gtr_detail1

According to the dealer directive (below) and a subsequent report by InsideLine, Nissan has begun implementing a software change on around 50 GT-Rs awaiting dealer delivery, along with “vigorous encouragement” for current owners to bring their vehicles in for reprogramming. The onboard computer modification will supposedly offer “acceleration similar to that with the current launch control,” but will do so without disabling the Vehicle Dynamic Control (VDC). At launch, revs will be reduced from 4,500 rpm to somewhere between 3,000 and 3,500 rpm and the clutch engagement has been reprogrammed to limit driveline stress. And this isn’t just for American GT-Rs. All the vehicles sold from here on out, no matter the country, will use the revised programming. Read on below for the full directive passed onto dealers:

gtr_detail7

DEALER DIRECTIVE

Nissan has enhanced the Model Year (MY) 2009 GT-R by incorporating new MY 2010 programming that will optimize clutch engagement control for improved drivability. This upgrade also improves vehicle acceleration with the Vehicle Dynamic Control (VDC) ON/activated.

Nissan will provide this MY 2010 specification upgrade to MY 2009 GT-R owners at no additional cost. Nissan has already incorporated this programming into the GT-R vehicles in its U.S. inventory and will resume shipping of those vehicles to dealers. We will advise you soon on how to install this new program into all MY 2009 GT-Rs (see below).

The GT-R will continue to offer supercar characteristics of exceptional handling, maneuvering and overall driving experience. This upgrade provides the consumer improved drivability and enhanced acceleration performance with VDC ON (as required by the warranty). Standing acceleration capability with VDC ON (VDC-R mode) will improve compared to the original model year 2009 performance while such acceleration with VDC OFF will be moderated. Customers should be reminded to drive safely and obey all traffic laws. [Please note independent media reports of 0-60 drive times with VDC OFF (or what the media call “Launch Control”) on closed courses with professional drivers will likely increase after this change.]

The GT-R Owner’s Manual expressly warns against driving with the VDC OFF (except to free the vehicle when stuck in mud or snow) to avoid damage. Repeated acceleration launches with VDC OFF have resulted in some reported instances of damage to the transaxle. Repairs for damage caused by driving with VDC OFF are expressly excluded under the terms of the Nissan GT-R New Car Limited Warranty. Except when stuck, there is no reason to drive with VDC OFF.

This change was initially implemented with the start of MY 2010 GT-R production and has been completed for all 2009 GT-Rs still in NNA inventory… In a few weeks, you will receive the Technical Service Bulletin explaining how to implement this specification change for all remaining 2009 GT-Rs…

Source: AutoBlog

L
  • L
    LOL
  • Feb 2, 2009
rocket science
S
  • S
    S4TR14^TURB0
  • Feb 2, 2009
wow, with no additional cost
J
  • J
    JaY
  • Feb 2, 2009
no matter what, i still prefer the three legendary Kings.... R32, R33 & R34. Those cars were economical for the masses (well, abit upperclass masses laa), mostly mechanical (basically most parts of the car can be modified, and in the process, we can appreciate the engineering gone into the car) and when tuned properly, can outrun some supercars. This car on the otherhand is all 'Drive-By-Wire Thinggy' electronics, cost as much as some supercars (about RM650k... dun play-play) & as some say Un-Tuneable. Its like a supercar already, coz they even put a launch control in it so that lazy rich farks dun have to 'trouble' themselves by shifting gears... For me, its sad to see what the GTR has become. Hope the new Silvia SpecR (if there is one) would be something like the previous Skyline GTRs =)
F
  • F
    farizio
  • Feb 2, 2009
some supercars? most la..

and i think this GT-R is a progression man, a car way ahead of its time.. im not surprised in 10 years time all gearboxes will be replaced with dual clutch technology. even the R32 was way ahead of its time when it was launched.
Y
  • Y
    YYC
  • Feb 2, 2009
Better cars make lousier drivers.
A
  • A
    A1diablo
  • Feb 3, 2009
Jay,

Even the R32 was less 'mechanical' and more 'electronics'. It was very sophisticated. It had active torque control using electronic diff ,yaw sensors etc. Most supercars at the time stuck with the mechanial route.
S
  • S
    skazareth
  • Feb 3, 2009
its too late...already send back my GTR to Japan...
A
  • A
    aiwi
  • Feb 3, 2009
GTR IS THE BEST CAR IN THE WORLD GOD DAMN IT AND TO YOU JAY DONT BE SO JEALOUS OF PEOPLE WHO CAN AFFORD TO BUY THEM!!!!
J
  • J
    junbecks
  • Feb 3, 2009
aiwi
haha rilex ah. What I think jay was really trying to say is that he's the type that prefers to get his hands dirty and finds the satisfaction along with his trusted mechanics tuning the car themselves

the latest GTR is a rich mans toy, they tend not to have the time for trips to the workshop. just start and go.

so in a way nissan have built a car to complement their already impressive spectrum.
N
  • N
    netmatrix
  • Feb 3, 2009
I wonder why even bother putting additional 50K or more just to tune and upgrade an R32-4, rather than put up the money straight in a R35. Its fast enough to pick on most supercars. A lot of electronics for "R35 for dummies" kind of drivers.

The only obvious reason i can think of on why a person would not want to buy a R35 is because he can swipe a credit card for the upgrade parts for R32-4!

The GTR maye well be priced like a Porsche. But it doesn't look and go like a Porsche. In a good way that is.

If you are aiming to buy a supercar, why would you want to settle for R32-4? And Evo X & Subaru WRX is almost as much fun to tinker with than a GTR.
S
  • S
    skazareth
  • Feb 3, 2009
is it a crime creating a God-damn-fast beast?..No matter what u guys said bout R32..R33...R34...but the existence of R35 is a process called "improvement". And improvement DOES costs A LOT. if u dont have A LOT, stick to the old one...as simple as that. I adore an R33 n R34 (still, cant afford either) but the existence of R35 doesnt seems bad. How about R36 or R37 in d future, guess some one here would say "I prefer R35 rather than R37" . hehe... guys, world is moving forward, so be it. just go on with our so-called "taste" with S30Z or haciruku while those manufacturer busy with improvement. :p
N
  • N
    namklaw
  • Feb 3, 2009
well,everyone hd their own mind... its all about our status to own something.. if u afford,why not buy one n show off....haha.. or run away from d gov taxes... earn it n waste its.. will b no for yesterday n yes for today n tomorrow... njoy ur life man!
V
  • V
    vincent
  • Feb 4, 2009
Good 2 hear that Nissan is addressing this problem n not totally closing off the launch control switch.
V