ConceptNews

Revealed: CHEAP Sequential Twin-Clutch Gearbox

dual2 It’s a known fact that Sequential Twin Clutch Gearbox is the fastest and most advanced gearbox design available currently. However, they are only offered to ‘performance’ and premium cars such as GTR’s Twin Clutch Transmission, Porsche’s PDK (Porsche Doppel Kupplungen), Volkswagen’s DSG (Direct Shift Gearbox), BMW’s DCT (Dual Clutch Transmission) or the Lancer Evo X’s SST (Sports Shift Transmission), since they are expensive to engineer and produce.

audi-7-speed-direct-shift-gearbox-lg

Besides BorgWarner for VW and Getrag for BWW, a British based Ricardo which produced the gearbox for the Bugatti Veyron has come up with a much cheaper solution to double-clutch automated manual transmission systems. Ricardo has developed an electromechanical linear actuator that can be fitted in place of separate clutch and gear actuator units.

This reduces the number of components needed and thus lowers weight as well as complexity, further aiding improvements in fuel consumption and emissions. It is suitable for fitting in low cost city cars and superminis as well as larger vehicles such as lorries and off-roaders.

Ricardo says that the technology is superquick and responsive which is eight times faster than a current production hydraulic valve actuated system. According to the company, fuel consumption will also be improved by 5%.

Can imagine our national cars fitting this? Long-shot, but a possible one..

P
  • P
    pandaB
  • Aug 3, 2008
im sure its possible IF it afordable enuff lah... if they can do turbo-diesel engines, turbo-ed campros, CPS-ed capros...plus retune the AMT to suite our weather... so its just a matter of time la. :)
W
  • W
    wenshen
  • Aug 4, 2008
but the illustration for the sequential gearbox is the VW one rite? have u got the ricardo one?
A
  • A
  • Aug 4, 2008
the first cross-section picture is m-DCT of bmw.. the second is audi's / vw.. You are right!

I couldn't find a worthwhile picture of the new Ricardo sequential gbox.. will update if i do so..
N
  • N
    netmatrix
  • Aug 4, 2008
Look at top gear gearbox types last month July. What we have here is a bunch of CVT trannys. Honda City, Mitsu Lancer GT, any more?
W
Woah this weblog is excellent i really like studying your articles. Stay up the great work! You recognize, lots of individuals are searching around for this info, you could help them greatly.
G
  • G
  • Aug 7, 2014
Where do they sell these gearbox I want to buy one but can't find their website?
G