News

Government May Introduce Off-Peak Toll Charges for LDP

ldp

Folks that live along the stretch of the Lebuhraya Damansara Puchong (LDP) will soon have a lesser burden to bear, just as long as they stay home during peak hours. After months of pleading, the government is now answering by introducing a on-peak;off-peak toll rates , according to Works Minister, Datuk Mohd Zin Mohamed.

Datuk Mohd Zin says that the lower off-peak toll rates may encourage motorists to travel during off-peak periods, spreading out the traffic load of the highway across more time periods. You could either wake up earlier and save on the toll charges on the way to work, or leave the office later to save on the toll charges on the way home, or you could wake up earlier and leave the office later and save on toll charges on both ways. Another solution would be to “realign the highway”, which would involve expensive land acquisitions and construction costs, a few years, and countless hours of being stuck in traffic jams while its being built.

The Works Minister also revealed that the government has paid a total of over 630 million ringgit so far since the year 1999 in toll subsidies for the LDP, despite it being such a traffic nightmare.

Source: PaulTan

X
  • X
    xenith
  • May 26, 2008
I just notice zth works together with paul tan.
P
  • P
    pandaB
  • May 26, 2008
intresting idea...lets hope it'll be helpful. :")
N
  • N
    nafiiio
  • May 26, 2008
Haha.. yes .. i only go out at nite ...
S
  • S
    szekeiemme
  • May 26, 2008
rubbish! y dont just lower the price straight away since de highway condition n design r flaws... so called highway but.. move like kampung road.. jam here jam there.. holes here nthere..
A
  • A
    akira
  • May 27, 2008
There toll rm1.60 too expensive ......!!
J
  • J
    jeffbboyz
  • May 27, 2008
good idea...might prove useful to lesser the traffic jam...but i doubt it will...maybe will improve abit la....

morning jam...afternoon jam...evening jam...night also jam....still noob about why all these jam can happen..slow driver ? too careful driver ? too much LDP road user ??
S
  • S
    szekeiemme
  • May 27, 2008
too much LDP user n only 3 lanes? wtF? we pay to waste petrol because of the jam n waste RM1.60 per way means RM3.20 daily..
N
  • N
    nafiiio
  • May 28, 2008
So peak hour start when?? 7 am ?? If the road user want to enjoy cruising at low rates then must go out b4 that time and for those who wake up late pay more and dun worry .. no traffic jam.. (hopefully)
C
  • C
    Crazy Biscut
  • May 28, 2008
I think it will help abit..but there will still be traffic jams, life in the city deal with it.
S
  • S
    szekeiemme
  • May 28, 2008
tell de gov to tell my boss can start work late ah?
J
  • J
    JINEIL2EN
  • Jun 2, 2008
mayb soon they will announce off peak keep it rm1.60, peak hour rm2.60....hahahaha...
J