Worth Getting an Altezza Now?

thespecialist

Jun 17, 2010
Hi Guys,

I'm planning on getting a new car coz my mitsu keeps on dying on me. Just got broken into and they took my RSM..... :(

So as i was shopping for new cars, (Auto transmission cars coz my gf wants to drive it), i remembered the Toyota Altezza as one of my favs. And when i looked at the price it was within 70 to 80k which was within my price range. But when i looked at how old it was, i almost flipped.

My girl wants to get new car.... ie: the Vios......

I want a car which can run around anywhere with ease and has little problem. But seeing that the car is so old, i would believe that the problems are big with the car. Most cars are 2000 and 2001 make and thats 10 yrs old already. (Sorry for writing karangan)

So... Altezza experts, any suggestions? Better to get an Altezza or Vios? What about FC? Is it super to own an Altezza? well i think it would be awesome to own one. But at what expense?

Hope you all can enlighten me

Cheers

Kels. Beli, jangan tak beli!

Time to retire the gurgling orange monster and get a toyoda! Look at it this way, the Altezza will be definitely newer than your current car. Furthermore the Altezza is not forced-induced (I think) hence less problems from overboosting and hopefully better FC.

mines998

Dec 1, 2010
Still depend what owner prefer to...
Infact some older car is more market value than new car.
Eg.
EG6
Cefiro
AE86
Personally I would take Altezza. I would quote car like a women if you like go and tackle it why need to think so much?

EK9 also not bad :top:

AE111_SEG

May 18, 2005
Putra Heights

davidgm16

Dec 20, 2005
buy or not buy altezza.. or buy or not buy an used car, i'd say it depend how u can tolerant when u come to problem fixing/troubleshooting for the old car. how much time of your time would you willing to spend for the car? would you easily get frustrated when you get a problem not fixing by visiting the workshop many times?
I'm not saying new car is totally problem free in this sense, but as common old car might need to fix more often than a new car.
so about altezza, i could say this is a 100% a great car. i really enjoy my time while i'm owning it.

think wisely.. :)

DareDan

Nov 12, 2007
just find the car test drive than think later....80k budget there is plenty of cars to choose....for new car you can have a look at the Kia Forte with 6 speed and have 1.6 and 2.0 and it also have paddle shifters worth looking at it.

wfhan

Jan 9, 2004
selangor
HAHA long time no add POISON!!

Get an altezza then put 1JZ-gte then you have comfort and power!!!:evil::evil:

....and a very solid body/chassis to boot!!!
yeah baby!!! i LIKE!

someone asked me a question when i first got my tezza. "Why you buy 10 years old car? with 80 grand, you can get a new car like VIOS.". I answered, "i need 10 seconds car."
fuh!... NOW this is will be my answer when ppl ask me questions like this
1. "is this a Honda?",
2. "is this a modified Civic?"
3. "is this a modify waja?"

i'd say "NO... this is a 10 second car! :thefinger:"

But if you want the car to be problem free, keep the stock 3S-GE and drive. As simple as that. Don't mod, don't put any 1JZ or 2JZ or 3JZ or 1ZZ or ..... in it.
any engine, stock/mod/transplanted, will be problem free if it has been well taken care of.
3sge stock is good, however seeing that altezza chassis can handles more than what the stock can give, dropping a remarkably rock solid 1JZ in there i think is still a bang for bucks when comes to power upgrade.
personally, i'd love one with a 2JZ or even a 1UZ v8 in it!!...:thefinger:

---------- Post added at 01:42 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 01:40 AM ----------

Davidgm16,
u should hv transplanted to G5 or 1JZ and save all the hassles last time.. :P
:thefinger:

bushidofang

'(00) Lurker
Jun 1, 2006
Anywhere
If you like straight line speed then yes, 1JZ. :P Personally I prefer the 3S-GE engine. Why remove the heart of an iconic car? It's also known for it's BEAMS engine. heehee.

AE111_SEG

May 18, 2005
Putra Heights
got another thread in asking about altezza vs Inspire 1.8 Manual vs Civic..
Looks like going to get more of these...:biggrin:

doritezza

Jul 19, 2008
Boss, can share the link :biggrin: ?

wfhan

Jan 9, 2004
selangor
If you like straight line speed then yes, 1JZ. :P Personally I prefer the 3S-GE engine. Why remove the heart of an iconic car? It's also known for it's BEAMS engine. heehee.
just a few options for owner that hunger for performance upgrade.

u mean this one ?
http://www.zerotohundred.com/newfor...-07-civic-or-00-altezza-which-one-better.html

kUmUcHaI 11/1

Feb 28, 2010
JB - KL
i have a 9 yrs euro r :)
before that i own a EK4 12yrs.
they all nice car
durable and fast.

---------- Post added at 09:59 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 09:56 PM ----------

just buy one and try......never buy never know la......
feel the speed then you will know
take care the car nicely then it will be ok

sori if this topic been asked b4 :smile:

which polish material will perform better... dunno which one to purchase when in store le....