What MTB to get with a budget of RM1,500

turbolover

1,000 RPM
Nov 17, 2005
Hi all. I'm thinking of getting a Mountain Bike. I'm a beginner of course. Can ride a bike but that's mostly what I know about bikes. Asking in other forums proved to be futile as they are kind of snobbish and think my RM1,500 is enough only to buy a kid's bicycle. I believe everyone have their own budget and not that I can't afford but it's pointless to spent RM5,000+ on a hobby which I am new at.
So can I get a recommendation of what MTB to get with my budget? On my list are a few I will list below based on the material of the frame which I think is passable and components used in the assembly. I hope some of you can advise me based on your experience of owning these bikes or has friends that used them.
Raleigh Elite pro-I like the shape of the frame and components are not too cheapo.
Rock Machine Thunder 70-US brand but made in China. Any idea about this brand? Not popular though.
XDS zer0 38-Recommended by an online bike shop.
Polygon-Recommended by a friend of mine(within my budget)
Corratec-Went to a shop and the sales rep recommended me that. Over my budget. Cheapest also RM2,200.
Thank you:adore:

feezdya

1,500 RPM
Aug 3, 2006
Pee Jay
www.takaful-ikhlas.com.my
consider this..proton MTB with carbon fiber frame..they are selling below 1k now..im using kona..so far no comment! best giler hehe

turbolover

1,000 RPM
Nov 17, 2005
Are you referring to the T-bolt? Full suspension right? Since it was manufactured earlier not sure the maintenance for it will be more.
Oh I just saw that they have another model. T-blaze. But not familiar with the components used.

Last edited:

Supra_Fanatics

Beyond 20,000 RPM!
Sep 17, 2008
My friend recently bought one Raleigh Bike but not sure what model.
MTB, not bad actually. But the seat is a bit hard, butt hurts. :biggrin:

Maybe he might see this post and tell u about it hehe!

turbolover

1,000 RPM
Nov 17, 2005