waja mivec problem

mojotudam

Mar 3, 2004
hi all, i recently got a waja and transplanted a mivec tiptronic engine. mileage was around 80k+. no mods whatsoever, still using stock waja exhaust piping.
the problem is i can't seem to get the mivec 'feeling'. so i decided to go for a dyno test to see how many horses could i get.
the results are very disturbing i would say. on wheel i only managed to get 79hp! how can this be? i also can't hear the the famous mivec 'opening' sound. anybody can help me rectify this problem???:hmmmm:

mengz

Jan 15, 2005
my waja auto with street cam has 94HP on wheel.

bro, ur wirings and ecu using mivec's? i think ur mivec not engaging.

dreamsquall

Aug 9, 2007
u got piggy back for ur ecu or not
if not how the mivec valve to open?
if didnt open, it's just a dohc engine but with lower hp than a normal dohc

mengz

Jan 15, 2005
u got piggy back for ur ecu or not
if not how the mivec valve to open?
if didnt open, it's just a dohc engine but with lower hp than a normal dohc
if he is using the original mivec ecu etc. he doesn't need a piggyback for the mivec to engage.

IMHO, the mivec did not engage thats why the power is so low. because the low duration cam profile is good for low to mid range. thats why the power is even lower than normal 1.6 DOHC engines.

mojotudam

Mar 3, 2004
any of u guys know any good mivec mechs around subang? i know a bit on why mivecs don't engage theoretically but i prefer to let expert hands handle my machine

I3en_I3en

Mar 14, 2005
YOKOHAMA
cref-ms.jp
79whp?how the dyno guy say o?
u changed to fto engine how long ago?
ask the guy who install the engine check for u lor...
u using waja meter or fto 1?
coz i know vtec nid speed meter signal to open...
if u using waja meter i think is the wiring probelm...
correct me if i say wrong...

mojotudam

Mar 3, 2004
79whp?how the dyno guy say o?
u changed to fto engine how long ago?
ask the guy who install the engine check for u lor...
u using waja meter or fto 1?
coz i know vtec nid speed meter signal to open...
if u using waja meter i think is the wiring probelm...
correct me if i say wrong...
sorry, i forgot to mention my engine is a 1.6 from lancer ck. i install everything including the meters n dashboard

escortburuk

Feb 15, 2005
Gombak
Check your oil pressure. 2nd gen MIVEC engine (CK4 model) has this problem. Check your oil sump for any dents. A dented oil sump could affect the overall oil pressure of the engine. Not enough pressure = no MIVEC

Bump: Check your oil pressure. 2nd gen MIVEC engine (CK4 model) has this problem. Check your oil sump for any dents. A dented oil sump could affect the overall oil pressure of the engine. Not enough pressure = no MIVEC

AD_EG

Apr 5, 2009
bro this thread nearly 2 years :biggrin:

-sky-

Apr 2, 2006
bro this thread nearly 2 years :biggrin:
i nearly want to reply also and ask about the rpm when the topic starter did the dyno but it is a good info as i was also using the same engine and gear box.

Low oil pressure = no mivec.... is it true?

May 13, 2013
Any Sifu can help....???
I am newbie here...
I bought a second hand Waja with CJ4A Mivec Tiptronic a month back...
Engine just transplanted this year February 2013....

Innitially, engine did not run smooth. Then send to a mechanic to check.. wiring ok... but found sensor at the Throtthle Body damage...
the mechanic change to a bigger intake throthle body....

Engine run smooth then but it really got no power... sluggish.....worse than a original waja 1.6 engine.
Mivec also not engage..
Fuel consumption very high... driving at 90km/hr to 110km/hr can only get 1km = RM0.22 (Now 1 litre Ron95 = RM 1.90) this is high way driving... no high rev..
If city driving is around 1km = RM 0.30.......

No power and high fc..... help.......

-sky-

Apr 2, 2006
Bro,

Can share your calculation for the statement above?

"Fuel consumption very high... driving at 90km/hr to 110km/hr can only get 1km = RM0.22"

How do you get the RM0.22?

May 13, 2013
Bro Sky,

Sorry for the late reply.

My calculation is as below:
After I refuel Full Tank, I will reset my meter to 0.
After driving for certain distance ( example: 250km), then refuel to Full Tank again, cost me RM55.

Then Calculation will base on RM55 / 250km = RM0.22 per km.

Now even worst, cost me around RM 0.28 per km with new petrol price.....

Amazingly, as you can see in the pictures after the jump, the Lada came out through the wall without any serious damages. We don’t know if the Russian driver was hurt, but if anything else, he must have lost a few years of his life the moment he saw that the crash was inevitable.

What if, Proton vs Concrete Wall...???