VR4 Engine Differance

tatatititututoto

Nov 20, 2004
hey guys, i dunno which forum to ask this buy i think i'll ask it under "forced induction...

here goes the question.
from what i gather, there are 3types of forced inducted VR4 engines rite,
the VR4 220 hp
the VR4 220 hp and
the VR4 RS 240 hp edition rite?

i would like to know, what are the differance between the 3 engines other than the horsepower rating and the ECU type. What other noticible differance, any physical differance?

how do i tell the differance between the 200, 220 and 240 RS engines?

are the blocks, pistons, intake manifold, trottle and injectors the same?

thanks to everybody ahead of time.

cobra_motor

May 18, 2005
Subang
cobramotor.fotopages.com
cant really remember but here are a few:

vr4 rs 240hp (normally called vr4 evo or vr4 rs)

intercooler big,
injector 510cc (yellow),
turbo twin blade td05h (16G)(same as evo1-2),evo3-big 16g
ecu 5808,
internal parts lighten,
intercooler piping big,
no speed cut/rev cut,
intake manifold=eci multi,
throttle body=64mm (same as evo1-3)
year 92,
last version of vr4 before development of evo1 in year 92

vr4 220hp
intercooler small
turbo single blade td05h (13B),
intercooler piping small but bigger than vr4 200hp,
injector 450cc (blue),
got speed cut/rev cut (but can remove)
intake manifold=cyclone
ecu code=cant remember
throttle body=62mm
year 90-91

vr4 200
intercooler small
turbo single blade tdo5h (13B)
injector 450cc (blue),
got speed cut/rev cut,
ecu code=cant remeber
throttle body=62mm
intake manifold=cyclone
year 89-90

most people would go for vr4 evo coz 240hp. but if u wanna modify ur vr4 to go even higher than evo3 with limited budget, buy the vr4 200hp and do these:

1)evo3 head
2)evo3 intake manifold or mirage intake manifold
3)evo3 wiring
4)evo3 ecu
5)block vr4
6)metal gasket
7)modify 16g turbo to 20g
8)ceramic coat ur piston/ use 1jz or sr20 piston

reason for hybrid is becoz evo3 head is light and has bigger inlet and outlet but evo 3 engine cant boost very high due to thin layer of block. vr4 engine can boost high coz thick layer of block but problem with vr4 that its internal parts are heavy.

thats why, mix both. this is the cheapest method la. if u have more budget, go for mines ecu, haltech management.lagi cun. and go for garret turbo. not forgetting tial wastegate if u are boosting more than 1.2 bar. remember to have boost controller also.cheap ones would be the tulang ikan type or the dial type. of course u can go for digital ones if u have money.

anything else, just consult cobra motorsports. hybrid modification is not a problem if u know what u are doing. if not, stay standard dah lor..

A MESSAGE FROM COBRA MOTORSPORTS SDN BHD

amin 012-9369249
fido 012-2976778
cobra 03-80684797

tatatititututoto said:
hey guys, i dunno which forum to ask this buy i think i'll ask it under "forced induction...

here goes the question.
from what i gather, there are 3types of forced inducted VR4 engines rite,
the VR4 220 hp
the VR4 220 hp and
the VR4 RS 240 hp edition rite?

i would like to know, what are the differance between the 3 engines other than the horsepower rating and the ECU type. What other noticible differance, any physical differance?

how do i tell the differance between the 200, 220 and 240 RS engines?

are the blocks, pistons, intake manifold, trottle and injectors the same?

thanks to everybody ahead of time.

khoyos

Nov 23, 2003
even if u buy vr4 cyclone, sooner or later u will upgrade to 510cc injectors, 16g turbo (or even bigger) ,microtech, metal gasket, big ass intercooler and so on.

so who cares whether it is vr4 cyclone or vr4 eci multi...

only if u buy vr4 eci multi in the first place, u dun have to change anything other than the engine management. just enjoy the thrust of the 16g turbo.

...before u get bored with the power, and go for even bigger of everything...

jinkl-

Klang
cobra :
vr4rs 510cc injectors like evo's
and td05 16g small , e3 16g big

vr4rs head has higher cam profile than the cyclones

tatatititututoto

Nov 20, 2004
but what is the diff between the eci-multi and cyclones? no diff rite? but basically both the blocks & pistons are the same rite? only thing diff is the head, turbine @ siput, injector and I/c (not forgetting the ecu). so basically the vr4rs is just like the 200hp ver only with minimal diff rite?

jinkl

May 22, 2004
yeah thts the only diffrence
but i dont take it as ONLY :)
cos u WILL upgrade ur injectors
u WILL upgrade ur turbine
u WILL change INTERCOOLER
u WILL look for evo MAF
u WILL look for evo HEAD
u WILL ..... u WILL hehehhehehehhehe

lekalo

Mar 4, 2004
TTDI
muahahahhaha! agreeeeees with the jin! Also agreeeeees with ular tedung motospot! Ohh.. VR4RS ECI Multi the cam.cover got 3diamond logo and the wording MITSUBISHI as well. THe others only have MITSUBISHI.. correct ka?
Speaking of the intake manifold, everyone will dump the ECI Multi one, favouring the 4G61's Intake Manifold due to the shorter passage.... :D

jinkl

May 22, 2004
lekalo : u passed the passage redi hehehe , now i heard to change ur road already
wht is the new vehicle

lekalo

Mar 4, 2004
TTDI
jinkl said:
lekalo : u passed the passage redi hehehe , now i heard to change ur road already
wht is the new vehicle
Long story. I change to the NA path my fren. The vehicle is the same la... :( no money to buy new car. Money wasted on this and that. What to do? Unfortunate it is for ill-luck to beset someone.

rainman2

Nov 20, 2003
Kajang
emmm,
just wondering what so great about evo head compare to vr4. as far i know vr4 has bigger inlet compare to evo. the cams might be different but in term of head vr4 is better.

jinkl-

Klang
vr4 n evo hmm
vr4 lower compression
evo higher compression
vr4 heavy
evo lighter internals
vr4 stand the beating
evo stock itself geng
vr4 16g small
evo3 16g big
vr4 head flow big
evo cam bigger profile
vr4 intercooler smaller
evo intercooler taller
vr4 maf n wiring errrr
evo maf higher capability
vr4 smaller final drive
evo bigger final drive sum lsd

I'm looking code-alarm model no - PC 7600 diagram or installion programing manual, onyone know where can i find a dealer in KL?