VQ20DE A32 to A33

Jason_10

Jun 2, 2009
I just acquired an A33 Cefiro Elite 2.0. But the engine is shot, valves are bent. Will the head from a VQ20DE engine from the A32 fit in A33's VQ20 Engine? I can see the intake is different. I want to use my original plastic intake. Need reply asap before I purchase the A32 VQ20 engine tomorrow.

chteo

Dec 9, 2010
Subang
i know there are minor differences but can't give details.

can't you find A33's engine?

---------- Post added at 11:34 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 11:15 PM ----------

another possibility is to find VQ25DD, a much better choice

Jason_10

Jun 2, 2009
VQ20 from an A32 is easier to find here in Manila. If the head from an A32 VQ20 will fit, that would solve my problem as I have a friend who has a spare VQ20 from his A32.

I am also considering an engine swap for less headaches. Will a VQ25DD with ECU fit? What else need to be modified?

chteo

Dec 9, 2010
Subang
VQ25DD is meant for A33, so it'll fit in nicely, but better if you can find the half-cut to get the wire harness, fuel rails, and the rest of the items

Jason_10

Jun 2, 2009
I might have problems sourcing out engine parts in the future since the vq25dd was never released in our country.

Back to my question, will the VQ20 head from the A32 fit the VQ20 from the A33? My last resort would be a JDM VQ20 from an A33.

Jason_10

Jun 2, 2009
UPDATE:
I called up the Chief Technical of Nissan in our area and told me that the head of the VQ20 A32 is different from the VQ20 of the A33. The oil galleries are different. No choice but to reuse the head and replace the valve/valve seals.

Jason_10

Jun 2, 2009
After the engine repair (outside dealership), it was not running well. Brought it at the dealership for diagnosis, engine has lost compression, engine shaking.

Had no choice but to have an engine swap from chop shop. Car is running well now.

Lesson learned: not good to restore a VQ engine once its shot.

Anyone know if I can fit a meter from a kancil 850cc with a tachometer into my 660cc 1995?

I don't know if the connectors/sensors are built in or not. My model is very very very basic...it has enough stuff to move the car i think :P (talk about weight reduction!)

Anyway, thanks to anyone able to provide this info =))