The Business or Activity of Car “Sambung Bayar”

nizan1979

May 24, 2008
“Sambung Bayar” is actually unlawful and if convicted can be fine up to RM25,000 or 3 years jail or both. You have no right to “transfer” or “sambung bayar” a person’s bank loan facility to another person.

Act 212, 36A. Any owner, dealer, agent or person acting on behalf of the owner who collects any payment in respect of a hire-purchase agreement other than a payment listed in the Second Schedule or a payment permitted under this Act shall be guilty of an offence under this Act.

36B. Any person not being an owner, dealer, agent or person acting on behalf of the owner who collects any payment from a hirer in respect of a hire-purchase agreement shall be guilty of an offence under this Act.

38. Every person who, by the disposal or sale of any goods comprised in a hire-purchase agreement, or by the removal of the goods, or by any other means, defrauds or attempts to defraud the owner shall be guilty of an offence under this Act and shall, on conviction, be liable to a fine not exceeding twenty five thousand ringgit or to imprisonment for a term not exceeding three years or to both.

It is also unlawful for any person, dealer, agent or a company to receive, take or accept any kind of deposits without a valid license – Act 1989: Section 25(1). It is also unlawful for any person, dealer, agent or a company to advertise the illegal taking of deposits – Act 1989: Section 27(A).

I urge the public not to engage in any kind of “Sambung Bayar” as whatever agreement you have does not comply to the laws of Malaysia and may not be applicable if thing gets messy which requires Court proceedings.

Typical Car Dealer Syndicate Modus Operandi:

1. Dealer will offer to buy at market price (which is unusual as legitimate dealer will always buy below market price) and mentioned he already has interested buyer. Dealer also promised to pay full settlement to the bank within 2 to 4 weeks and will inform the bank by the next business day.

2. Dealer will ask you to sign an agreement, of which there is no clause whatsoever about full loan balance settlement. Key clause would be that Dealer will (a) continue to pay monthly installment to the bank, (b) Dealer will be responsible on traffic summons, any police case and etc after date of agreement, (c) that you will agree to sign release letter and etc…

3. There may be another agreement that the Dealer would ask you to sign. This agreement states that you have given your car to the Dealer with “Open Heart” or “Rela Hati” and that this car has no criminal records and such. On Dealer’s behalf he will only sign the first agreement. The Dealer will not sign the second agreement as this agreement’s signature block is reserved to the “Prospective Buyer” or “Prospective Penyambung Bayar”.

4. It would normally takes as quick as 2 weeks to as late as one year to find a “Prospective Buyer” or “Penyambung Bayar”. This is when the issue will start when Dealer never really called the bank as he has promised to inform that he will pay the full settlement. If Dealer cannot find any “Penyambung Bayar”, he will not pay the bank as this would be considered as losses. The Dealer will also not pay the full settlement as “verbally” promised.

5. When your bank loan is in default for more than 2 months and 21 days, you will get the notice of repossession from the bank. The bank may also sue you since you have entered into an agreement without the knowledge of the bank.

6. Even if the Dealer manages to find “Penyambung Bayar”, the dealer would normally asked for a sum of deposits as credit assurance in case “Penyambung Bayar” failed to continue to serve the bank loan. Most “Penyambung Bayar” would go for this kind of scheme as they have been blacklisted or they already have high commitments and no longer able to take anymore loan and most of the time, they will only last from as quick as one month to only 2 years.

7. To make matters worst, the Dealer most of the time will walk away with a hefty amount of deposits. The victims in the end will still be you and the “Penyambung Bayar”.

The Business or Activity of Car “Sambung Bayar” «

jimmyae101

Dec 7, 2005
medan indonesia
Can we pay installment in other ppl name and drive other ppl name car...how if after full pay,owner ask back the car...?better follow rule ,no one above the law in malaysia

huakenny

LB Performance
Feb 24, 2005
Kota Kinabalu
Can we pay installment in other ppl name and drive other ppl name car...how if after full pay,owner ask back the car...?better follow rule ,no one above the law in malaysia
normally these ppl sambung bayar drive the car few months....remove all the good things, replace the bad things in... abuse the car kawkaw

at last throw back to real owner saying dun wan edi....so this is the Risk...

D7zul

Feb 24, 2011
Don't ever let ur car to be sambung bayar..

CONFIRM that person won't pay..

& u'll get blacklisted..

they want to sambung bayar becoz they already blacklisted..

and they wanna spread the disease..

Gudluck :burnout:

EvolutionZ

Aug 3, 2007
most of these ppl who wanna sambung bayar are those blacklisted so unable to get loan but need a car. they been taken advantage by paying upfront usually starts from rm5k to sometimes rm20k before handing the car over. it serve as processing fee or so...then they need to pay installment every month.

the worst is, e.g a car worth rm30k, loan outstanding still have rm38k and the sambung bayar customer paid upfront rm5k, so he is paying rm43k for a rm30k and happily driving the car around without knowing that it slowly burning his pocket deeply. not knowing the car usually already have 2 months outstanding never paid and so...then suddenly kena tarik or when updating account, need to pay another 2 months installment more if he wanna use the car cos rm5k is not refundable...

then when wear n tear took place (usually sambung bayar cars are in bad condition, thats why the owner wanna sell and resort in selling to unscrulptuous buyer due to high outstanding loan), need to change this change that (tires, timing belt, clutch, air cond compressor, suspension, drive shaft etc etc ) ...they might as well return it to the person who offer him sambung bayar or worst, just abandon it since no paper agreement.

so pls ensure u guys sell to someone u know and not those under the tree or under an umbrella used car...they are usually brokers! no fix address so u cant find them if they shut their phone! u be cautious then u live longer n happier!

megancheung

Apr 11, 2012
Very good advice and article.
Unfortunately due to the high car prices in Msia, this crime is very rampant and the authorities are looking the other way..

EvolutionZ

Aug 3, 2007
due to high loan defaulter, blacklisted and so on....consumer who really need a car will sought after "sambung bayar" scheme and as always...if there is no demand, it will be no supply...so lets hope ZtoH forummers who read this don fall into this ..

Hi, my company is doing a car research on 25th-26th Aug in Klang Valley on current CABRIOLET, COUPE, ROADSTER owner, we are targeting new car owner of

MAZDA MX5 (Car owner since year 2008 till present)

(Car owner since August 2009 till present)
PEUGEOT RCZ COUPE
VOLKSWAGEN SCIROCCO
VOLKSWAGEN EOS CC
AUDI TT
MINI (all versions except CLUBMAN)
PEUGEOT 308CC
RENAULT MEGANE CABRIO COUPE
SUBARU WRX STI
NISSAN GT-R
NISSAN SKYLINE...