Test Drove the NEW e90

eddie

test drove the new e90 today.....320i

my verdict.....a mediorce car.....sad story for bmw enthuasiast....

car dashboard no longer feels sporty....no thanks to chris bangle

car does not feel spacious....not as per claimed

just hate the steering wheel....buttons looks cheap, china plastics....

handling was bad....suspension setup looses to the e46 anyday.....

haih....one word....DISSAPOINTMENT........ :(

so looks like i will stick to the e46....

did i mention, heavyly over priced for the build quality..... :(

my verdict....7/10 (e90) 320i

old e46....8.5/10 (e46) 320i

for those looking to buy....keep ur $ for something else........

acbc

Jan 9, 2004
KD
U mean the 120i is it?

Yeah... read about the poor quality finishing in a local magazine.

Scuderia

Jul 19, 2004
I was told for the Malaysian market the units they bringing in will be without I-DRIVE too. So the units for test drive are not the units you get

Possibly to ensure less problematic and lower price.

cchoi

Jan 5, 2005
BMW is always overprice in MY, not my cup of tea. We are not getting the value for the $$$ we paid. Good luck to those we opt for the new model. At that price, u can get lots of better performance car like Volvo, Saab, Subaru, etc

cheers.....

acbc

Jan 9, 2004
KD
That's old Beemers are still value for money... I don't mind buying an old E30 or E38 and soup it up with turbo. Refer to my BMW M30 Turbo Engine thread.

Planning this baby for my soon-to-be E32. If only someone can confirm it will fit into RHD E32 since the engine is from a LHD model.

ongteckweng

Jul 15, 2004
acbc said:
That's old Beemers are still value for money... I don't mind buying an old E30 or E38 and soup it up with turbo. Refer to my BMW E30 Turbo Engine thread.

Planning this baby for my soon-to-be E32. If only someone can confirm it will fit into RHD E32 since the engine is from a LHD model.
i would prefer an ori e30 with ori BMW engine...
a turbo or japanese engine in a BMW??! NO WAY...

eddie

i test drove the new 3 series....aka e90....

lowyah........... :D

the finishing quality is bad....i nearly accidentally broke the seat lever....

case of cheap plastics......

RM 270k sumore no electric seats.......altis oso got...... :D

Scuderia

Jul 19, 2004
With so many Environmental Bills passed in recent years. i.e

1) car parts need to be eg 60%-70% recyclable

2) more fuel efficient ( lighter cars using lighter materials is the best way for fuel efficiency )

Materials chose will not feel as solid as before anymore .... the quality feel factor suffers as a result. Just like the days of our father's car... solid like a tank but oil guzzler.

People use to complain about Japanese cars then. Looking retrospective, Japanese were actually way ahead in making fuel efficient and light cars . esp Toyota. Took some time before they realise that fuel prices will keep going up. Germans are now using the same plasticky materials to make their cars lighter - but with not so good result, yet.

Thats why some says certain Toyota models are better than German cars now.

The E46 quality seems good after 5 years on the road. I have yet to see and feel the E90 - hopefully interior not like the new 5 series. Knock on the interior door panels and dashboard you hear ......hollowness...... and the Steering feels like holding on to hard plastic. You can't even change direction of the aircon blower without the I-Drive... tricky at high speed. Somehow I get a feeling owners of new 5 series are taken in by the car's exterior muscular look and not on its finishing quality.

Merc suffers worst ... the latest news that Daimler Chrysler shareholders meeting was questioning its management on their poor quality control and bad investment into SMART.

So Proton is not that bad after alll... OPPPS i said it!

acbc

Jan 9, 2004
KD
There is an original turbo engine for BMW... again pls refer to my thread as mentioned earlier.

I too hate non-ori stuff on BMWs or so-called hybrids.

eddie

scuderia,

i think you are spot on...efforts to reduce weight has cost them..... :(

sigh....and i was looking forward to th e90......

narx

aiyo..
i guess a lot of people will be disappointed....

well like some ppl say,
ur paying for the badge...

eddie,
stick with e46 ler... better.. :D

eddie

narx said:
aiyo..
i guess a lot of people will be disappointed....

well like some ppl say,
ur paying for the badge...

eddie,
stick with e46 ler... better.. :D
yup, i am sticking...... :)

good luck looking for the makan place.... ;)

faxsmoulder

Jan 8, 2004
Seremban
www.alexsitan.com
oops.. why u all say lousy la. i dunno how lousy it would b as u say here but my mom juz make booking for that car last 2 week d. can;t wait go back 2 c how is the real car. they got it good price cuz they buy wit coporate price.

I feel that my engine losing some powers.....

The symptoms are...

- Bit dull and difficult to rev from RPM at 4-7k
- Running at 0.6 bar only.... and sometimes it seemed bit
dull to reach 0.6 but 0.5 on uphill...
- Less G-force.... after 4th gear... no G-force at all...

Any idea about this? or have any similar problems before??

Feel quite upset.... no power... :frown: