©ït¥ ðf Thïêvê§
Hi..

I wanna know some views on suspension hardness & it's
effect on drifting. I see a lot of drifters using hard suspension
for drifting & a lot of AE86 on D1 are running on 8kg front & 6kg
back spring rate setups on track but I personally feel that if the
suspension is hard, the grip would be bad & more difficult to
recover especially on uneven track like Sunway Extreme Park.
With softer spring rate, although much more body roll but
the contact patch on tyre to ground is much more consistent
& provide a more linear predictable feel to the drift. With hard
spring rate.. I think its a wee bit 'jumpy' during drifts especially
on grounds that are not so even... what do u all think on this?
lets discuss :)

topui11

Mar 15, 2004
erm...

all i can say is... try it first... then only you'll know...

i do agree that softer suspension provide better grip, but... if you're drifting... why do u want the grip? it's all about defying grip bro...hehehe..

front a bit harder than rear... but rear can't be too soft coz it'll cause the rear to squat.. hence inducing more grip...

8kg and 6kg should be good. i've heard of people going with 12kg front and 9kg rear...crazy ooo... hehehe.. i can live with 6kg front and 5kg rear.. :D hehe

sexycar

Feb 10, 2004
©ït¥ ðf Thïêvê§
well grip is the 'control' in drift .. as most drifters use yokohama advan AD07 which
is a very grippy tyre with almost slick like effect on road. The reason is they need
the grip to 'recover' & 'control' the drift... I guess if we run hard suspensions then
we need a tyre with high grip to compensate & give us more control.
If we run soft suspensions, then we compensate by using cheap tyres so
its easier to initiate a drift but at the same time the softness of the suspension
would help in giving grip/control... but the whole of D1 goes for the 1st method which
is hard suspension & grippy tires... anyway being a broke azz guy like me, having
a hard suspension on a daily car which I use as drift car as well is a nightmare
when I use it on public road... car keeps losing grip & screeching on 60km/h
corners.. lol!... well.. being broke & wanting to drift equals me

nottyeddy

Sep 22, 2004
Somewhere in kl
www.drift.com.my
errr... IMO.. u need harder suspension so that ur car won't get understeer... like my car... hehehehe.. but not too hard oso.. have to fine tune according to ur driving style...

sexycar

Feb 10, 2004
©ït¥ ðf Thïêvê§
nottyeddy...

'fine tune to own driving style' <--- this is the total answer
to this thread I think... good one eddy... cheers! ;)

I see loads of drifters with different cars & each varies vastly
from 1 another but all of them can drift.. well some better than
the others, etc. But 1 thing I see is they adapt to their machines.
They make use of what they have be it soft,hard,turbo,NA,cheap
or expensive, lsd or no lsd .. they just take their car out & drift.
A good example would be Benz_200t... he just make use of what
he has & go out & just drift ... and a mighty good drifter he is..
I always have my utmost respect for Benz_200t & his i-D1 team..
they're fun & stress free drifters.. *salute* :)

DinNismo

Dec 11, 2004
GardenOFStarS
If u noticed during AFOS most of the ke70 does not have good suspension setup n during drifting the front tyre looks like its gonna come off the rim.. It can be dangerous. Try n get stiff suspension coz wen the weight transfer to the front (during drift) the front will still be able to hold hence u will have some control.

Just my 2cents... (love the ke70 group...semangat beb)

topui11

Mar 15, 2004
hmm.. dunno la... let some sifus answer this la.. me totally dunno about this.. just go to my tyre shop.. "bro.. setup drift ini malam... hehehehe" that's it. :D come to think of it, i need to realign my setup... damn! no wonder my car a bit tail happy today! hehehehe

Ronald_loulan

Dec 26, 2004
Bukit Serdang
DinNismo said:
If u noticed during AFOS most of the ke70 does not have good suspension setup n during drifting the front tyre looks like its gonna come off the rim.. It can be dangerous. Try n get stiff suspension coz wen the weight transfer to the front (during drift) the front will still be able to hold hence u will have some control.

Just my 2cents... (love the ke70 group...semangat beb)

Im 1 of them....:(

nottyeddy

Sep 22, 2004
Somewhere in kl
www.drift.com.my
i got this from one of the guy in juara support car while in sso4... he said the rear should be softer in order for it to be tail happy.. then as u progress u can set up how u like it.. while we are learning.. let the tail come out easier.. as we progress we may need the tail to be stiffer coz by that time no problem to tail out but we want maximum control over the high speed drift...*i wish... :)*

gentleman

Sep 1, 2004
IMO.......it's better to start using soft suspension then go towards the hard setup.
It's either u do trial and error or you do ur homework very well and implement it to ur car.

Things i take note for drift car is #Suspension (pillowballmount) #Bushing (PU) # Throttle response (use FPR) #Bucket seat- (very-very helpful)

SideWaysGrey

May 12, 2004
Seremban, NS
I'd say go with this.
Have 2 cars, one for daily drive and 1 for drift
Set them up according to its purpose and you'll be happy driving both of em.
Sexycar, the reason you brought this up is coz ure using the same car for both
purposes. Driving a drift tuned spec car in our roads is a major pain in the ass.
Same goes if you drive a daily comfortable spec car for drift, you'll end up like
Ronald_loulan (no offense dude).
Hey, no one ever said drifting is cheap, neither is any other motorsport. Need
to sacrifice something to gain something right?

sexycar

Feb 10, 2004
©ït¥ ðf Thïêvê§
what do u mean by me ending up like Ronald_loulan? :rolleyes:
I think its more like him ending up like me... me & him
both run the same car, same engine, same suspension.

I highly disagree with you on setting up 2 cars... that
is not what drifting is all about. The very root of drifting
to me is to come out, have fun & pull some sideways no
matter what you're on.. be it a bicycle, bike, ff, fr or a D1
car :eek:

Although all of this is irrelevent to this thread that I had posted,
I find that a lot of people are stressing too much on making their
car up to the standard for drifting. Its all good if you have the
dough to make it happen... but in life you see people from all walks
of life.. some can be poor & at the same time be the happiest
person in this world... We must live a happy life & we need to
adapt to what we have & make fun out of it. Mr.Ronald_loulan
is a good example of this... we met a while back right after OTS2
& he inspired me to join him on each & every OTS till now... he
was like 'come on dude, fark the rest.. we need to drift' ... it was
that kinda attitude that made it all happened. Of cos we must
thank Skagee for letting us play & also the support we have from
a lot of pioneer drifters from TFCC, Mr.Donut & etc. They are really
fun & cool guys that made us all forget of what we have & just go
out & play ;)

Ronald_loulan

Dec 26, 2004
Bukit Serdang
SideWaysGrey said:
I'd say go with this.
Have 2 cars, one for daily drive and 1 for drift
Set them up according to its purpose and you'll be happy driving both of em.
Sexycar, the reason you brought this up is coz ure using the same car for both
purposes. Driving a drift tuned spec car in our roads is a major pain in the ass.
Same goes if you drive a daily comfortable spec car for drift, you'll end up like
Ronald_loulan (no offense dude).
Hey, no one ever said drifting is cheap, neither is any other motorsport. Need
to sacrifice something to gain something right?
I prepare all of this since i start to drift....
Any prob can gain my exprience oso....

Ronald_loulan

Dec 26, 2004
Bukit Serdang
sexycar said:
what do u mean by me ending up like Ronald_loulan? :rolleyes:
I think its more like him ending up like me... me & him
both run the same car, same engine, same suspension.

I highly disagree with you on setting up 2 cars... that
is not what drifting is all about. The very root of drifting
to me is to come out, have fun & pull some sideways no
matter what you're on.. be it a bicycle, bike, ff, fr or a D1
car :eek:

Although all of this is irrelevent to this thread that I had posted,
I find that a lot of people are stressing too much on making their
car up to the standard for drifting. Its all good if you have the
dough to make it happen... but in life you see people from all walks
of life.. some can be poor & at the same time be the happiest
person in this world... We must live a happy life & we need to
adapt to what we have & make fun out of it. Mr.Ronald_loulan
is a good example of this... we met a while back right after OTS2
& he inspired me to join him on each & every OTS till now... he
was like 'come on dude, fark the rest.. we need to drift' ... it was
that kinda attitude that made it all happened. Of cos we must
thank Skagee for letting us play & also the support we have from
a lot of pioneer drifters from TFCC, Mr.Donut & etc. They are really
fun & cool guys that made us all forget of what we have & just go
out & play ;)

Haha....
Every1 not the same....
For me,1 car for normal driving n drifting...:)
I can change all parts for drifting or normal driving whenever i wan....
Just not enough tools oni...:lol:

The head gasket is located between the engine's cylinder head and block. When a spark ignites gasoline in the engine, the explosion creates pressure in the engine. The head gasket provides a seal that keeps that pressure contained within the engine's cylinder. The head gasket also provides a seal for internal engine water and oil passages.

If the engine is allowed to overheat, the cylinder head gasket may become damaged. Running the vehicle when its coolant is low or when there has been a...