Sunroof topic

GSR5559

Ok, to put in a sunroof, there are 2 ways. first jus cut off the middle of the original roof and fit it in, which considered as not stock sunroof roof. right? another way is to replace the whole roof with original sunroof roof, start cutting from wher i dont know. mebi the A-pillar to the back. for sure it will look good in our car with sunroof. the question now is if were to sell the car off, by cutting the whole roof and replace it with the whole sunroof roof, isit legalize? as in isit considered as 'kereta potong' by Puspakom if needed to go for inspecion.
i know by cutting jus the middle part to fit in the sunroof might not look so good and the quality of the sunroof might not be as good as fitting original sunroof roof. so whts ur comment guys?

tombstone

Mar 1, 2005
dude, nowadays there is a better way of doing it....why not juz cut the middle top portion only....

its the direct top part of your roof, the whole rectangular shape....THAT MEANS THE A pillar is left uncut...thus wont give trouble if your car needs to be tested for potongness... Because for eg, if your car is a 93-97 wira/satria and it has problems with the epoxy rust...you would have to replace your roof top in this very exact manner. So if you were gonna use an original replacement - eg satria use mirage cyborg roof and wira using lancer/evo1-3...
then you will get the whole roof part top complete. matter of juz removing the current top part and replacing it.

Cutting just the middle part (the top part above the driver and co driver seat) only promotes water leakage and further rust in the long run as the fitting is not factory fitted or original nor compatible for that particular car make.

hope this bit of info helps..

tombstone

Mar 1, 2005
they might lor..but if you never throw away ur old wan, juz swap it again la.. if u feel its worth the money! :)

tombstone

Mar 1, 2005
taiko....u sell all the imported cars...so kaya wan la...buy one whole halfcut top piece la...shud be about 1k++ for mirage wans...(thats if u drive satria la)

juz swap if you like it...if really leakin if you use the cut hole ones...then put payung on top ler.. ;)

GSR5559

aiyoh kawan, who said kaya sel cas, me this month makan tahi oh, no sales la. end of the year all saving money for chinese new year. business sure got ups and downs one. not evryday sunday ma..ahhaha.. yeah i plan to do so get the whole roof and replace it rather than cutting a hole from my original roof, it tends to leak easily..take payung no use one, mebi more or less, the best way is to get a baldi and put it on top of my armrest, den can hear water keaing sound, pon gpong pong

zan

Feb 20, 2005
GSR, try convert ur car cabin into an aquarium. that way, no worries of water seeping in :D

ace79

Sep 4, 2004
i've been thinking about this too...so the idea here is to only cut off the middle postion of the whole top? the one that's separated with the two rubber linings on top of the car is it? have yet to find a shop which can really do a good job on this matter here. anyway, for Civic EG, how can i fit the wiring for the sunroff then, since only the middle part of the roof is used?

ace79

Sep 4, 2004
GSR5559 said:
yeah they will cut off the middle part roof, the part wher the 2 linins separate them, and as for the wirings, if im not mistaken it is inside the roof carpet, thats wher the wirings will be i thnk. and yeah one important part is who is specialize in doin this roof cutting, bad werkmanship = bad outcome
that is what i'm worried about bro...thinking of maybe fitting a sunroof too, when i'm going to repaint my car again next year lah...another thing is that, what about chassis integrity?

tombstone

Mar 1, 2005
erm..definately there will be less rigidity from the original structure, but if you spot weld back to factory spots, i m sure it will handle as right or maybe around there..

usually any person doing painting and bodyworks(accident knocking) can install this kinda stuff...

cheers..happy converting!

GSR5559

ace79: yeah bro same here, im jus worried it will leak in future, or mebi few weeks after installing it. wht to do got to take the risk if our car comes without sunroof and we r desperate for one.

tomstone: are u sure those paintshop fellas can do this sunroof thingy? im afraid they r jus good in painting but not specialize in sunroof which will make it worsen, another thing is it is more convenient to do evrythin in one place rather than shifting from place to place

ace79

Sep 4, 2004
i don't want to risk losing chassis integrity over a sunroof ( although I am tempted to fit one since I got a good deal for one ), since I'm a fairly aggresive driver and intend to go for Sepang track days later next year ( well, that's after I got the moolah for a proper high - low - soft - hard adjustables, and around 160 bhp on the wheels 1st! ). And i don't think most paintshops have the ability to do this, for me, i expect a specialised shop in this kind of conversion jobs to do it, then drive off to a paintshop for a new coat of paint.

sup guys, i looking for a sporty type car, and in my list is
-Honda EK sedan
-satria Gti either NA or TUrbo
-evo 3/4
-neo cps

im not great at choosing car, i always been thinking which car is better, so i need an opinion from expert or any1 also can, heheh the car must can be use as daily driven(although i already own a kenari, swap2 car a day) and not much a hassle to maintain, maybe some late nite drag action too, hehe speed is always a need! look is also an option, thanks guyss