spare tyre compartment turned into a reservior

roy27

Feb 16, 2006
yah fluffy.....can show us the area which need to be checked n patch?

[s]UpErNoVa

Feb 8, 2006
should be de boot rubber lining gave way oredi bro.. get it changed then it will be alrite.. :regular_smile:

edwin_lcw

Jul 13, 2005
Setapak
i don`t think so ...... my car one year onli mah ..... so fast meh .... i think its last time i kena bang so now the joints got space oledi

satria_95

Jan 2, 2004
edwin_lcw,
I just had this idea. Why not you pull down the back rest of your back seat. Then remove your boot board. Remove everything out from your boot, including the spare tyre, tool boxes, car jack, umbrella, tissue boxes, condoms, guns, grenades, C4 explosives, porn videos, etc. Empty out your entire boot. Then you sit inside the car, at the back seat and look at the boot. Of course, the boot have to be closed.
Get someone to spray water on the car, rear half. Then try to see where the water come in from. Then fix that area up.

edwin_lcw

Jul 13, 2005
Setapak
today me n roy27 take out .... we find out ..... that there is a space so we fill it up then until one section where we couldn't fint our finder in to seal it up so water still goin in but less oledi .....

I

Indecided

What I did with my SM4 accord (when I used to have it) was :

1) find the leak, patch it up
2) drill a hole for water (if it comes again) to drain out from.

Never had the problem again, probably cause the water drained out and I was ignorant. At least nothing got rusty in the boot...

edwin_lcw

Jul 13, 2005
Setapak
yesterday i enlighten by ppl oledi .... now i know how to do oledi ..... hehe .... the conclusion is give ppl do onli RM 150 ..... gurantee your car no water leak anymore ..... but must do one day appointment ....

DarkAccoon

wahhhh......
RM 150 to patch a hole?
use what to patch worr
GOLD arrrr....
anyway, how are they going to patch it up?
silicone, welding or what?

if they are using silicone then i can do for u also
RM 100 kau tim everything (that also this price is overprice)

edwin_lcw

Jul 13, 2005
Setapak
dark u try ask the ppl going this see how much they charge u ..... u take my situation to them ..... say the same thing then ask him how much he doing ? .......

DarkAccoon

edwin, that's besides the point

i am just saying that they are definately over charging for something that is simple
unless they are welding those joints
i will definately say it is overprice
especially if they are just gonna patch it up with things like bitumen, silicone or something similiar

my boot used to have an aquarium, yes it did
took me one afternoon to locate all the spots and rectify it
cost me no more than RM 20 for the silicone tube and water bill

edwin_lcw

Jul 13, 2005
Setapak
no wonder ...... eh RM 150 kau tim ma no need marr fan ..... haha no worries dark

componentspeaker

Apr 10, 2006
i had this prob also.
took to 3 mechanics also cant fix.
then bring to proton got it settled.
change the boot lining. less than rm100.

edwin_lcw

Jul 13, 2005
Setapak
ohh your one is boot linings ..... mine is accident aftershave

wira_na

Mar 9, 2004
aquarium in bonnet? i was driving a wira aeroback last time and i was having the same problem when my car is just about 6 months old. Not only the spare tyre was filled with water but almost flooded my rear seat as well. Most of the time i was driving alone and the water was so full till it overflowed and wet my rear seat and carpet. I only realised it when someone sat in car and got himself wet. The problem? Actually there was some gap on the rear spoiler that caused the water to leak in....sigh.... since the car was still warranty, i sent the car back to fix it and the guy told me that wira aeroback with spoiler always have the problem. Not so sure about WISE. i wonder what happen to the QC....sigh..anyway, i only paid few bucks for the tax in the SC which cost few bucks. :confused_smile:

Remember that joke that if you saw a guy opening the car door for a girl, either the girl or car was new? Well most petrolheads more often than not equate their cars to women, and lets be honest, early on we're very tender and loving with our rides to the point that even a water stain was tantamount to a dent but as the odometer clocks in more mileage, we find ourselves closing an eye to the occasional...