So who won the drag??

zamans98

Mar 7, 2004
yeah, to add to pheonixpower, the car must be running over 1000hp or over at crank, means will yields about 900hp on wheel.

that will brings 9-10s ET.

The recent Miri Drag race 2nd placing with R33 GTR weighting over 1000kgs and with almost 900hp on wheels got ET of 11.553 (damn hot sunny day)

topui11

Mar 15, 2004
maybe he's running 480bhp at start up...

definitely using race fuel....

maybe he's suspension setup was near to perfect...

maybe the ATTESSA 4wd launch was really damn good....

not all about power.... putting 500hp onto the ground is no joke. if u'r able to sustain that power throughout the run... 9s is possible.

summore it was a cold nite...

maybe the settings was just right....

.... maybe got toyol inside there... hehehe

:D :P

AE-86

Oct 4, 2004
Originally posted by vteckiller+Oct 20 2004, 01:10 --></div><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td>QUOTE (vteckiller @ Oct 20 2004, 01:10 )</td></tr><tr><td id='QUOTE'> <!--QuoteBegin-AE-86@Oct 19 2004, 21:37
is joshua from millenium here??? if yes...pls PM me... :lol: :lol: thank you
cheers..
hi joshua from millennium is here...

cheers... [/b][/quote]
hey joshua....know who i m???? henry from icar...

DRiftAGster

Jul 6, 2004
wat topui says makes sense..... :P

it is all about setup, you can have 1000 bhp (like what we have from the borneo skylines) but end up running only 11 secs. :P

from what i remember/know, i saw with my own eyes a street car GTR32 dynoed 450++bhp on wheel and then at the same nite clocked 10.49sec in this year's sepang drag battle...... so don't tell me it doesn't make sense/impossible for a car with power below 600bhp to run below 11 sec.

zamans98, sometimes you don't really need 1000bhp to clock below 11sec, i've seen a street setup GTR33 that weighs 1600kgs clocked 10.9 sec with my own eyes (again) in malaysia.

** Maybe my eyes got problem :unsure: la.... and see wrongly....

MrNismo

Originally posted by DRiftAGster@Oct 20 2004, 18:34
zamans98, sometimes you don't really need 1000bhp to clock below 11sec, i've seen a street setup GTR33 that weighs 1600kgs clocked 10.9 sec with my own eyes (again) in malaysia.
That one ar? Hahaha I think the car got 'nearly' 1000hp kekekeke but too bad now retired already... :D

phoenixpower

Aug 12, 2004
Originally posted by DRiftAGster@Oct 20 2004, 18:34

it is all about setup, you can have 1000 bhp (like what we have from the borneo skylines) but end up running only 11 secs. :P

from what i remember/know, i saw with my own eyes a street car GTR32 dynoed 450++bhp on wheel and then at the same nite clocked 10.49sec in this year's sepang drag battle...... so don't tell me it doesn't make sense/impossible for a car with power below 600bhp to run below 11 sec.

DRiftAGster,

I have no comment on the borneo skylines even though it was said they're making lots of power.

To be fair, It would be nice if those cars that raced in Miri come over to KL and race and show their real potential on the same battlefield as they're timed with the same timing devices unlike the ones in Miri(no offence Mirians) :)

I definitely agree that overall setup makes up the time at the finishing line but 9 sec flat is one seriously quick time and I can tell you that you need some kind of crazy horsepower/power-to-weight ratio to do that.

Lets take some numbers from a GTR that ran just a tad below 9secs.

Im sure some of you know Mario "the GTR professor" 's GTR700. That car ran an 8.96secs and backed it with an 8.99secs @ 160mph(FYI, it ran an 8.2sec in WSID sometime ago,currently ranked 3rd fastest GTR in the world, behind Garage Avance and HKS).

His car weighs at around 1350kg(wet). Let's assume that his car is running 1100hp(FYI, it was running insane boost levels).

We're already getting around 810++bhp/tonne to run 8.99secs.

Base from the information provided , that thailand car weighs at 1000kg.

In order to reach 9secs it must produce at least 650bhp/tonne. Im putting this as a minimum just in case his 60ft is a near perfect 1-1.1secs!(as he's using drag slicks). :)

From the findings above, 480hp is nowhere near the 650bhp/tonne mark unless it's running much less weight.

Just my two cents.

djp0is0n

Feb 16, 2004
Originally posted by phoenixpower+Oct 20 2004, 09:10 --></div><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td>QUOTE (phoenixpower @ Oct 20 2004, 09:10 )</td></tr><tr><td id='QUOTE'>
Originally posted by djp0is0n@Oct 19 2004, 21:13
<!--QuoteBegin-phoenixpower
@Oct 19 2004, 20:08
Nevermind.

I just found the answer I was looking for.

Heck, now im not at all surprise with the low 9s time(1000kg+RB26DETT+Hoosiers=9 sec timeslips).

Im a bit sceptical bout the "480hp" at the wheels though(even when you put the lightweight into the equation).

Nice numbers though.

sceptical bout the BHP yea?? hehe u sponsor dyno lor next race :P
djp0is0n

Theoretically speaking,

if it only produces "480hp" and "1000kg", ie. only has a power to weight ratio of 480bhp/tonne.You need way more than the mythical 480hp to do low 9s.

Furthermore,with a T88-34D, don't tell me he's only running 15-20psi of boost(way below the compressor's sweet spot ie peak efficiency island).

Btw, anyone has the 60ft time of this car?[/b][/quote]
wah bro....
u so pro suddenly i also blur, i guess u must have a very nasty ride ya? anyways its just a matter of speech la... wad i know is that loads n loads of effort being put in cars that make the runs that night and it was a great show! :P

MrNismo

phoenixpower,

You might have missed out something. They don't have such thing called 'bomoh' down there in Australia. HAHAHAHA just joking... :D

phoenixpower

Aug 12, 2004
Originally posted by MrNismo@Oct 20 2004, 21:14
phoenixpower,

You might have missed out something. They don't have such thing called 'bomoh' down there in Australia. HAHAHAHA just joking... :D
No worries. :D

Off-topic but do you still frequent SDU forums?

phoenixpower

Aug 12, 2004
Originally posted by djp0is0n+Oct 20 2004, 21:13 --></div><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td>QUOTE (djp0is0n @ Oct 20 2004, 21:13 )</td></tr><tr><td id='QUOTE'>
Originally posted by phoenixpower@Oct 20 2004, 09:10
Originally posted by djp0is0n@Oct 19 2004, 21:13
<!--QuoteBegin-phoenixpower
@Oct 19 2004, 20:08
Nevermind.

I just found the answer I was looking for.

Heck, now im not at all surprise with the low 9s time(1000kg+RB26DETT+Hoosiers=9 sec timeslips).

Im a bit sceptical bout the "480hp" at the wheels though(even when you put the lightweight into the equation).

Nice numbers though.

sceptical bout the BHP yea?? hehe u sponsor dyno lor next race :P

djp0is0n

Theoretically speaking,

if it only produces "480hp" and "1000kg", ie. only has a power to weight ratio of 480bhp/tonne.You need way more than the mythical 480hp to do low 9s.

Furthermore,with a T88-34D, don't tell me he's only running 15-20psi of boost(way below the compressor's sweet spot ie peak efficiency island).

Btw, anyone has the 60ft time of this car?
wah bro....
u so pro suddenly i also blur, i guess u must have a very nasty ride ya? anyways its just a matter of speech la... wad i know is that loads n loads of effort being put in cars that make the runs that night and it was a great show! :P [/b][/quote]

djp0is0n,

It was definitely a great show. Pity I can't make it. I'll try and make it next time around(december?).

Btw, it would be great if there's some kind of official video of the drag race made...just like the aussie's annual jamboree or drag combat.

Cheers.

MrNismo

Originally posted by phoenixpower+Oct 21 2004, 00:34 --></div><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td>QUOTE (phoenixpower @ Oct 21 2004, 00:34 )</td></tr><tr><td id='QUOTE'> <!--QuoteBegin-MrNismo@Oct 20 2004, 21:14
phoenixpower,

No worries. :D

Off-topic but do you still frequent SDU forums? [/b][/quote]
Nope I don't frequent SAU and SDU anymore, maybe once in a while hehehe.

DRiftAGster

Jul 6, 2004
Originally posted by phoenixpower+Oct 20 2004, 21:02 --></div><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td>QUOTE (phoenixpower @ Oct 20 2004, 21:02 )</td></tr><tr><td id='QUOTE'> <!--QuoteBegin-DRiftAGster@Oct 20 2004, 18:34

DRiftAGster,

I have no comment on the borneo skylines even though it was said they're making lots of power.

To be fair, It would be nice if those cars that raced in Miri come over to KL and race and show their real potential on the same battlefield as they're timed with the same timing devices unlike the ones in Miri(no offence Mirians) :)

I definitely agree that overall setup makes up the time at the finishing line but 9 sec flat is one seriously quick time and I can tell you that you need some kind of crazy horsepower/power-to-weight ratio to do that.

Lets take some numbers from a GTR that ran just a tad below 9secs.

Im sure some of you know Mario "the GTR professor" 's GTR700. That car ran an 8.96secs and backed it with an 8.99secs @ 160mph(FYI, it ran an 8.2sec in WSID sometime ago,currently ranked 3rd fastest GTR in the world, behind Garage Avance and HKS).

His car weighs at around 1350kg(wet). Let's assume that his car is running 1100hp(FYI, it was running insane boost levels).

We're already getting around 810++bhp/tonne to run 8.99secs.

Base from the information provided , that thailand car weighs at 1000kg.

In order to reach 9secs it must produce at least 650bhp/tonne. Im putting this as a minimum just in case his 60ft is a near perfect 1-1.1secs!(as he's using drag slicks). :)

From the findings above, 480hp is nowhere near the 650bhp/tonne mark unless it's running much less weight.

Just my two cents. [/b][/quote]
well, if that is your formula, then maybe you are right la, anyway, i don't believe in "how many bhp = how many sec q/mile run" coz there are too many factors that will affect the result -- 1 of the most important - driver!!

anyway, just hope to see more fast cars in malaysia..... :P

20vturbo

Nov 19, 2003
Sarawak
www.club4ag.com
borneo drag really need a proper timing system. thai cars sapu the top time..warghh so fast ahhh.i have only seen a few cars in Malaysian drag scene with Hossier slicks..last time i still remember one chap in zerotohundred.com said there's no need to use big slicks or what so ever and he said semi-slicks is already enough...but those thais with big slicks can score low ET with big slicks..anyone can explain that? Maybe Malaysian people think this and that is already enough..but everyone needs an improvement right? i hope next time got unibody cars in Malaysia that can score below 10..hahaha..also don't forget to save lots of money....then we will rule in our place... B)

phoenixpower

Aug 12, 2004
MrNismo,

I was wondering if you know what had happened to the R32 GTR "CAN1"?

Did it join any of the recent drag races held in Sepang?

Recently, genius friend of mine instead of switching on the dome light, he turned the whole thing.. what happened was..the wire got short circuited.

Now, the HU doesn't power up, dome light still doesn't work and "Doors Opened" light does not appear on gauge.. Haven't figured out what else doesn't work.Any idea why? Or is there a fuse for all these accessories coming from a constant power source? hmmm.

In Dilemma.. :(

---------- Post added at 01:34 PM...