SMS Scam: WE NEED HELP

invisibleghost

Mar 19, 2005
Personally, I did not get any scam before, but as Jeff Ooi said, "Let's do WHAT is right."

[SIZE=+1]Talk is cheap. [/SIZE][SIZE=+1]We need two persons who have NEVER requested
for any SMS content but were scammed, billed and
charged by the Celcos
-- Maxis, Celcom or DiGi.[/SIZE]
[SIZE=+1]The Press wanted to talk to you, urgently.[/SIZE]
[SIZE=+1]We want to study your phone bills, especially those for
the months between January - May 2007.[/SIZE]
[SIZE=+1]This invitation is also extended to the dozens of readers
who have given me their itemised bills - here, here, here
and here. Tell us if you are ready to speak to the Press.[/SIZE]
[SIZE=+1]We need to get the interview done in the next two days.[/SIZE]
[SIZE=+1]A consumer awareness campaign will kick off after that.[/SIZE]
[SIZE=+1]At the moment, we could only look at the post-paid users
as there's no itemised billing for prepaid users to cross-
check their SMS charges, except DiGi's.[/SIZE]
[SIZE=+1]If you are willing to help us to help others, please SMS
me at +6019-3761397.[/SIZE]
[SIZE=+1]We will have legal advisers to protect you.[/SIZE]
[SIZE=+1]Let's do WHAT is right.[/SIZE]
[SIZE=+1]Thank you.
[/SIZE]

Screenshots: SMS Scam: WE NEED HELP

satria_95

Jan 2, 2004
Invisibleghost,
so what is really right? The whole country's system is already wrong and it'll take another... hhmm..... 50 years? to make things right again. Unless, of course, someone revamps the dumb arse pig g's and put humans to run the G's rather than brainless empty headed pigs.

imoloq

Nov 1, 2005
I always kena this kind of sms, asking me whether want to download contents then if I select no, I think a small amount is deducted. Sorry I can't help you much cause I'm using prepaid. Kudos for looking into this matter!

You should start with this company: macrok. It's one of the companies working with mobile operators to provide users with mobile content but I think they misused the service. Somemore mobile operators get a percentage of their revenue.

Full discussion here: Lowyat.NET -> MacroK SMS External Content Providers.

rorytate

Hi all,

for your information, all this have been sanctioned by MCMC Malaysia.

Those that is charging X amount should be listed in the SMS content, but i doubt many is following such standards.

Also those shortcode which is being replaced with a corporate name, should display the price RM0.00 clearly.

For more info search in MCMC Malaysia

imoloq

Nov 1, 2005
Hi all,

for your information, all this have been sanctioned by MCMC Malaysia.

Those that is charging X amount should be listed in the SMS content, but i doubt many is following such standards.

Also those shortcode which is being replaced with a corporate name, should display the price RM0.00 clearly.

For more info search in MCMC Malaysia
The problem is they deduct your credit without informing you. And such offers to download content that you have not requested is like spamming.

rorytate

Exactly Bro Imolog,
Any SMS content that will charge mobile holder should show a RMX.XX at the beginning or at the end of the MSG.

Our local operator doesnt follow these compliance by MCMC, thus you can bring such issue to Tribunal Court or Consumer Court.

At least if there were proof of such, the local operator gets their wound and at least dare not be hanky panky with your number.

You see, most of us here would delete off the SMS once knowing that it's spam. So there's will be no proof on such act. Keep the SMS, bring your itemised bills, sue the shit out of them.

I did something with Celcom, they end up rebate all the fee back to me and also rebate an X amount to my credit.

imoloq

Nov 1, 2005
Alright, I think I'll go complain to Maxis when I get the chance. Thanks for the tip!

ZTH

Mar 25, 2007
People are making profit out of these scams - and we are suffering from this nonsense.

driftkingII

Mar 2, 2005
Bandar Utama
I also hate this, until i dont know which one is correct especially HOTLINK... but i never follow their offer also.. :P

talkin about bad sms... anyone here in zth got a message from a guy name Tommy who sell porn VCD n PM us ???

Disturbing only