(Saga BLM) - rear wheel bearing pecah 3 times less than a year

Aug 16, 2012
To all,

I drive Saga BLM 2008, had installed adjust. absorber and strut bar (front and rear).

Problem:
this year alone, i have changed the rear wheel bearing 3 times. to be exact, in April, July and August. I drive my car hard daily esp while cornering and expect wear n tear to be terrible. But to change rear bearing after 1 month is ridiculous.....

Can any1 help advise possible reason this is happening. Is there such aftermarket wheel bearing that longer lasting

Maybe can try driving like normal for a year and see if it kongs :rofl:

So far, touchwood, my BLM no such problem but Axle broken once before, had it changed. Lucky still under warranty.
Maybe I don't corner as hard as u bro...kidding :biggrin:

You repair it outside or SC? Anyway, no idea on this matter.

blmsaga

Aug 16, 2012
:) Yup, maybe i need to drive like normal and see how it goes....i come to one stage i keep all receipts to monitor each part lifetime...haha

All 3 repairs done outside btw.....

Maybe can get it check at SC for once? It may be more expensive but sometimes, certain things are done better at SCs from
my family experience.

Only encounter once before, there is once my dad's car was having some major problem, send outside workshop, still same,
send back to UMW SC, problem solved. Slightly higher price but better la...

Well, just have to wait for other sifus in the forum to reply. See if they have better solution to the matter.

ken yeang

r u using stock rims? fat rims or highly offset rims can "makan" beerring very fast one....

LesleyAprotto

Banned
Jun 16, 2012
Probably your mechanic didnt install the bearings correctly...

I experienced 2 pulley changes in 1 month...

Finally i found out that this mechanic who changed the pulley bearing twice didnt know his job well...

He hammered the bearing in,

The bearing already got slight crack when hammering in...

So it wont last, only a few days the bearing conked again...

KY do you think he deserve the D-style punishment??

hahaha....

blmsaga

Aug 16, 2012
hi sifus,

i use the standard sp rims. the second workshop even got the machine to take out/put in the bearing, if not mistaken.....
however i'll try to look for the koyo bearing from the spare part shops.... :)

Thanks sifus

ken yeang

blmsaga,

make sure when you install the bearing, its the correct spec, for your model.

and make sure you "sumbat" plenty of grease to the bearing when installing.

one other thing, make sure the bearing is seated corrected, and the seating of the bearing is clean and free from nicks.

punk

Aug 6, 2011
Negeri Sembilan
My experience diy wheel bearing satria:

Problem:
1. Overtighten wheel bearing bolt
2. Alignment front and back ( not sure if saga need to do alignment on the back?? )

alan2011

Jan 10, 2011
I help u all.
See this thread going no where.
Original saga on FAG bearing.

There is no koyo for saga blm. Don't use those so called Korean bearing

Go for skf bearing for saga blm or any car for that matter
Sure ur saga blm pecah problem go away
Rims no effect la

Insist ur tyre shop or mechanic go for skf bearing, put more grease, won't help..

jason_lls

Oct 7, 2007
pls check the tightening torque when u/mechanic tighten the wheel bearing.
over tighten will couse ur wheel bearing canot last longer.

Heard from a mechanic, after drain out all the oil, it should be around 2 litres. If less than that amount, something is wrong at somewhere. What is the problem?