R33 GTS series 2 E Manage and more boost

opp61

Dec 1, 2007
Bros,

Car's in the shop today. Going to install a manual boost controller and emanage ( blue) . Will be pushing it up to 0.8 bar. Will update the dyno results.

The tuner highlighted some concerns regarding the use of Emange as he claims there have been instances of coils frying or shorting.

Mine is a R33 GTS 1997 series 2.
Question
1) what is the diff on the ignition side between a series 1 vs series 2?
2) Any feedback from series 2 owners with emanage who fried their coil packs?

Kinda green in this area and any updates or similar experiences would be great.

kaminari

Taiping
Hi bro how are u lately?Tom here.... Tuner saying like tht ka~~hehe means tht he no confidence of tuning using of e-manage.(just becareful of imitation stuff)
Series 1 and 2 different is at power transistor which series 2 not carry.This is 1 of reason different ECU for series 2 instead of airflow sensor.

Plug coil RB is most common problem for misfiring once engine bay too hot.Most of ppl just took off the plug coil cover and fit a ventilate hood.

opp61

Dec 1, 2007
Hi Tom

Thanks for the info. U still in Malaysia? I toughtu cabut already?

zephyro90

Oct 19, 2007
but you can still use s1 for s2 engine. if your having misfire its probably your coil, it has some cracks sometime i cant be seen by the naked eye. current that should be going to the plugs jump out in this cracks. what i did with mine was covered it with high voltage insulator tape then with an electrical tape. now i can rev it to the limit.

opp61

Dec 1, 2007
Bud

yeah read about your suggestion in another forum. Well its been 2 to months with the emanage and no issues so far.

Keep my fingers cross. Car feels great.

CSx8213x

Mar 8, 2004
how much hp u got from ur 0.8bar ?

CSx8213x

Mar 8, 2004
r u sure ??? i dun think got so much hp .....

opp61

Dec 1, 2007
r u sure ??? i dun think got so much hp .....
Bud

at 0.8 bar I hv 250 whp. Most important is that the car feels so much more drivebale.

kaminari

Taiping
ahahaha ...naklaju is different model sure say 320hp

R33 is 30hp more lower than R34 in catalog...

opp61

Dec 1, 2007
ahahaha ...naklaju is different model sure say 320hp

R33 is 30hp more lower than R34 in catalog...

Tom

Nowonder lah. I tough my kereta got problem that is why bhp lower . Ai yah.

Hey u in Japan already ah? Can start sourcing for stuff for me there? eheehheh

CSx8213x

Mar 8, 2004
bro opp61 .... i using emanage also ..... dyno with the dynojet ... 0.4bar got around 245ps , then push to 0.6bar got 270ps and then push to 1bar .... got 300ps ....

may i know what dyno machine u used to dyno ur car ? ? seem like big different with different dyno machine ...

opp61

Dec 1, 2007
bro opp61 .... i using emanage also ..... dyno with the dynojet ... 0.4bar got around 245ps , then push to 0.6bar got 270ps and then push to 1bar .... got 300ps ....

may i know what dyno machine u used to dyno ur car ? ? seem like big different with different dyno machine ...

Bud

Should be the dyno jet. Not too sure. I got it done at GT Auto Sunway. I think mine is arond that range at 250 bhp as this is wheel hp. The quoted RB25DET is 250 bhp but on engine at 0.4 bar stock. So at 0.8 bar now for me should translate to 250 whp.

I have done alot of reading on the RB25DET and it is a bit of a worry if you run anything more that 0.85 bar on a stock set up like mine. Hope that yours isnt . The turbo is the main concern due to its ceramic design , alot of stuff would go pop at that kind of boost pressure.

What is your set up? i.e. mods to engine? Where did u do your duno?

CSx8213x

Mar 8, 2004
emmm ... i dyno at kuantan .... GT auto using dynojet also ... it same brand with the dyno machine here ..... the 300ps also is on wheel ler .....

no mod on engine .... only changed larger fuel pump , intercooler , air filter and exhaust piping .....

actually before install the e-manage ... i did a dyno run first .... 0.4bar 225ps , 0.6bar 249ps and 0.8bar 246ps (coz without e-manage the car jerk on this boost)....

Hello Dear tuning sifus,

I drive a 2 litre hyundai coupe and I am thinking of upgrading the brakes on my ride...

was wondering whether the brakes on the mitsu can be put in? with some minor match up n bolt on job?... anyone knows?

anyone can fill me in? Can't really seem to get a definite answer....

was thinking, if it is possible to match the evo 4 brakes in....