question @ help @ sharing @ info : turbine wheel damage

consonar

Dec 28, 2004
D'sara - S.alam
dear zth forummers...

just wanna ask/share about the damage of turbine wheel.
recently, my friend just buy this garrett turbine... but then i saw the turbine wheel
is kinda 'makan' @ damage...

refer pics ...

so, the question is ...

1. does this damage effect the lag of the turbo.??? does the damage will contribute more to turbo lag??
*coz the seller said that it is ok to use it...but when i try it (same cc as the seller told, and mostly same spec ), it feel very lag and only can go 1.5bar of boost even until redline...

need opinion n helps from otai2 turbo in zth... maybe bebolagalas can help...
later i bring semporna to you bebolagalas....

thanks guys!

xtremeleo

Oct 18, 2005
to put it simply, yes. dats quite a big piece missing there. and at the most important place pulak tu, where did u get it?

bebolagalas T

Jul 18, 2007
dear zth forummers...

just wanna ask/share about the damage of turbine wheel.
recently, my friend just buy this garrett turbine... but then i saw the turbine wheel
is kinda 'makan' @ damage...

refer pics ...

so, the question is ...

1. does this damage effect the lag of the turbo.??? does the damage will contribute more to turbo lag??
*coz the seller said that it is ok to use it...but when i try it (same cc as the seller told, and mostly same spec ), it feel very lag and only can go 1.5bar of boost even until redline...

need opinion n helps from otai2 turbo in zth... maybe bebolagalas can help...
later i bring semporna to you bebolagalas....

thanks guys!
bring to workshop la bro..
from the pic..show foreign object hit the turbine wheel..so inducer of the turbine wheel makan a bit..foreign object might be...'taik besi' welding..if u have the custom banana.

bare in mind also..if u just bought the turbo..maybe it already rosak before...so need to post mortem la bro..:nurse:

it will effect the boost spool up since the shaft wheel inside trim already makan..yes it still can be use ...if the clearance of the turbine and housing still in it limit.. but dont expect it will perform like good one la..

the theory is like this..if i cut a bit ur jari kaki or ..u might be able to run but ..can u run faster then before?..:confused:

xtremeleo

Oct 18, 2005
really bebolagalas, ur so called theory sounds funny ler, haha..

but seriously, the part dats missing is the part where the angular momentum is at its maximum value ~ maximum zorst flow, wit dat part missing the turbine wheel velocity decreases substantially which explains y u r suffering from massive lagg. pm for more details sir

consonar

Dec 28, 2004
D'sara - S.alam
yesszaaaa... me too ... kinda funny what bebolagalas punya theory... but the theory fit this situation very well.. easy to understand... aha ahaha...

bebolagalas : of course, like i said the other day at your shop, i will go to your place this coming august... he he he... btw, this damage happen from that garrett turbo that i bring to your place... this time we will not sesat anymore!!!

xwatermelon : ya laa... itu fin sudah makan agak byk... i tell the owber already, "hey, izzit ok if got makan *pointing at the turbine wheel... but the buyer said, it is ok (he tell me that buyer said ok).... but from my point of view, i think that, it makan byk jugak... from my newbie thinking, im think that exhaust gas will overflow and the gas cannot give momentum to the wheel * ini newbie punya ideologi laa... correct me if im wrong...

btw, thanks guys for your opinion... love u all!! mwahhhhhhhhhhhhhh!!

xtremeleo

Oct 18, 2005
i think u got the basic idea already sir, since airflow will choose the easiest route, den the airflow wont usually go through pushing the turbine blade but going around it, and decrease performance in the same time.. if the makan occurs at the exducer of the turbine wheel, then the performance may not suffer too much imo

hey guys,
im planning to change my crank pulley to a lightened one..
just wanna ask,is Zerone one good ah?or should i get works?is it the same size as my oem pulley? mythelogy is too expensive la..hehe