Question about spring rate

cheehong

Apr 4, 2005
Malacca
any body know what mean this numbers " 250/40" or "250/30" that print on the spring?
how to calculate/convert it in the kg/mm unit?
thanks....

PutraCraze

this might be like this... 250 stand for length, 40 stand for spring rate.. might be 250mm in length and 4.0kg in spring rate... this is already in kg/mm unit.. if u put 4kg then the length would to shorten 1mm... if i'm not mistaken.... du a test on the spring c wat i say is correct or not...

mahfudz_mn

Nov 22, 2004
Bukit Jalil
yup...ur rite...250/40 and 250/30 is length/spring rate

length is in mm while spring rate is in kg per centimetre...

btw...r u using rg? wira/satria? the figure sounds familiar

azir

Apr 7, 2005
mahfudz_mn said:
yup...ur rite...250/40 and 250/30 is length/spring rate

length is in mm while spring rate is in kg per centimetre...

btw...r u using rg? wira/satria? the figure sounds familiar

which one could consider more stiff? 250/40 or 250/30?

cheehong

Apr 4, 2005
Malacca
im using RG...on my satria SE..
feel that it is not hard enough laa....
thinking want to change the spring to 5f4r...any one try b4?

mahfudz_mn

Nov 22, 2004
Bukit Jalil
cheehong said:
im using RG...on my satria SE..
feel that it is not hard enough laa....
thinking want to change the spring to 5f4r...any one try b4?
wow...buddy...ur body made of impact absorbing foam kah? jk, anyway i used that b4...can even push it down...i drive satria 1.6, i think that its stiff enuff adi...wuts more the rg suspension they dont really tune the damping rate good enuff...cant set the ride very low...macam naik kuda...hahaha...i think it should be okay if u change to 5/4, but prepare urself to the meaningless talking of the rg marketing man...to him...any probs...its ur car not my suspension

cheehong

Apr 4, 2005
Malacca
my RG i brought from a zth member....
can any body tell me where is the location of the RG factory?
RG is local made or local assembly ?i see my spring had printed with "RG Germany" wo..
thanks..

PutraCraze

klang... ask jinkl to bring u there... if u r using SE satria stock standard engine... pls.... stick to the setting now... is the best... still can travel on penang stage road if u came down to penang... if u change it.. don't come.... AT ALL... used 6kg front 4kg rear... in my car... front is ok... back of ur car pls dun go further then 3kg... if i were u.. i will revalve the shock especially the front...

Hi fellow members,

need to clarify on the terminology of 'super single clutch' (which produces the clank clank clank sound upon clutching in before engaging gearing)...

How does it actually works to produce the sound?

thanks in advance