Proton 4G13/4G15....Satria/Wira/Saga

series5401

Aug 14, 2010
Kuching
muffler got 2 lubang marr... masuk and keluar... masuk lubang not more den 2 inch....
oikai.. tankiu..

---------- Post added at 07:21 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 07:19 PM ----------

hey, help pls with clutch settings... i need to change my clutch soon and i need some advice whether a 1.5 clutch or 1.6 clutch set can improve pick up for my 1.3 fuel injected satria.

pls help thanks
sum people suggest that using a 1.6 clutch set.. going to change later too..

borat

Jan 24, 2010
stay stock standard... ahaks...

1.7" piping... original route (not under fuel tank route).... 1 bullet in the middle... straight flow muffler... if u dont want loud, use s-flow muffler... make sure muffler inlet max 2.0" diameter...

make sure ur cam timing is adjusted to ur preference... mostly, fuel consumption is mainly due to ur right foot... so be gentle on the fuel pedal...
thanks bro.. you said 1 bullet in the middle, does tis mean taking out the catalytic converter and replacing it wit a tabung tengah?

and how is a straight flow and s-flow muffler different from each other? is it tat the s-flow got a tabung b4 the tip?

why muffler inlet max muz be 2 inch diameter? if bigger or smaller wat effect bro?
then muffler outlet should be how big?

bro the adjustable cam pulley can adjust like wat? wat choice do i hav?

sorry so noob bro... thanks very much..

SkYwAlKeR

Mar 12, 2005
ePoh ~ malacca
hey, help pls with clutch settings... i need to change my clutch soon and i need some advice whether a 1.5 clutch or 1.6 clutch set can improve pick up for my 1.3 fuel injected satria.

pls help thanks
i'd say performance gained using 1.6 clutch from a 1.3L engine aint much... hence, i would suggest u to go for lightened flywheel but maintain using 1.3L clutch...

clutch surface area of grip will only comes into effect when ur engine is producing power which ur 1.3L clutch cannot handle and began to slip... if its not slipping by anyhow u trash it, its useless using bigger clutch...

by lightening the angular momentum of ur rotating crank (this includes crankshaft, flywheel, clutch, crankpulley), ur engine is able to rev up faster... this increases acceleration, but with the downside of losing top speed... because the lower inertia means lower momentum... hence, lower energy stored in ur rotating crank, u will need more power to get it spinning continuously...

thanks bro.. you said 1 bullet in the middle, does tis mean taking out the catalytic converter and replacing it wit a tabung tengah?

and how is a straight flow and s-flow muffler different from each other? is it tat the s-flow got a tabung b4 the tip?

why muffler inlet max muz be 2 inch diameter? if bigger or smaller wat effect bro?
then muffler outlet should be how big?

bro the adjustable cam pulley can adjust like wat? wat choice do i hav?

sorry so noob bro... thanks very much..
yeap... if ur car has catcon, remove it and replace with midbullet... if ur oem exhaust piping has a restrictive midbox, replace it with a freeflow midbullet... (old saga iswara does not have catcon, but it does have a midbox)...

left is s-flow muffler... right is straight flow muffler... as u can see, s-flow is more restrictive compare to straight flow muffler... restrictiveness means good in sound dampening... which means s-flow muffler will emit less noise compare to straight flow muffler.... another tip, auto transmission better use s-flow to hold the backpressure... manual tranny can use either s-flow or straight flow muffler...

if inlet diameter too big, ur exhaust will lose too much backpressure... this is bad for low end torque... hence, for 1.5L NA engine and below, it is best to keep the inlet muffler approx 2.0"... outlet tip mostly for cosmetic purpose... if dont wanna attract too much attention from abang jaypeejay, dont use too big lo....

as for adj campulley, u can adjust the cam timing advance/retard... for SOHC engine, u can adjust the cam timing for better acceleration OR top speed... or in other words, better low end torque or better mid-high rpm power.... or in other words also, shifting the powerband...

if jz change adj campulley for SOHC engine, it has minor performance gain as i said, u only play with the powerband... thats why adj campulley best paired with high profile camshaft... higher profile camshaft gives good mid-high rpm gain, but loose abit of low end torque... but adjusting the cam timing, u can bring the powerband lower so u dont sacrifice too much low end torque and have the powerband at an achievable rev range... no point having the powerband way above 7k rpm when ur engine internals cannot handle it rite??...

SkYwAlKeR

Mar 12, 2005
ePoh ~ malacca

X.O

Aug 19, 2010
yeah thanks skywalker.. my next upgrade i had in mind was flywheel hah then slowly next next next. heh

series5401

Aug 14, 2010
Kuching
walau.. got many info lah u, skywalker.. nice.. tq.. now i know on the s flow etc.. im using it.. but i dont know wat size is it.. i think my top speed is restricted by the small size of the inlet.. huhu.. tq so muchh..:adore:

borat

Jan 24, 2010
i'd say performance gained using 1.6 clutch from a 1.3L engine aint much... hence, i would suggest u to go for lightened flywheel but maintain using 1.3L clutch...

clutch surface area of grip will only comes into effect when ur engine is producing power which ur 1.3L clutch cannot handle and began to slip... if its not slipping by anyhow u trash it, its useless using bigger clutch...

by lightening the angular momentum of ur rotating crank (this includes crankshaft, flywheel, clutch, crankpulley), ur engine is able to rev up faster... this increases acceleration, but with the downside of losing top speed... because the lower inertia means lower momentum... hence, lower energy stored in ur rotating crank, u will need more power to get it spinning continuously...

yeap... if ur car has catcon, remove it and replace with midbullet... if ur oem exhaust piping has a restrictive midbox, replace it with a freeflow midbullet... (old saga iswara does not have catcon, but it does have a midbox)...

left is s-flow muffler... right is straight flow muffler... as u can see, s-flow is more restrictive compare to straight flow muffler... restrictiveness means good in sound dampening... which means s-flow muffler will emit less noise compare to straight flow muffler.... another tip, auto transmission better use s-flow to hold the backpressure... manual tranny can use either s-flow or straight flow muffler...

if inlet diameter too big, ur exhaust will lose too much backpressure... this is bad for low end torque... hence, for 1.5L NA engine and below, it is best to keep the inlet muffler approx 2.0"... outlet tip mostly for cosmetic purpose... if dont wanna attract too much attention from abang jaypeejay, dont use too big lo....

as for adj campulley, u can adjust the cam timing advance/retard... for SOHC engine, u can adjust the cam timing for better acceleration OR top speed... or in other words, better low end torque or better mid-high rpm power.... or in other words also, shifting the powerband...

if jz change adj campulley for SOHC engine, it has minor performance gain as i said, u only play with the powerband... thats why adj campulley best paired with high profile camshaft... higher profile camshaft gives good mid-high rpm gain, but loose abit of low end torque... but adjusting the cam timing, u can bring the powerband lower so u dont sacrifice too much low end torque and have the powerband at an achievable rev range... no point having the powerband way above 7k rpm when ur engine internals cannot handle it rite??...
wah bro.. you are reli helpful.. thanks!!!
bro wanna ask wat if inlet diameter too small? any bad effects?
bro my engiine 4g13 already got adj cam pulley and racing camshaft. when i first installed i also noticed slight drop in low end torque but gain in mid rpm power. but tat guy at the workshop din ask me wat i prefered. he juz turned a few nuts on the pulley and tat was it. so if i wanna adj it 4 low end torque tat means i should go to a foreman and tel him wat i wan? then is it tat the foreman has to do calculations or something?

bro if remove catcon not bad 4 environment? is exhaust mod reli neccessary 4 my car? wil it reli improve power bro? thanks so much..

SkYwAlKeR

Mar 12, 2005
ePoh ~ malacca
wah bro.. you are reli helpful.. thanks!!!
bro wanna ask wat if inlet diameter too small? any bad effects?
bro my engiine 4g13 already got adj cam pulley and racing camshaft. when i first installed i also noticed slight drop in low end torque but gain in mid rpm power. but tat guy at the workshop din ask me wat i prefered. he juz turned a few nuts on the pulley and tat was it. so if i wanna adj it 4 low end torque tat means i should go to a foreman and tel him wat i wan? then is it tat the foreman has to do calculations or something?

bro if remove catcon not bad 4 environment? is exhaust mod reli neccessary 4 my car? wil it reli improve power bro? thanks so much..
inlet diameter too small, exhaust flow restrictive... mid-high rpm gain not much... in other words, high rpm feels ketat...

removing catcon is bad for environment... if u love it, dont remove lo... haha...

exhaust mod is not necessary... but to maximize the performance, it is needed...

darrengoh89

Aug 18, 2009

pls help thanks
Juz change to another original 1.3/1.5 exedy clutch kit if the current 1 is about to times up...send your flywheel for 500gram skimming ...Nice enough to rev for your 1.3 Efi engine ... :driver: ... Its not necessary for a 1.3 engine go for a 1.6 clutch modification ....In additional ...its 2kg heavier compare to stock...even if you skim off your flywheel for 900gram which is quite the maximum for it ....can't really skim more than that ...overall ...the weight is still 1kg heavier ...In the end ..what you get is better grip each time you engaged your gear ...Improved pick up ? I would say ..not big differents ...its juz that the grip feeling that makes you think that your pick up is improved ..but the speed and tourqe is still the same ...So my advice is ...if there's a cheaper option and its the right way to mod it ..why not go for it rather than spending so much in the end ? well ..juz my 2 cents ;)

Penghanyut

Jul 19, 2005
hi guys,
need some advice from 4G15 sifus here.
whats the fuel consumption like for a stock to the bone 4G15 carb manual on iswara sedan body? i got the shock of my life when i found out that my iswara is only able to travel 180km for 33L of petrol (Ron95). all city driving driven by an old man (not speeding at all).
the engine just had top overhaul 2 years ago. no white smoke at all.
funny thing is, when i throttle about 40%, there is a lot of black smoke puffing out from the exhaust and if this continues for 5seconds or so, the engine would jerk (as though there is too much fuel clogging up the plugs)
can anyone help?

darrengoh89

Aug 18, 2009
hi guys,
need some advice from 4G15 sifus here.
whats the fuel consumption like for a stock to the bone 4G15 carb manual on iswara sedan body? i got the shock of my life when i found out that my iswara is only able to travel 180km for 33L of petrol (Ron95). all city driving driven by an old man (not speeding at all).
the engine just had top overhaul 2 years ago. no white smoke at all.
funny thing is, when i throttle about 40%, there is a lot of black smoke puffing out from the exhaust and if this continues for 5seconds or so, the engine would jerk (as though there is too much fuel clogging up the plugs)
can anyone help?
I guess you need to retune back your carbie ...pm Fstrader for more info ...this unker bawah pokok is very profesional in tuning carbie engines...

cowa

Sep 4, 2008
sifu khguan,
after all the mod done to ur ride , how was the fc?

how to tuned...because my rpm to low...about below 500..... :huh: ....help me... :(