Problem with 1jz engine

clisa

Elo,

I just install my bmw e46 original engine to 1jz 2.5 engine....today i got two problems,

1. smoke came out from the exhaust.

2. Water temperature high.....Defi reading 120 degrees....should i change the radiator fan?

Hope anyone can suggest any solution, or any workshop....thanks

huakenny

LB Performance
Feb 24, 2005
Kota Kinabalu
Elo,

I just install my bmw e46 original engine to 1jz 2.5 engine....today i got two problems,

1. smoke came out from the exhaust.

2. Water temperature high.....Defi reading 120 degrees....should i change the radiator fan?

Hope anyone can suggest any solution, or any workshop....thanks
check wat kind of smoke is tat

and check also wat problems causing temp so high

khoyos

Nov 23, 2003
1. smoke can be from a few problems. typically high mileage JZ engines will have worn out valve seals. the turbochargers also quite prone to leaking.
2. what is ur cooling setup? using hydraulic fan or electric fans? JZ engines require big fan power to cool down the engine and big radiator for better flow...

Veloc

May 19, 2010
Sabah
1. smoke can be from a few problems. typically high mileage JZ engines will have worn out valve seals. the turbochargers also quite prone to leaking.
2. what is ur cooling setup? using hydraulic fan or electric fans? JZ engines require big fan power to cool down the engine and big radiator for better flow...
bro... what hydraulic fan o??? Do you mean belt driven???

BLaCkHoWLiNG

'(^^)|Most Awesome Member
www.autojunctions.com
1JZ usually are hydraulic fan cooled... if yr mech suka suka screw around with it and put some funny bosch or sanden electric fans then u're screwed

Veloc

May 19, 2010
Sabah
Oooh.. Thanks ya... Not much knowledge about 1j.

But if driven by engine is not by belt meh? Why say hydraulic? Hydraulic refers to fluid driver right?

khoyos

Nov 23, 2003
in a way it is driven by engine. the waterpump also flows some hydraulic fluids (PS fluid or ATF), this high-pressure flow is used to spin the radiator fan motor. almost all 1jz & 2jz engines use hydraulic fan system except for supra mk4 ,soarer jzz30 etc. real real good in keeping the engine cooled but prone to leaks (old hydraulic lines) and waterpump for hydraulic system cost about rm1600. so some convert to using mechanical waterpump + electric radiator fans. not as good as hydraulic setup in some cases but less expensive to run (mechanical waterpump rm600) and no more hydraulic leaks. just have to make sure the fan is really strong...

Nov 20, 2011
johanesburg
hi fist do u have one turbo or the std 2 the reason for the smoke might not be the motor it could be turbo(s) leaking oil as for cooling i put 2 electrical fans on my that linked to my ecu works well

Nov 20, 2011
johanesburg
let those turbos spool prob can just be some oil in the leave it started when cooling is done just make shure we in S.A we get those motors than they have about 60.000 km on them so dont think thats the prob are u using man or auto trans and what ecu and have u changed u diff cheers bud

khoyos

Nov 23, 2003
not sure about thread starter here but most JZ motors we get here have 100++k km on them... mine is 130k km but recently rebuilt. using R154, megasquirt 2 ecu and using R200 3.54 viscous LSD diff