problem after changing to fully syn engine oil and ATF

stevenV6

Jun 15, 2006
yours is s4 or V6 engine???

baby_jap_wawa

Sep 10, 2006
normal v6 engine.. any help.. ? thx alots ya.. :)

mengz

Jan 15, 2005
i remmeber i once read that the perdana v6 is not suitable for fully-syn oil. correct me if i'm wrong.

karl5511

May 31, 2007
Means ur car beg u for new V6tt engine...:biggrin:

baby_jap_wawa

Sep 10, 2006
actually i not sure whether is tappet sound.. how does tappet sound actually sound like.. ? mine like when press oil will have like abit *glok glok glok* sound.. if adjust tappet usually how much.. ?

JINEIL2EN

Sep 6, 2004
Island Of Pearl
team99ers.2.forumer.com
actually i not sure whether is tappet sound.. how does tappet sound actually sound like.. ? mine like when press oil will have like abit *glok glok glok* sound.. if adjust tappet usually how much.. ?
i reco u come to my shop in Uptown for further checking. words can't tell. thanks.

tonytony

Apr 11, 2004
sorry i may be wrong, but i think the perdana v6 is equipped with hydraulic lash adjusters, meaning to say, it can't be adjusted.
what oil were u on previously ? mineral/semi/full syn ?
if it is ur lash adjusters, then what u could do is to change back to the oil previously and see it there's still the tak tak tak tik tik tik sound. if there still is, and if its confirmed by ur friendly mechanic that it is the lash adjusters, then jst try and experiment with diff brands and grades of oil to find the most suitable for ur ride.

good luck bro

karl5511

May 31, 2007
I dont think it is tappet sound. Erm, i owned Proton Putra for myself, and tappet is the famous prob for putra owner...
As u said, WHEN you press ur pedal there a sound *glok...glok*.
But tappet is noising no matter you hit pedal or in idle. Summore tappet might sound different.

karl5511

May 31, 2007
As a few sifus quote, to reduce tappet sound I use Castrol Magnatec 10w40.
And it works... :)

stevenV6

Jun 15, 2006
i think 5w40 no suitable your car
10W-40, i think the best for perdana V6 engine since i use it for quite sometimes....(just my opinion)and it eliminates the tappet sound for a period of time..when it's reach nearly 4000kms....the sounds will back,nd that means u need to do an oil change after it...

JINEIL2EN

Sep 6, 2004
Island Of Pearl
team99ers.2.forumer.com
As a few sifus quote, to reduce tappet sound I use Castrol Magnatec 10w40.
And it works... :)
Magnatec is goood:biggrin: last time using it hits 12k, lucky, didn't jammed engine...:biggrin::biggrin::biggrin:

I just wanna post this..

Just in case some of u didn't know about this..

Selamat Hari Raya Aidilfitri

Maaf Zahir Batin

Drive safely :wink: