Police DiRaja Malaysia - INFORMATIONAL

sakuraguy

Nov 4, 2004
Sendai, JAPAN.
Police DiRaja Malaysia - Royal Malaysian Police

The Royal Malaysian Police or Polis DiRaja Malaysia in Malay is a main branch of security forces in Malaysia. The force is a centralized organization that has a gamut of roles that ranges from traffic control to intelligence. Its headquarters is located in Bukit Aman, Kuala Lumpur.

The police force is led by an Inspector-General of Police (IGP). The post is currently held by Tan Sri Mohd Bakri Hj Omar.

Anti-riot force known as Federal Reserve Unit makes up part of the police force.

In addition to the Federal Reserve Unit, the Police maintains 2 paramilitary divisions: the General Operations Force, which includes the Senoi Praaq which grew out of the Emergency Jungle Squads, and the Pasukan Gerakan Khas (Special Operations Force), which includes the VAT 69/UTK commando battalion and the Special Action Units (Malay: Unit Tindakan Khas), which is modelled on SWAT teams.

The Rakan Cops is the Malaysian community police which was launched in 2006.

History
The modern police force in Malaya and Malaysia started in 1807 when a police force was established in Penang. Most of the officers were British of origin. Soon, several similar organizations were introduced to the Straits Settlements and other Malay states, particularly to the Federated Malay States. These organizations, however, were not integrated and were independent of each other. This changed after World War II; police forces all across Malaya were streamlined and placed under a single administration. That administration was known as the Civil Affair Police Force and was headed by H.B. Longworthy.

During the Malayan Emergency that took place from 1948 till 1960, the force along with the military played a huge role in defeating the communist insurgency. One of the better known conflicts between the police and communists is the Bukit Kepong Incident, in which communist forces launched an assault against the Bukit Kepong police station, killing most of the officers there.

In July 24, 1958, the organization was renamed as the Royal Federation of Malayan Police. Upon the formation of Malaysia in 1963, it was renamed to its current name.

Controversy
The Royal Malaysian Police has been accused of misuse of power and exercising excessive power.

Police cars

1970-1979
Alfa Romeo police car

1980-1989
Volvo police car
Mitsubishi police car
Isuzu police car
Proton Saga police car

1990-1999
Proton Saga Megavalve police car
Proton Iswara police car
Proton Wira police car
Proton Perdana police car (interceptor pursuit version)
Proton Putra police car (interceptor pursuit version)
Volvo 850 police car (highway patrol version)
Perodua Kancil police car
Perodua Kembara police car (4x4 pursuit version)

2000-now
Proton Waja police car
Proton Satria GTi police car (interceptor pursuit version)
Ssangyong Rexton police car

Police motorcycles
Honda CBX 350

Police vans
Isuzu

Police trucks
Isuzu

Branches
Malaysian Special Branch
NCB-Interpol
Pasukan Gerakan Khas
VAT69/UTK

Major Cases and Incidents

Al-Mau'nah Arms Heist
On 2 July 2000 on an outpost and a camp manned by members of Bn 304 of Rejimen Askar Wataniah was involved in an arms heist by the Al-Mau'nah militant group. In the small hours of the morning, 21 members of the militant group visited the outpost and camp of Bn 304 Rejimen Askar Wataniah under the guise of a surprise inspection and relieved the soldiers' weapons or carted away weapons from the armoury. They took away a huge cache of firearms and ammunition, including 97 M16 assault rifles, four GPMGs, five grenade launchers, 9,095 rounds of 5.56mm and 60 rounds of 40mm ammunition. The group was later cornered in the village of Sauk, Perak and involved in a stand-off the Malaysian Army and Royal Malaysian Police forces. Police threw a containment cordon of Bukit Jenalik.

The Al-Mau'nah group later surrendered, and the leaders brought to trial for "waging war upon the King". Mohamed Amin Mohamed Razali and his group were brought to trial for charges of "waging war against the King", and became the first people convicted of such charges in Malaysia. Mohamed Amin Mohamed Razali and his two lieutenants, Zahit Muslim and Jamaluddin Darus, were sentenced to death. Sixteen others were given life sentences. A police personnel Detective Korporal Sanghadevan was murdered during the incident. Asisten Superintendan Polis Abdul Razak Mohd. Yusof was awarded the Seri Pahlawan Gagah Perkasa for his role resolving the stand-off.

Memali Incident

The Memali Incident a major incident that occurred in the remote village of Memali, Baling in the Malaysian state of Kedah.

A team of 200 policemen under orders from Acting Prime Minister an Home Minister Musa Hitam laid siege on kampung (village) houses in Memali, near Baling in Kedah. The houses were occupied by an Islamic sect of about 400 people led by Ibrahim Mahmud a.k.a. Ibrahim Libya.

Background
The Memali Incident followed severely strained relationships between UMNO and PAS, the two major Muslim political parties in Malaysia. Some PAS leaders had concluded that UMNO members were apostate. In 1981, Hadi Awang, a senior PAS politician made claims that to resist UMNO and the UMNO led government that does not practice Islamic Hudud law is a Jihad, and that those who died in the struggle are al-shahid. Pursuant to Hadi’s claims, there was a serious rift in the Malay Muslim community. In Besut, Terengganu for example, communities were split to the extent that communal prayers were done separately for UMNO and for PAS congregations.

Bukit Kepong Incident

Bukit Kepong Incident was a historic armed encounter which took place on the February 23, 1950 between the police and the Malayan Communists during pre-independence Malaya. This conflict took place in an area surrounding the Bukit Kepong police station in Bukit Kepong. The wooden station was located on the river banks of the Muar River, about 59km from Muar town, Johor.

The incident started just before dawn with the Communists launching a guerilla assault on the police station. It ended tragically in a bloody massacre with the aggressors killing almost all of the police officers stationed there. The Communists wanted to make a lesson out of the attack to all who oppose the Communist struggle. When they began the siege, the attackers strongly believed that they would be able to defeat the policemen and gained control of the police station within a short span of time. This is due to several factors in their favour: 1. Arms and numerical superiority 2. Relative isolation of the station. The battle began at about 4.15 am.

According to eye-witness accounts, there were about 200 communists attacking and they were led by Muhammad Indera, a Malay Communist. Despite the odds, the policemen led by Sgt Jamil Mohd Shah, refused to surrender, although numerous calls by the communists for them to lay down arms were made. Several officers were killed as the shooting continues and two wives of the defending officers took up arms when they discovered that their husbands fell in battle.

sakuraguy

Nov 4, 2004
Sendai, JAPAN.
Communist insurgency
During the Malayan Emergency, when the Malayan Communist Party (MCP) guerillas were in open revolt, the Special Branch successfully infiltrated the party chain of command. Reportedly, one Special Branch officer managed to gain sufficient trust from the MCP to be ordered to infiltrate the Special Branch. He in turn managed to feed false information back to the MCP. It has also been claimed that the second-most high-ranking official in the MCP was a Special Branch agent, who was executed when he was discovered.

The Special Branch's activities during the Emergency were widely praised, garnering accolades such as one calling it "one of the finest establishments of its kind in the world". Other intelligence agencies sent observers to a Special Branch training centre in the Malayan capital of Kuala Lumpur to learn its tactics of infiltration and espionage. It was during this period that the British "Asianized" the Special Branch, replacing its crop of British spies and officers with trained locals.

Anwar Ibrahim scandal
In 1998, former Deputy Prime Minister Anwar Ibrahim was charged with sodomy and corruption, both crimes in Malaysia. During his trial, a number of statements were made by Special Branch officials, who had been implicated in the case.

One allegation made against Anwar was that he had ordered Special Branch officials to obtain retractions of the sodomy-related allegations against him. However, the Special Branch officials involved told the court that they had reason to believe the charges were fabricated by Anwar's political opponents. [3] Two Special Branch men involved were its then Director, Mohamed Said bin Awang, and Second Deputy Director, Amir bin Junus. One witness at the trial testified that Mohamed Said had told Anwar to allow the Special Branch to look into the matter, instead of Anwar directing the Special Branch to cover it up.

During the trial, Mohamed Said shed light on the Special Branch's practices — mainly by explaining what was called a "turning-over operation", whereby retractions were obtained. At one point, he described it as a "great secret", and refused to elaborate beyond his explanation that "Basically we do a quick assessment on our target, then we see how the possibilities are to turn over their stand," and that "If it is a certain political stand, we may neutralize the stand if it is a security threat". Mohamed Said later responded to the question "If someone higher than the deputy prime minister were to instruct you to come and lie to the court here, would you do it?" with "Depends on the situation." After being pressed for a clarification by the judge, he said, "I may or I may not".

Present day
Raja Petra Kamarudin, a former detainee under the Internal Security Act (ISA), has claimed that when he was brought in for questioning, he was astonished by how well-informed they were about his activities: "It was astonishing that they had been able to take all those photographs of me without me realising it. It began to make me wonder whether they had any other photographs of me and my wife in my bedroom doing.....well, you know. ... It was as if they had been present in the meeting room, had participated in the meeting, and had tape-recorded the entire session. We might as well just admit our crime and sign the confession..." He also claimed that the Special Branch had successfully infiltrated the hierarchy of several political parties in the country.

sakuraguy

Nov 4, 2004
Sendai, JAPAN.
Pasukan Gerak Khas

Pasukan Gerakan Khas (Special Operations Force) is a special force of the Royal Malaysian Police or Polis DiRaja Malaysia in Malay. This unit which includes the 69th Commando (VAT 69) and Special Actions Unit (UTK) on 20 October 1997 currently based at Bukit Aman Police Headquarters in Kuala Lumpur and they undercontrol from Internal Security/Civil Security (KDN/KA) Director. (See also the history in the VAT 69/UTK).

Training
Today, Pasukan Gerakan Khas (PGK) was trained in the modern elite warfare, such as CQB (Close Quarter Battle), Hostage Rescue (HR), combat in buildings, trains and the aircraft, fast roping, sniper, unarmed combat, defusing bomb, underwater demolitions, combat diving, cycling assault (combat with motocycle), special high risk and others. This unit is prepared especially to expose the trainees of counter terrorisme operations, which tactics is practically by the high profile special forces just like GSG 9, SWAT, SEALs and SAS. Like 10 PARA members, PGK wear the maroon coloured beret, those beret is wearing by the UK SAS Regiment in 1950s. PGK has an associates training program abroad such as with the SAS, Brigade Mobile POLRI, STAR, Australian SAS, FBI HRT, US Green Berets and new, the US Special Operation Command Pacific Unit (SOCPAC) was training with this unit on 10 December 2003 were the Inspector General of Police, Tan Sri Mohd Bakri bin Haji Omar prior to launch the training program with US SOCPAC and the RMP paramilitary unit, General Operations Force in PGA Training School, Ulu Kinta, Perak. In this training, only 42 from 194 personnel of RMP was supposedly that the passing rate. Only personnel failed in this training has been sent to the formations back.

Weaponry and Equipment
Just like other special forces, Pasukan Gerakan Khas is equipped with a special arms and equipments, such as Browning HP, Glock 17, HK P9S, HK USP Compact, Sig Sauer P226, Steyr M9, Vektor SP1, 5.0 STI International, HK MP5A4, HK MP5A5, HK MP5K, HK MP5SD, Colt M4A1, Colt M16/M203, Steyr AUG and Accuracy International 7.62 NATO Sniper Rifle and equipped with night vision, assault ladder and more. Handguns, MP5, M4A1 and M16A1 is usually equipped with special equipment like EO Tech, AIMPOINT Scope, Tactical Flashlights and Laser Designators.

sakuraguy

Nov 4, 2004
Sendai, JAPAN.
VAT 69/UTK

VAT 69 (69th Commando Battalion) is the special forces from the Royal Malaysian Police based at Northern Brigade, Ulu Kinta, Perak. This unit is under the direct order of Northern Brigade Commander and responsible to the Internal Security/Civil Security (KDN/KA).

VAT 69 is modelled on the United Kingdom Special Air Service Regiment for fighting the the Malayan Communist Party in 1969. The VAT 69 actually formed in 1969 (hence the name - 69) to create a small combat unit with the same tactics and technique as the communist terrorist.

VAT 69
VAT 69 began when the Minister of Home Affairs and Internal Security, Honorable Allahyarham Tun Dr. Ismail proposed the formation of a special force for fighting the communist insurgency in 1969. In October 1969, only 60 personnel from 1600 officers and men from Jungle Squad personnel joinned VAT 69 were qualified to undergo basic commando training after the selection process. A group of instructors from United Kingdom Special Air Service Regiment were sent to Fort Kemar, Perak to supervised the 69th Commando platoon. In the first training from the SAS, only 30 personnel managed to get through and they actually formed the first troop of 69th Commando Battalion. In the year 1970s, the 69th Commando first troop started its initial operations and successfully deployed against the communist terrorist. As a result, only number of communist terrorist were killed or and lots of weapons, equipment had been seized. In 1977, 3 VAT 69's new squadrons were trained by the New Zealand SAS and a special course to train the own instructors of VAT 69 were also conducted. Finally, the expansion program completed in 1980 in which VAT 69 now had fully equipped infantry units with its own logistic department.

UTK
Unit Tindakan Khas (UTK) or called Special Actions Unit is a secondary special forces of RMP after VAT 69. This unit had a SWAT like function created after the hostage incident by the Japanese Red Army (Nihon Sekigun) Terrorist in August 1975 when the terrorist took more than 50 civilians from US consul and Swedish charge d'affaires as hostages at the AIA building housing several embassies in Kuala Lumpur. The terrorist won the release of five imprisoned comrades and flew with them to Libya. Just like VAT 69, UTK were also trained by the SAS and they operate in a very different tactical operations by instructors from United States SWAT units. In the selection phase, only 20 or about 10% from more than a hundred members of RMP were selected. UTK is also involved with the Gerup Gerak Khas (a special forces from Malaysian Armed Forces) to security measures in the 1998 Commonwealth Games.

Training
Basic commando training of VAT 69 are divided into three phase.

First Phase
Trainees will spend most of their time mastering patrol techniques.
Second Phase
In this phase, all trainees will learn skills and lessons such as tracking, communication, field medical and explosive. This also involves making 'DIY' booby traps, explosives and demolition technique.
Third Phase
Final movement test where the trainees are tested in all aspects of skills and lessons that they had learned. At the moment, special attention are given to trainees that have the potential to be a patrol leader.

Missions
Both VAT 69/UTK have very good records and they are very low profile, especially UTK. They are used against pirates who terrorize the coastal towns of Sabah, an East Malaysian state, VAT 69 performed so well these pirate attacks had almost stopped.

Weaponry and Equipment
VAT 69/UTK mostly equipped with the technology special arms and equipment just like SAS, SWAT, US Navy SEALs and many special forces. VAT 69/UTK armed with special Beretta M92F/S, Browning HP, Colt M1911, Glock 17, HK P9S, Sig Sauer P226, Steyr M9, Vektor SP1, HK MP5 (many different variants), MAC 10, Colt M4A1, Colt M16A1, HK 33, M60, Remington 1100, Winchester and Accuracy International Bolt Action Sniper Rifle. The specially equipment like High Explosive Grenade, Stun Grenade, Flashbang, Smoke Grenade, night vision, Laser Guided and Kevlar Armor mostly uses by this unit in the tactical operation.

Insignia
Motto
Warisan Darah Perwira (English : Heritage of the Heroes' Sacrifice)
Black
The black color symbolizes the highly secretive operations that is conducted by VAT 69.
Red
Red denotes bravery.
Yellow
The yellow color signifies "Loyalty to King and Country" (Malay: Taat Setia kepada Raja dan Negara).
Dagger
A small weapon that is usually hidden and used by the experts. It is actually a Malay traditional weapon called Kerambit.
Javelin
Lembing, another traditional weapon used by the Malay warriors.
2 piece of Kerambit
Represents the number 69.

Merged Special Forces
On 20 October 1997, Royal Malaysian Police created a newly merged special forces unit that consist of both VAT 69 and UTK. The unit is referred to as Pasukan Gerakan Khas (PGK) (Special Operations Force).

sakuraguy

Nov 4, 2004
Sendai, JAPAN.
ha ha .. not secret lor .. just some information that many Malaysian citizen's are lacked off... they dont know PDRM .. they think PDRM is just a normal traffic, inspector, constable and CID's .. ha ha ha ..

links

May 26, 2004
So our police got AWP also, with night vision scope somemore...........but its really rare that civil law enforcement unit will equip themself with m16+M203 grenade launcher...thats is more towards millitary use...

They are using STI 5.0? Thats a precision handgun for IPSC competition usually.....but i think SV 5.0 is better

But howcome whenever we saw th gun fight, those police appear are always fat fat one??? is it our specialty? the only police elite unit which the members have to exceeed 80kg andwith big tummy only can be selected?

BlackSamurai

9,000 RPM
Sep 2, 2004
near 7-11
www.hcc.ne1.net
this is not secret.

SG, you need to update, Bakri retired last week, Dato Musa took over as our IG now.
PS: Dato Musa is the officer arrest Anwar.

Saga Continue

May 14, 2004
Ampang Baybeh
sakuraguy said:
Police DiRaja Malaysia - Royal Malaysian Police

.....Several officers were killed as the shooting continues and two wives of the defending officers took up arms when they discovered that their husbands fell in battle.
Such a nobble sacrife to the country and their wives realised how true their husband struggle really are.....shame on our current policement tarnishing our police force proud history build by their predecessors lifes (and family member too...)

every time i watch the movie "bukit kepong" tears will always run down my face everytime they showed the tombstone of the fallen policemen and the "last post" buggle call being played. May God blees their souls.....

kelvio

Jan 16, 2005
selangor
www.geocities.com
hmm sakura do u have info in saman rates and the discounted rates
u can get the infor arrr??

koolspyda

May 6, 2004
KayEl
koolspyda.blogspot.com
funny thing happen the other day at police station when i was there to pay my dues, a man complained that he paid an officer at police station to "help" settle summones but those "offences" reappeared later & he was informed the payment slip he held were forgery. can you inmagine that!

speaking of reappearing summons it happened to me too, well in another form..

once I had a court case, as i disputed driving pass a red light. I was adamant it shouldnt have happen as i was already pass the traffic light & caught in traffic jam after a late night sale at sri petaling. I argued with the officer then as to why he didnt stop the cars behind me (cause they accelerated upon seeing those officers & drove pass them) but instead randomly stopped my kancil!! (too slow my kancil i guess).

there were subtle hints to "settle then" but i was adamant not to bow in. (btw the "subtlety hints" by them dont stand on court as the magistrate throws "such accusations" out as cannot be substantiated)

in any case, after 7 postponed court dates (even if you did attend it didnt matter, the many postponements was because of excuses such as that "officer" was transferred or court notice cannot be served !!) & after 7 postponements; when finally that officer finally turns up & much agruements from my side (& my lawyer); in the end the court decided that the prosecution officer didnt have a case against me as that officer viewing was obstucted & he was out-of-place to judge me! (lots of diagrams by me)

BUT

it didnt help as the so called summons then reappeared again as "tak pakai seat belt" offense at the sri petaling on that same night!!

so my dear friends, a small innocent malaysian citizen dont stand a chance against the system. it pointless. in fact the "so called tak pakai seat belt" summons is still there after all the contacts by my legal people.

they f88k you when they want too.

koolspyda

May 6, 2004
KayEl
koolspyda.blogspot.com
on why i was so adamant i was victimised, the summons served that night was written that it happened at a round-a-bout in taman billion cheras when we were miles away in carrefour sri petaling!!

again, the magistrate threw my point against them as the prosecution officer said his officers can mistaken places names. can you inmagine, set up a "proper" road block but mistaken the place name & there are no roundabouts in sri petaling, mind you.
i had speculated that the officer had pre-written a summons & must make his quota for the day so...

tough right?

i guess i must picture framed my "summon".

Good night
I have a Colt GTI 95, engine 4G93 DOHC and I will review the motor, I'm looking to increase the compression ratio, I will use ethanol.
What is the minimum thickness in mm of the head gasket that I can use?

I use the pistons of the SOHC 113cv 4G92, without colliding with the valve piston?

http://www.allpartsnet.com.br/produto.php?prod=3400&aplic=1323

Looking forward