Piston dilemma :(

omaroDDin

Dec 25, 2006
I've finally eaten enough maggi to save up for pistons and con rod(bought already). Hair also falling off already. with that, wanna ask the speed demons here what's the best or most practical solution for a set of RB26DETT forged pistons. I know some will say 'Go buy HKS, JUN,' and other jap brands. But ITS SO EXPENSIVE. JUN super piston set can burn USD1.9k(pending on where u buy la. some can go up to USD2k+) hole in my pocket. HKS can also go up to USD1.3k to 1.6k on nengun.com, Greddy has been discontinued though. and Tomei's price is also around the same as the HKS one.

I've recently browsed through some other(american) sites and found cheaper alternatives. It goes as followed:

1. MAHLE pistons going for USD729 + USD119 for shipping (bloody hell had to call them 2am in the morning cos they don't give out prices on the net, Heard bout them from Mine's, they're using tem for tuning the R35, plus got history in F1) - 87mm
2. Cosworth also going for around USD1199 and same shipping also. - 86 - 87mm (Since they make JUN also, would it mean their's is just as good as JUN?)
3. CP pistons going for USD891 - 87mm
4. Brian Crower going for USD871 - 87mm

As the japanese(esp JUN) products has always been on the top of my wish list, it'll just stay there as a 'wish' la. Keep in mind I'm going for a 87mm bore. With that, I would like to thank u guys for ur time and your inputs on this thought will be greatly appreciated. Thanks again. :D

V-Spec

Nov 28, 2003
Well if you decide on Cosworth, I can get you the 87mm, 8.5.1 cr pistons. :)

omaroDDin

Dec 25, 2006
thanks again. how much are they going for?
but then again i'm trying to decide on which pistons to choose. need more input on that. bodoh hapak pon tak yg maner nak pilih. haha

gobiz

May 16, 2004
All good pistons.... tough choice there.

For some reason, Mahle ones stand out for me.

Checked out Wossner ones?

khoyos

Nov 23, 2003
if ur target hp is not extreme, then i guess any brand would do. just go for the cheapest forged pistons available (or any brand that sounds nice when someone asks u "what pistons are u using")

my personal favourite is wiseco. around US$100 cheaper than the cheapest brand mentioned in ur list.

Dr.D

Aug 28, 2005
all the japs tuning house products are good but due to over exposure n marketing, then of course they are gonna cost.. so u go straight to the piston manufacturer. cosworth are definantly good. with nitrate coating on the piston walls. but ig uess it depend on ur budget n spec.. don't just go for brands... know which alloy u want, coating, weight and special features of each manufacturers product.. need to do ur homework

todak

Sep 29, 2006
hi, i agree with dr.d go for cosworth piston, i use my on sapphire cosworth (450whp) no problem and my escort cosworth. forget the jap piston , i use a hks piston and also je piston on my 32gtr, with cosworth rods, after 5k klm the piston score. sheet. trust me cosworth the best for me.cheers

omaroDDin

Dec 25, 2006
Thanks everyone. Dr. D, thats the kind of advice I need. i'm going for torque more than Hp. but I'm not exactly sure where i can get the necessary info that i need. Can u pls help me that department?

Dr.D

Aug 28, 2005
well torque depends on the tuning,combusion bore n stroke, cam lift, valve angle and diameter, piston ring seal, injector atomization, etc... so just on piston alone wont really effect much on the output.. u have to understand. its what u do with the hardware that determines the outcome.. not what hardware ur using so much..

omaroDDin

Dec 25, 2006
I know. got everything sorted out already. going with 800cc injectors. etc etc. so now only the pistons are left. and i'm aiming for high torque. so that's why i'm putting in this thread. to get help with selection of the pistons which are the last thing left on the list. ur input on this will very helpful. thanks.

V-Spec

Nov 28, 2003
omaroDDin, you have a PM wrt Cosworth pistons.

cosmicgate

Oct 14, 2005
i don't mean to sound cheap and everything but was hopping as well if there are any people using cosworth sharing their insight on the said piston as well. Cosworth, itself being a fierce competitor to the japnese product is receiving high ratings from me, i need someone to convince me that they are really not that great.

Guys,1 of my fren jz told me tat he saw an ALFA 156GTA win skyline 34,RX7(FD) & HONDA EK9 at KLIA highway!! erm..my 1st responce is EK9 maybe,but R34?!!!! Wtf man?! Im not sure tat de fello is sin ka ont..Wat u guys tink?My fren said de guy has an ALFA 156GTA 3.2cc with v8(quard-camp) & 520bhp.By the way,if 520bhp 4 alfa,i tink oni available 4 Alfa 33 Sports Prototypes.Anyway,im also an alfa supporter n im not tat believed 156GTA can modify till liddis besides track car la,right?