Painting The Engine Head Cover

Cohiba

Oct 12, 2006
Hi...anyone can reccomend me a place on where to paint my engine head cover ??

preferably near Ampang...Thanks!:_:

g88

Jan 28, 2004
DIY would be best. What monster are you driving ??

khoyos

Nov 23, 2003
if u want better quality and longer lasting, send the head cover to a car painting shop. ask them to paint it for u. should cost less than rm30. more or less same as what u would have spent if u were to DIY.

rollakid

Nov 9, 2004
Kuching Sarawak
DIY easy lar.. but take some time.

1. wash with dynamo
2. use multiple sand paper of different grade to smooth out the surface
3. wipe it clean
4. wait till it is dry, put it under the hot sun, so its hot.
5. spray.. wait few minute and spray again, thin layer each time. (i spray 5 layer, silver)
6. Decorate it however you like.
7. spray clear coat (me spray 3 layer).
8. enjoy.. cheap.. and the left over paint can be used when it goes bad or dirty again.

ikan_laga

Aug 19, 2006
rollakid,what kind of can spray u used?can we have the pics?
when remove the head cover?what to do?scared to open it hehe..

Cohiba

Oct 12, 2006
ikan_laga said:
rollakid,what kind of can spray u used?can we have the pics?
when remove the head cover?what to do?scared to open it hehe..
well,i know theres a few high heat resistant spray paint in the market...good up to 1200celcius laa,that laa...so could just use that.

about removing the head cover....good question..lol...never done it before,but im planing to DIY too...so anyone can clarify bout this ? :regular_smile:

shenzoku

Feb 5, 2007
well.. i'm interested to hear bout opening the cover.. will it be any effect if u did any mistake after on it?

ruff36

Nov 16, 2006
I oso used to DIY my rocker cover too..using can spray.

After took it out i clean it using handgrinder cup brush
to make sure the surface is smooth(bcoz the rocker was
a casting).Wash it out using thinner & soap to remove the oil
& dry it out.

To make a good metallic result u can use white or metallic base
spray 1st 4 several time b4 u spray next layer color of ur choice.
Finally get a clear coat to finish up the step.

Rembr,when started to spray new next layer make sure the
1st layer is really dry.Patient gain a good result.

When time to fix it back,clean out the old sealant frm ur gasket & dont
4get to wipe clean the block too..apply new gasket sealant."Permatex"
brand is recommended..put it firmly to the rocker cover and place it back to the
block.Use opposite way when tightening back all the bolt/nut(up-down-left-right)

save a lil bit money..& remember patient gain a gud result..

kob3bryant

Dec 3, 2005
bro jinkl;
how u make the wording clearly?with another painting or sparying?

The Porsche 911 GT2 (997) Equipped with a 3.6L twin turbo 523hp flat 6 in 6-speed manual, rear wheel drive only
! Will do the zerotohundred in a blistering 3.6 seconds and this example is one of only 4 units here in Malaysia. It deserves a detailing job that is second to none...