newbies here..better tyre for dc5

nanG

Oct 27, 2010
Kota Bharu
hi all!
dc5 noobs here..got some questions to ask
1)what is better tyre for dc5..is good year really that "good"?
2)is it better to put 225/45r17 for front tyre

planning to change front tyre for the next gaji(hopefully with bonus)..haha

:driver:
broom2

WAFS

Jan 2, 2005
Ampang
Kumho Ecsta XS KU36..good for road and track...quite a number of members here using it. So far good value for money. High grip on dry and not bad on wet. Treadwear 180.

Other options in the same range are Bridgestone RE11, Bridgestone RE070, Toyo R1R, Yokohama AD08, Federal 595 RSR, Goodyear RS Sport (All are higher price than Kumho but not necessary better). For more road oriented tyres: Toyo T1R, Bridgestone Adrenalin RE001,etc

WAFS

Jan 2, 2005
Ampang
For 225/45/17, I heard the price ranges from RM460-RM480

mark_15

Oct 5, 2008
Ku36 is 1 of the best tires i ever used so far. Under road tire category. i got mine for rm460 @ kin alignment

nanG

Oct 27, 2010
Kota Bharu
noobs meaning plural? means theres more than one of you? haha... :biggrin:

anyways, im sure the sifus here can give you the answer for this.
haha!!english noob too..:hmmmm:

---------- Post added at 06:53 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 06:49 PM ----------

Kumho Ecsta XS KU36..good for road and track...quite a number of members here using it. So far good value for money. High grip on dry and not bad on wet. Treadwear 180.

Other options in the same range are Bridgestone RE11, Bridgestone RE070, Toyo R1R, Yokohama AD08, Federal 595 RSR, Goodyear RS Sport (All are higher price than Kumho but not necessary better). For more road oriented tyres: Toyo T1R, Bridgestone Adrenalin RE001,etc
thanks for the info..

much appreciated..:adore:

lazybass

Jan 31, 2010
Last week go check 225/45/17 tyre federal rsr, RM 505, while 215/45/17 is RM 425. Any sifu here can help me to describe what is actually treadwear is?. High/low. Thanks

nanG

Oct 27, 2010
Kota Bharu
Last week go check 225/45/17 tyre federal rsr, RM 505, while 215/45/17 is RM 425. Any sifu here can help me to describe what is actually treadwear is?. High/low. Thanks
if im not mistaken..higher treadwear means your tread will not wore off easily..but each manufacturer has their own standard so you cant compare treadware if the brand is different.

:driver:

---------- Post added at 11:34 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 11:28 AM ----------

thanks sifus for all the info

after did research for a while i went for hankook v12 evo 215 45 17 for all my 4 tyres..

so far the tyre performance is good.the tyre is comfy and i barely heard any noise at all!for me it is good value for money..dh pokai dh neh..:burnout:

anyone in this forum used this tyre??got any opinion?

Mohamed Hizam Ishak

From Facebook
Sep 29, 2010
So far I've been using KU36 for road and also Time Attack.. For road use no issues.. I've been whacking through tight and also fast corners .

For track when it was new was able to clock good lap time the grip maintain even after 4 laps. But after 80 % tread ware the tires will start to loose grip even on 1st lap.

It's all about $$, if you have deep pockets there are plenty of good tires out there. It depends on what sort of applications whether for Time Attack or daily driven
tires.

jd5

Mar 9, 2010
N/A
Get RS Sport bro, by far the best 'budget' UHP tyre. Slightly more than 500 but performs so much better. Shops in Klang are selling it around that price. :)

Price for 215s is a bit higher than 225s, because 215s are more in demand.

steviedevil

Apr 3, 2006
Bros, Bridgestone RE001 good or not? I get it RM450 per piece, 225/45/17.
:hmmmm:

WAFS

Jan 2, 2005
Ampang
Bros, Bridgestone RE001 good or not? I get it RM450 per piece, 225/45/17.
:hmmmm:
I think that's not a UHP tyre and for that price can get kumho ku36. If still wants bridgestone get the re070 or the old RE01R

I only having RM7K to buy a car.
Is a Kancil with a L7 turbo a nice bargain for Rm5.5K?
Any pros and cons for the car?
I live in JB is it sourcing part for L7 turbo hard?
Hope some sifu can help
Although I still look for other car like Wira 1.5/1.6
Corolla seg 1.6 those a more likely over my budget but will still look for it.

Currently own a Honda Jazz due to some reason need to gv it to my dad. But he only gv me so little $$$ to find a car

Update_Had bought a Wira Vdo Auto 1.5
Now is...