NEW SATRIA R3 Topic

Crash

Dec 2, 2003
Kay-El
vernonchan.com
Guys, you may be interested to know that I put my SR3 to the test yesterday evening at PowerZone. I paid a visit after a pal of mine (drives a 4G13P with PowerZone cam + extractor), who was doing an exhaust mod, asked me to drop by at PZ. Told me that the PZ guys especially Sirazul was eager to have a look at the SR3. So I thought, what the hell not, plus the fact that I wanted to de-cat the SR3 anyways.

I got there and instantly popped the bonnet for all to see. Sirazul brought out his GTechPro and asked if I wanted to do a 0-100km/h test run. I told him the car isn't run in, but I'd give it a shot. Zul showed me to a lonely 300m stretch in Glenmarie where we did our first run. The boys at PZ were eager to see if the SR3 really lived up to its stated specs. Being the amateur and absolute drag beginner, I launched the car at 3,000rpm, upshifted at 6,000rpm, popped to second then third...

10.2 seconds.

Swell, Verne. Crap! :lol: We turned round and did another run. Still tentative and conservative, I clocked 9.78 seconds.

Last and final run. Launching at 3,000rpm again, I floored the bugger and continued to upshift at 6,000rpms. 9.2 seconds.

Obviously a non-drag specialist *ahem*, I passed the wheel to Sirazul. He launches at 3,000rpm, upshifts to 2nd at 7,000rpm, pulls it to 7,000rpm again before upshifting to 3rd. I could really feel the pull as the Yokos screeched for traction.

8.56 secs. Whoa.

I am still sceptical at how accurate the GTechPro device is, but Sirazul mentioned that stock GTis can manage only late 9s to as high as 10.5s, depending on which year the models were made.

The boys at PZ were excited at the results. I got the SR3 de-catted. Sirazul showed me the LSD kit PZ advertised in Hypertune and explained how it worked. I had a first hand experience of the PZ LSD and reverse handbrake, with a 6.5 second SGTi, owned by Nazrin (nice CF hood bro) of the SGTi Club. With 142 bhp at the wheels, the Powerzone cams powered SGTi is as frantic as they come. The burble at idle is addictive. Nazrin showed me a dyno-sheet of this car - 142bhp atw, 158 Nm max torque. The power + torque curves were haywire, maxing at 5000rpm, dips, then pulls up again to around 7,000rpm. I had sold my Matspeed J5 to Nazrin and he has yet to install it. Once he gets the mapping right, the SGTi would probably do even faster times I reckon.

Nazrin took my SR3 for a spin and I did his. His car is as frantic and addictive as they come. The only thing I dislike were the seats and the lack of steering feel, unlike my SR3. Steering felt very loose although the car pulled and pulled! He loved the SR3 seats and commented that my SR3 was understeery at some high speed corners. Found that a strange remark although it could be due to the fact that the tires were not properly warmed up before we took it for a spin.

All in all an interesting day. Oh btw, de-catting is the way to go! The car feels so much punchier and the exhaust note at WOT is fantastic. Touched 199km/h today from KL to Malacca and back. The car is so planted. Yums. So much for gentle run-in. *Gulp* Nice. Go get your cat taken out fellas, you won't regret it!

prozac

Jan 18, 2004
Woiii....go PZ never call your R3 kaki ya? :angry: Heheh just kidding.

Thought somebody wants to take it easy till 5000km, hmmm? :rolleyes: It looks like the advertised figures from R3 is very doable. Any test results after taking out the cat?

I just got my 1st service done. Gear changes are much smoother now but still a bit rubbery. I'm sure it'll benefit a lot more from a change to stuff like Redline later on.

Oh and I just found a nail embedded straight into my rear left tyre. What bad luck to start the year with! :(

Crash

Dec 2, 2003
Kay-El
vernonchan.com
Originally posted by prozac@Jan 10 2005, 14:25
Woiii....go PZ never call your R3 kaki ya? :angry: Heheh just kidding.

Thought somebody wants to take it easy till 5000km, hmmm? :rolleyes: It looks like the advertised figures from R3 is very doable. Any test results after taking out the cat?

I just got my 1st service done. Gear changes are much smoother now but still a bit rubbery. I'm sure it'll benefit a lot more from a change to stuff like Redline later on.

Oh and I just found a nail embedded straight into my rear left tyre. What bad luck to start the year with! :(
It wasn't planned la dude. I'll call you guys when I do a dyno. :D

Like I said it wasn't planned, so when Sirazul asked if I wanted to do a test, I spontaneously said yes, to satisfy my curiosity. Car feels good though. Taking out the cat is a good move. No more apparent lagginess. Just wished I had done another test run with the GTech after.

Yes, I agree the gear change is so much slicker after first service.

Nails in tires are a pain in the ass. Used to get one or two when I had my Persona. Don't know if it was done deliberately, but its really an inconvenience.

sousuke

Dec 9, 2004
i guess someone else is also having fun after taking the cat off :lol: so when's the next TT session? :P

sousuke

Dec 9, 2004
Originally posted by Crash@Jan 10 2005, 15:56
sousuke,

We could have a TT at the end of the week, if everyone's agreeable.
i don't mind...as usuall must know the date,time n place 1st :D

Crash

Dec 2, 2003
Kay-El
vernonchan.com
Originally posted by canken2@Jan 10 2005, 16:37
Crash,

may i join you guys? :rolleyes:
welcome anytime bro!

I asked Nazrin of the SGTi club to inform us for any events - Sunday drive, Track Day, so that the we hungry fellas can join them for kicks.

canken2

Mar 18, 2004
Originally posted by Crash+Jan 10 2005, 17:05 --></div><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td>QUOTE (Crash @ Jan 10 2005, 17:05 )</td></tr><tr><td id='QUOTE'> <!--QuoteBegin-canken2@Jan 10 2005, 16:37
Crash,

welcome anytime bro!

I asked Nazrin of the SGTi club to inform us for any events - Sunday drive, Track Day, so that the we hungry fellas can join them for kicks. [/b][/quote]

just like sousuke mentioned, must know the date,time n place 1st :D

sousuke

Dec 9, 2004
Originally posted by Crash+Jan 10 2005, 17:05 --></div><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td>QUOTE (Crash @ Jan 10 2005, 17:05 )</td></tr><tr><td id='QUOTE'> <!--QuoteBegin-canken2@Jan 10 2005, 16:37
Crash,

welcome anytime bro!

I asked Nazrin of the SGTi club to inform us for any events - Sunday drive, Track Day, so that the we hungry fellas can join them for kicks. [/b][/quote]
yeah...Chandran(one of the GTi guys as well) been telling me to join them for their Sunday drives...met him during the help out of the packing for the tsunami victims...and he's been teasing me since i was the only R3 fellow that came on friday...prozac left me alone! :ph34r:

prozac

Jan 18, 2004
Aiyo now I feel terrible....but I went last night...nobody around.

TT this weekend ah? Sunday night can or not? I'll be in Penang on assignment the whole weekend.

Oh....yea the cat is out! Did a 0-100 just now with my friend on a nokia timer beside me. Managed 9.17s only. But this time, at least the 2nd gear can reach 100km/h.

Crash

Dec 2, 2003
Kay-El
vernonchan.com
There's a USD199 GTech Pro SS which comes together with a shift light. Tempted to buy one actually. Hmm...

How does it feel with the cat out? Nice huh? Much more punchy i think. And the exhaust note is addictive especially at high revs.

prozac

Jan 18, 2004
USD199 is really tempting. Let's bulk buy! :D

But I'm worried about kastam only. Anyone got lubang to buy stuff from the States?

Hi all,

This is my first post in zth forum. Would like to know your feedback\comments on

various air filters in the market i.e K&N, Apexi Dual Funnel, Blitz and etc. Currently

i'm using HKS super flow... thinking switching to a different brand.

Would also appreciate is someone could share their exp on a 6inch filter.. in terms

of HP and maintainance.

Thank you in advance. :regular_smile: