Need help for Magellan GPS Malaysia Maps

chsyke

Dec 13, 2006
Dear all sifu, i got a Magellan GPS from US. I cant find any suitable maps for the GPS to use in Malaysia.
I had check the original file, its using dot IMI format for the GPS. I hope all sifu-sifu here can help/advise me where i can get the Malaysia Maps for my GPS. Thanks in advance.

yeehau86

Feb 10, 2007
is your manual stated which type of GPS map format it is compatible with? There are few types of maps out there and mainly: Garmin, MapKing, and Papago.

chsyke

Dec 13, 2006
In the user manual didn't mention what format it use.
When i connect the GPS to my PC, there are 4 files in the MAP folder.
Those files are :
1) idex.mct (4KB)
2) NRBM_NA.MGI (12,753KB)
3) US48.IMI (927,845KB)
4) US48_POI.POI (24,616KB).

So any sifu can advise me... :adore:

beatnik

Nov 28, 2004
chsyke,
looks like the magellan device uses its own propriety map format. you can check with magellan whether they have malaysia maps for download/purchase.

chsyke

Dec 13, 2006
From the official website, there is no Malaysia Maps to download.
Im wondering any recommended website can download any compatible format that can be use.

As far as know, there are many GPS device available in Malaysia but I dont know what format is being use.

And also, can i change the software, something like format and reinstall new software... is this service available?

Please sifu sifu out there advise. thanks

Anyone knows where or who sells h2b kit in Malaysia. I don't mind used unit as long as usable condition.

Thanks and regards,
Drick