Need Help!!!! Daihatsu Ascent 1.6EFi Auto, convert into Detomaso Engine

Aug 17, 2006
Dear All Big Brother and Sister

I need your help to modify my car, since I can't get more information about my car, luckly brian29002001 introduce me come to look help.

My Car Detail
1. 1.6 EFi
2. Auto tranmission
3. born at 1996

I'm planning to change engine, I have a few question, hope you all can help me.
1. If I convert into Detomaso 1.6 engine. Need to modify the wiring ?
2. what about the different with Detomaso and original engine?
3. buy the half cut or engine only, which one prefer?
4. How much the installation fee
5. JPJ aprrove?
6. Have another engine can fix into my car?

My english is "limited copany", hope you all can understand.

Thanks for the help

huaren1978

May 20, 2004
Bkt Jalil KL
www.devoteesofcharade.com
u lucky thing.. shouldnt have prob to get jpj endorsement for 1.6-1.6 daihatsu-daihatsu conversion later on.

many eyes here will turn green because of that, i can tell... hehehehe

hope lady luck is smiling on u bro.. i heard deto halfcut is getting cheaper nowadays..

nofx_nizam

Dec 22, 2006
kim liang...if u need a mechanic to mod your engine...i can introduce you my mechanic..in butterworth.have one ascend convert with deto engine,still using an ascend wiring.. :) no need to buy halfcut.. :)

Maxx

Feb 17, 2005
PD-Putrajaya-KL
maybe can just changed the extractor, head, and wiring?
detomaso (HD-EG) camshaft is abit high lift/duration(?) than std 1.6 (HD-E).

kimliang

Aug 17, 2006
huaren1978-> thank brother, I hope I can get it as asap, haha. Why everyone "eyes" turn to green!!! pls tell me...:-) I don't have lady luck lol...cos...marry liao :-(, yup, you're right, I heart RM700 only engine, it's reasonable?

nofx_nizam ->you got mechanic....good, pls introduce me, my phone 012-4565550. really no need change wiring...oh....yes......,brother, you make hot ....waiting your message again..thanks bro..

Maxx-> how much the total cost?? anyway thanks for the help, hope everyone can giveme more suggestion...

THANKS ALLLLLLLL.................

Maxx

Feb 17, 2005
PD-Putrajaya-KL
i dont know the total cost. just a suggestion.
btw, does HD-E and HD-EG ecu is the same.? if deto is a "tweaked" engine must be the ecu also has been tweak to optimize the engine.

nofx_nizam

Dec 22, 2006
nofx_nizam ->you got mechanic....good, pls introduce me, my phone 012-4565550. really no need change wiring...oh....yes......,brother, you make hot ....waiting your message again..thanks bro..

if u don hav any problem...we can meet next saturday,around 12p.m..i will bring you to my mechanic in butterworth..:regular_smile: kimliang..msg me at...012-5595270..huhu..