Daihatsu YRV Turbo Introduction

v1ctorong

Nov 25, 2005
Dear All,

YRV Turbo halfcut already in our market around 10 years and yet i could not find similar topic in this forum. The main aim to start this thread because its easier to search or share knowledge via forum format other than sharing via Facebook. So I start with Introduction to YRV Turbo @ K3-VET engine 1st.

The Daihatsu YRV (Body model M201@FF, M211@4WD) is a mini MPV manufactured by the Japanese automaker Daihatsu. The name is short for "Young Recreational Vehicle" which in production from year 2000-2005.

Displacement, cc : 1297
Engine model : K3-VET
Max.power : 140 ps (102.97 kw) / 6400 rpm
Max.torque : 18.0 kg*m (176.52 N*m) / 3200 rpm
Compression ratio : 8.5
Bore, mm : 72
Stroke, mm : 79.7

Fuel system
EFI (electronic fuel injection)

Turbocharger
Turbo with intercooler

Fuel type
Unleaded regular gasoline, running good with RON95

The above engine has been successfully transplant to more than 1000 Kelisa, Kenari and Myvi. Its road legal after JPJ endorsement.:driver:

v1ctorong

Nov 25, 2005
hello bro...i want to convert my kelisa...what half cut do u suggest...tq
Hi, what you are currently looking at?
1) insane power= K3vet (plug and play), Starlet turbo?
2) Better power to play with Satria, Waja, etc 1.6cc car = K3ve2 (Daihatsu storia/Toyota Duet)
3) Better power than Original, K3ve = Myvi N/A

Jan 23, 2012
terengganu
hehe..nice info

---------- Post added at 07:52 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 07:51 PM ----------

ingat nk pakai kat kancil 850..tp byk plak nk kene ngadap abg jpj..runner yg senang nk countim xde ke bro?

Jul 23, 2012
Hi, what you are currently looking at?
1) insane power= K3vet (plug and play), Starlet turbo?
2) Better power to play with Satria, Waja, etc 1.6cc car = K3ve2 (Daihatsu storia/Toyota Duet)
3) Better power than Original, K3ve = Myvi N/A
i was looking for k3vet...but in long term will the engine last?i mean for daily use to work, balik kampung every 2 week (PD only...ahahaa), maybe for traveling around once in a while to penang, kelantan n JB...do the k3vet build for endurance...ahahaha...

ok...let put in 2 category...count the k3ve myvi N/A out...
between k3vet n k3ve2
what so different between them
-halfcut price + etc etc = TOTAL how much
-Fuel consumption
-maintenance cost
-endurance
-years of production
-anything else i shud considered from ur point of view

my budget wud be around 6-7k...i read around about k3vet...but can u elaborate about the k3ve2 as i dont see it around to be read...

THANKS so MUCH bro...

v1ctorong

Nov 25, 2005
i was looking for k3vet...but in long term will the engine last?i mean for daily use to work, balik kampung every 2 week (PD only...ahahaa), maybe for traveling around once in a while to penang, kelantan n JB...do the k3vet build for endurance...ahahaha...

ok...let put in 2 category...count the k3ve myvi N/A out...
between k3vet n k3ve2
what so different between them
-halfcut price + etc etc = TOTAL how much
-Fuel consumption
-maintenance cost
-endurance
-years of production
-anything else i shud considered from ur point of view

my budget wud be around 6-7k...i read around about k3vet...but can u elaborate about the k3ve2 as i dont see it around to be read...

THANKS so MUCH bro...
Sorry for late reply. Its tough to choose between K3vet and K3ve2.
- K3veT halfcut around 4.5-6k depend on condition.....advise to get low mileage engine.
- For K3ve2, which normally get it from Daihatsu Sirion or Toyota Duet (not sure how to differentiate normal k3ve and k3ve2).

Both engine got their pros and cons.

K3veT : good power ratio and easy power gain with lower cost as its a turbo charged engine. However the trade-off will be overheat issue, i am still experience it and awaiting $$$$ to get an ALU radiator, fan controller. I am running Ron95 for a year and so far so good.

K3ve2 : its NA therefore less heat produce, also less maintenance. The cons will be, require RON97 as many members reported engine ping when using 95 during hot day.

As for endurance, need no to worry as its a daihatsu. It will last as long as dun modify too much.

From my point of view, you need to get an experience installer to transplant for you. I had bad experience with my previous installer as it takes 1 month to finish (due to poor management and not committed attitude). Kindly PM me if you require more advice.

soohongz

Mar 25, 2012
I mean reardisc brake.. Absorber come with rear too? Use absorber but not adjustable is tat ok?can i use yrv radiator and fan too?

---------- Post added at 05:51 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 05:49 PM ----------

What about turbo r? I asked halfcut shop normal yrv 4500, turbo r 6500

v1ctorong

Nov 25, 2005
I mean reardisc brake.. Absorber come with rear too? Use absorber but not adjustable is tat ok?can i use yrv radiator and fan too?

---------- Post added at 05:51 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 05:49 PM ----------

What about turbo r? I asked halfcut shop normal yrv 4500, turbo r 6500
Kindly refer to link in post no.2 for different between YRV Turbo & YRV Turbo R.

My advice is to save the 2k and get yourself an Emanage later.

Well, Kelisa Chassis is design to cater only standard EJDE 54hp engine. So in order to drive safe, you will need to upgrade suspension (Using HWL, budget adjustable so far), upgrade chassis strength by adding bars or even inject AutoFoam (some said its useless but its effective so far for me).

Braking wise, you can search around kelisaclub for rear disc brake upgrade (or PM me if you need contact for seller, which serve me well). As front brake just use the one come with halfcut.

For cooling, please get yourself an Aluminium Radiator (2 layer L9 is a joke), then a powerful radiator fan. (I am still waiting for the available of the Synergy Aluminium Radiator, once installed i will write a brief result for that)

Please click the Like button if you like my post. Hope this can help you.

Cheer

soohongz

Mar 25, 2012
How much for the fan?so radiator have to use wat kind?my kelisa is manual one...hwl?wat abt tein or titan?may i know how much for hwl?i want comfort and not riding a horse...braking how much too?

v1ctorong

Nov 25, 2005
How much for the fan?
L9 or L2s 2nd hand, from RM180-280

so radiator have to use wat kind? I am waiting for Synergy Aluminium (as previous post)

my kelisa is manual one. I know, YRV Turbo is Auto

...hwl?wat abt tein or titan?may i know how much for hwl?
HWL = ~RM900
Tein = ~RM2400
Titan = ~RM2000+ non adjustable
i want comfort and not riding a horse = Titan maybe suit you

...braking how much too?
............google.........

v1ctorong

Nov 25, 2005
original kelisa/kenari for kelisa/kenari
orignal myvi, for myvi

hye everyone...i'm driving campro 1.6...my question is if i wanted to change my clutch pump, is there any racing clutch pump selling out there or can i use honda clutch pump instead oem clutch pump???help me out...:confused::confused: