My Putra Found! Depicted from www.autoworld.com.my

suzie

Nov 19, 2004
Stolen Putra Found in Rawang

Friday, May 12, 2006 By YS Khong Thursday, 11 May, 2006, Kuala Lumpur - My Proton Putra, stolen from outside my house in Bandar Utama on April 8th, has been found by the police at a lonely dirt road in the outskirts of Rawang, thanks to a telephone call by a concerned member of the public who has seen the car lying there for a couple of weeks.

Earlier tonight, my son Ian got a call from a police officer from the Rawang Police Station, who traced his handphone number from a bank-in slip found in the car. We immediately made our way to the Rawang police station, just in time to see my forlorn looking Putra being craned in, minus all the wheels. The tow truck operator who was engaged by the police had fitted my spare wheel which he found at the boot, and that was what the car rolled in on.

Miraculously, the engine and gearbox are intact, and so are the seats. The steering wheel is gone, and so is the radio. The thieves ripped off the rear spoiler, leaving four holes in the rear boot. They also took off the YS Khong Motorsports stickers, but the sticker marks are still there.

Of course, the car is a mess, but it looks like it can be repaired. Looks like Darren of Autodetailer will have a job on his hands when I finally get the insurance claims done to put the car back on the road again. This is going to be a real challenge for him. Are you up to it, Darren?

It seems the thieves must have used the car for a few days before abandoning it, but why they took it in the first place, I fail to understand. My Putra is certainly one of the loudest Putras you can find, with the stickers plastered all over the body. Many people saw it being driven around a few days after it was stolen, thanks to my posting on Autoworld, and also our SMS' to all our friends from Alor Setar right down to JB, but it was never seen again after a week or so.

There is some speculation that because the news was boradcast so far and wide, the thieves could not find a fence who was willing to take the car off their hands, and so they abandoned it. Or maybe it was the stickers...anyway, many thanks to the AW members who helped to keep a lookout for the car,and also all of my friends who sent me those consoling messages when the car was reported stolen.

Thanks to the people in ZTH for keeping a lookout for my car. Thanks., Ian

b00n

Aug 16, 2005
thats the proper use of forums besides talking craps when bored.

gloss

May 23, 2005
SJ
b00n said:
thats the proper use of forums besides talking craps when bored.
good to hear that.

boon dun talk so much craps here, later tom banned u...
ehehehehe :mouth_closed:

gohkokeng

Feb 21, 2006
insurance will pay for your repair? repair back to original?

i don think insurance allow u to mod as u like and claim them.....

ace79

Sep 4, 2004
Jeez, you sure don't got all the facts. Prolly you don't even know who YS Khong is lah.

gohkokeng said:
insurance will pay for your repair? repair back to original?

i don think insurance allow u to mod as u like and claim them.....

gohkokeng

Feb 21, 2006
lol i really duno.....

he work as?.......car adjuster? insurance agent? mechanic?

ntc2000

Sep 30, 2005
nice to hear that.....

If saw that bastard.... really need to kaw kaw give him a punishment....

Duke Red

Jul 27, 2005
Earth
ys khong and his sons, ian and ivan are big in the local motoring scene lah. mostly off road.

faisal

Oct 20, 2004
The Valley
ignition.my
Ian and Ivan are defending Champions in R3 Time Attack Pre-viagra (1300 below) and Rocco (2500 above) Class respectively.

The Putra was used to win R3 Time Attack 1dot6 in Hung (1601-1900cc) class.

hopefully Ian would be able to complete the car and enter in R3 TA 3dot6

Hey guys,

Yesterday when I was searching at Google for the fastest Kancil ever, I saw a person named Jee or something like that said in a forum (btw it is an old forum as it was posted on 2006) NSDrag kancil participate in class A Sepang Drag Battle and it got 2nd place as it lose to a Cefiro. He continued that its 400m time was 10.5 seconds. If I am not mistaken actually the fastest kancil is 12s right? Can anyone tell me whether this is true or not?