My exterior paint project

WPQ800

Apr 7, 2008
Hello All....

after much deliberation, i have decided to paint my car sumwhere in usj1 area. they have all the necessary equipments n enough experience as a painter..... as for the price, not as cheap as i hope it would be but it is based on my request also that they dont use cheap materials.... more or less i wanted mid-range to high-range....

original colour: burgundy by PPG, code p48 a0086
new color: based on same colour code but will bancuh with more black to achieve 40% darker effect with pearl effect too (5-6 layers)
clear coat: by DuPont (2-3 layers)
primer + hardener + other chemicals: by DuPont

originally my car comes with bronze lining but new paintjob will totally replaced all bronze and replaced by Gloss Jet Black from BMW. I plan to paint the roof, all bronze parts and the rims in jet black color hoping that my car will look a bit ganas.....they said it will take around 10 days minimum. For this, i wanna share the day-to-day coverage.....

DAY 0
Sent my car last nite around 10pm, they bring in my car under white lights to inspect paint, bodywork, etc... discussed on what i wanted and what color range suits best and all..... lasted for about 1.5 hours and 4-5 cilgarettes.... hahah..... then only finally able to leave my baby there.....

DAy 1
This morning i went there and they already started working on scraping and sandpaper-ing the paintjob. From the picture u can see one bangla guy name Areef (a painter from India or Pakistan that did manual paintjob and QC for motorcycle and car rolling out of the factory...... supposebly he got quite an experience and skills, more than 15 years or so....) attached is todays picture....

eohl79

Jun 12, 2011
So bro WPQ800, after so many days and so many cigarettes... what is the status of your car paint job? Are they doing a full strip down of the car including wiring and do a full oven bake or just regular paint over? Also, are they just sanding down the paint or acid stripping to bare metal? Curious...

prototype_x0

Sep 15, 2007
So bro WPQ800, after so many days and so many cigarettes... what is the status of your car paint job? Are they doing a full strip down of the car including wiring and do a full oven bake or just regular paint over? Also, are they just sanding down the paint or acid stripping to bare metal? Curious...
After so many days and so many cigarettes i think he is in ICU now.

WPQ800

Apr 7, 2008
DAY 2-3
they patched up few gnarly stonechips from my front bumpers and the whole cars.... there are also few side dents normally happened when car next to u open their door and kena ur car.... also im waiting for my queue as the oven facilities is kinda occupied by few lancer polis touch-up job.... my turn is next....

DAY 4
Sunday.....off day

DAY 5
slow progress........ they only do correction and alignment on each gaps n clearance of the bumpers, skirts, bonnets, headlights, etc....

DAY 6
they said today the paint will be strip down...... will post more info n image.....

May I know how much is "not cheap"? Dupont isn't really top of the line compared to say Glasurit.

And they do the alignment of the gaps? That's good!

WPQ800

Apr 7, 2008
May I know how much is "not cheap"? Dupont isn't really top of the line compared to say Glasurit.

And they do the alignment of the gaps? That's good!
well not cheap here means rm2500 and above, maybe using glasurit clearcoat..... hahah not just another used car dealer type paintjob.... but my budget also limited ma, i just hope it will last 5 yrs.....as for the gap alignment, i wanted em to do it....

WPQ800

Apr 7, 2008
DAY 7
old paint stripped via manual sanding process....also done wrapping at places where needs to be covered, all rubber panels, emblems either covered or taken out.....

DAY 8
2 layers of primer was painted..... instead of the normal white or grey ones, they used a darker mixture to enhance the dark burgundy that i wanted.... (maybe they mix it with paint? hmmm can ka? )

WPQ800

Apr 7, 2008
Sorry for the late update..... the paint project was done on day 12..... after CNY.... in total cost me about rm2700....quite satisfied with the paintjob....

Original color is burgundy by PPG, code p48 a0086, i custom mix with 40% jet black pearl to a ratio of 60:40 and the whole car is painted in this color.

While the rims, fr n rr bonnet, roof and lining for the whole skirting is painted with 80% jet black pearl to a ratio of 20:80, and i added a lil bit of diamond flakes to it....

the result is as below.... can anyone recommend or advise me on how to maintain the shine and what to buy and how to do it pls?:itsme:

Lean

UnderCoverProject Founder
Oct 30, 2006
undercoverproject.blogspot.com
12 Days, Are you serious. How come it take so long to do all the processes?

Just go to the Detailing Specialist to do the coating for your car as it will protect the coating for your car even longer but you must know it's not cheap though

KrisMas

Apr 1, 2008
Any close-up of how the paint is like? Preferably some reflection under the sun shot? Would love to see the quality of the work. Can't really judge it from afar.

prototype_x0

Sep 15, 2007

Just go to the Detailing Specialist to do the coating for your car as it will protect the coating for your car even longer but you must know it's not cheap though
12 days consider as long? If the outcome is excellent i think it is a reasonable timeframe

Dark color rims...imho you car will look even better with dark grey/silver rims
With dark color body and dark color rims, now your tyre will looks dirty even if it is clean.

WPQ800

Apr 7, 2008
12 days consider as long? If the outcome is excellent i think it is a reasonable timeframe

Dark color rims...imho you car will look even better with dark grey/silver rims
With dark color body and dark color rims, now your tyre will looks dirty even if it is clean.
thanks for the suggestion dude.... yeah, now im using diamond flakes tyre polish to ensure the shine match the body but have to wash quite frequently la.... it seems that the weather lately isnt helping much too....

FYI, im thinking of changing my rims color to magnesium blue pearl or bmw frosted grey..... but that will be in the next tyre change la....

---------- Post added at 05:22 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 05:21 PM ----------

Any close-up of how the paint is like? Preferably some reflection under the sun shot? Would love to see the quality of the work. Can't really judge it from afar.

sorry, all these pics are taken via my blackberry.... image quality kinda sucks as i cant get the actual effect of the color..... i will use my nikon n update again

---------- Post added at 05:25 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 05:22 PM ----------

hahaha, well as wise kaki kereta always said " u cant rush paintjob, engine mods & tuning, n marriage" hahahah.....

any idea on how much will the coating be? whats the price range n brands available?

WPQ800

Apr 7, 2008
FYI, these new images are also from my BB....

Has anyone have any experience using 2-way radios? Can they work between 2 people in the same building but on different floors, or between 2 people in separate buildings but the buildings are next to each other?

I know there are many factors that affect connection but I want to know how reliable these 2-way radios are. Or are they good only in open fields?

Thanks.